We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Chambersburg

Fairfield Inn Chambersburg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Chambersburg to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Chambersburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1122 Wayne Road, I-81 at Exit 14, Chambersburg, PA 17201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Hudson Valley NY
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This Fairfield looks to be one of the older properties in the fleet. It's clean enough, and conveniently located, but its age is showing. When we visited, the hotel was a busy and noisy place. The sounds from adjacent rooms is not terrible, but you hear every sound from the hallway. We got a room facing the interstate, which had additional road noises. Then we were awakened by 5 minutes of a garbage truck back-up beeper at the adjacent restaurant. This was on top of a pretty lousy night's sleep already, due to the fact that the drapes do not shut out the bright parking lot lights. I asked to be moved after the first night, but got the "we're sold out" story. So what? I'm here now, and maybe not all of tomorrow's customers will show up anyhow. And I don't believe that all of the rooms were assigned at 10:00am either. The pool had a light green color and the room in which it is located smelled strongly of chlorine. I decided to skip it. The breakfast included microwave pre-packaged egg and sausage sandwiches, pre-made toaster french toast, waffles, juices, bread and coffee. The coffee was very good. There was little fruit and only sugar free yogurt. The housekeeper on our floor (Jackie) went out of her way to help us. This was necessary because we reported on the morning of the second day that the shower curtain was moldy, and asked that it be replaced. They forgot to do it. Jackie found a new one and put it up for us. In total, not completely awful, but not a place I would plan to return to. The thing that bothered me most was that at this non-smoking property, there is a "smoker's station" just outside the front door. You must walk past the smokers on the way to your car, and the smell of smoke wafts into the lobby. What gives?

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the back side of the building if road noise and bright lights bother yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    38
    24
    11
    13
See reviews for
30
23
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We've staying in other Chambersburg hotels during our visits to Gettysburg, and this one is certainly at the top of the list. Very clean, rooms updated, and easy on/off Route I-81. While we stayed on Marriott rewards points this time, it would have been easily afforded if we had not. Included breakfast was middle-of-the-road. I just wish they'd had some real wine glasses we could have rented or borrowed so we didn't have to drink our wine from plastic cups.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night in May 2014 while my daughter was attending an event at Shippensburg University. The property is located next to the exit for I-81 which makes it extremely convenient. The room was clean and the rate was better than any of the other properties closer to Shippensburg which made it a better choice. There is a Cracker Barrel next door within walking distance. The breakfast is the standard fare although the orange juice tasted a little watery. The property is fine for one night. Its about 15 minute drive to Shippensburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We found the hotel easily. The front staff were helpful and professional. The room was clean, fresh and even though relatively near the highway, it was quiet. The "continental breakfast" was more than adequate and the overall price was right.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONCTON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Like the majority of Fairfield inns, this location is inviting, well maintained, has professional staff,
and leaves you with a feeling of satisfaction with your choice of hotel.
No disappointments here.!
Excellent breakfast choices/space

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

After a long stressful day on the road, we stopped here for the night. It was an easy and quick check in, The room was clean and comfortable. No problems. It also had a hot and cold continental breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

All staff were friendly where ever you saw them ... housekeepers, clerical folk, the dining room stocker ... all smiled and greeted me. The desk clerk was very helpful in giving directions. We first checked into a King room which was just too small for the size of the bed so we moved to a king "suite" which was just a larger room with more seating. Much nicer. The bathroom area in both rooms was the same....very little counter space near the sink for all those things you need to have close. The bed was very comfortable and the room quiet and very clean. Breakfast was adequate -- cold hard boiled eggs was the only protein. We'd read about Mario's Italian Restaurant...just down the road on the other side of I81 which was our primary reason for using this exit of the interstate. Our evening dinner at that restaurant was wonderful making our choice of this motel doubly pleasant.

Room Tip: Room 322 is a Queen size room with a King size bed. If in doubt ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Chambersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Chambersburg

Address: 1122 Wayne Road, I-81 at Exit 14, Chambersburg, PA 17201
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chambersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Chambersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Chambersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Chambersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Chambersburg Hotel Chambersburg
Fairfield Chambersburg
Chambersburg Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Chambersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.