We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for an overnight while travelling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 Black Gap Rd., Chambersburg, PA 17201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay for an overnight while travelling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stopped here overnight on the way to South Carolina. On the outside, hotel is on the older side, but the interior seems to have been redone more recently. Beds were very comfortable, and there's two pillow choices, soft & firm, so for once, our family of 4 had plenty of comfortable pillows. Room seemed fine in terms of cleanliness. The hotel also offers 24 hour coffee and hot water for hot chocolate and tea in the lobby which was a nice treat when we checked in at 11pm. Decent free breakfast offering waffles, oatmeal, cereal, donuts, and some other pastry type products. Staff was friendly and helpful. Price was not as good as we hoped, but considering that the Gettysburg 150th was happening at the same time, it's as good as we could have gotten. Though the kids got a kick out of seeing the reenactors all dressed up in Civil War era garb while eating breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHY R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your time and comments on your stay. We appreciate the feedback and use this to improve for our guests. The reenactors were really neat. I have several pictures of them. We look forward to seeing you again should you be in this area. Safe travels.

Best regards,

Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    9
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
24
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Peters
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Needed a pet friendly stay near Gettysburg and Inn filled the bill. Staff was friendly and efficient. Room was comfortable but had a musty odor. Hotel was a bit pricey for accommodations but likely due to the "Gettysburg Gouge" for the 150th. Rooms were very quiet which I found surprising due to closeness of the highway. We were on the end and did not notice the sound once inside our room. For the right price, I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHY R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience while visiting with us. We are glad that you found it to be a quite and comfortable place to stay. Please visit us again should your travels take you by this way.

Best regards,

Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 150th celebration. Hotels in gettysburg were either full or extravagantly expensive. Comfort inn was higher priced than normal but still reasonable. The hotel is older but room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Staff was excellent. The drive into gettysburg took about 25 minutes and followed Lee's route down the cash town highway. I would consider staying there again for next gettysburg visit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHY R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience here at Chambersburg Comfort Inn. We are glad that it was a positive one and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Best regards,

Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel during the 150th Anniversary of Gettysburg celebrations. Very convenient location about a half hour away from the National Park. Booked a room and when we got there, found out we were in a smoking room (we were not smokers). When we received confirmation of our reservation saw it was for the smoking room. Called the hotel directly and asked if we could be moved to a non-smoking room. The Customer Service rep said that he would get back with us but he did not. Figured it was because the hotel was full and our reservation was made late. This turned out not to be the case as we observed that the parking lot was no where near full. Didn't ask to be moved but before we stay there again, will insist on a non-smoking room.

Housekeeping left a little to be desired. One day, the second bed was only partially made. As this only happened once, we let it go.

Breakfast area needs new furniture as it all mix and match. Food was reasonable. Staff attention to diners was good.

Beds were comfortable and there were plenty of pillows.

Room Tip: Beds are comfortable. Be sure to specify a non-smoking room if that is what you want. Otherwise it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHY R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I am very pleased to see that you shared your experience with us. I will let the staff know that you enjoyed the stay and also that you had concerns. Thank you so much for helping us to improve. We hope to see you again should your travels take you this way. Have a great summer!

Best regards,
Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazleton, pa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

On a recent trip to Gettysburg, we decided to stay in Chambersburg, as the hotels cost much less and it was only a short drive to visit the sites. The hotel was at the entrance to the Chambersburg mall and right off I-81. The hotel was fairly new and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was good. There was not a single problem with our two night stay and we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. I would definitely stay at this property on any other trips to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHY R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out to let people know about your great stay and give us the feedback that helps keep us up to date on what our guests want. We look forward to seeing you again on your future tavels.

Best regards,
Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a wonderful room with the most comfortable bed and pillows. The room was clean and all the hotel staff were friendly and courteous. It was so nice to be able to go down and have our breakfast before departing the Hotel. The food was excellent. We will definitely stay at a Comfort Inn again and refer all our friends

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHY R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for giving us a snapshot of your stay. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed it here at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your travels.

Best regards,

Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Had a one night stay at this Comfort Inn while attending a event for business. The rooms were clean and bed was very comfortable. I am usually unable to get comfortable sleeping away from home but slept like a baby during my stay. They are located close to alot of good restaurants and you must try Bonanza Steakhouse for lunch or dinner during your stay! The facility was not over crowded during the weekday and I was able to enjoy the pool and hot tub without alot of noise.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATHY R, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially the pool and hot tub! Safe trip to you and we hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 3301 Black Gap Rd., Chambersburg, PA 17201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Chambersburg
Comfort Inn Chambersburg
Chambersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.