We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Map completely lacking!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kentuck Knob

Kentuck Knob
723 Kentuck Rd, Chalk Hill, PA 15421
724-329-1901
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Map completely lacking!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

After a farcical experience at Fallingwater where my husband and I were turned away due to overcrowding, we thought we would come and have a look at Kentuck Knob. To be fair we were now not in the best mood as we did have a time limit and hours of driving ahead of us, and just wanted to get directly to the cottage and enjoy it alone. However, I think that the owners of Kentuck Knob want to force guests to take a guided tour because the map they provided with only ground admission to get to the cottage was an insufficient line drawing supported by almost no signage. We just wanted to get to the cottage quickly, but were forced to go through a sculpture garden, with no shortcut directly to the cottage. We actually got lost (and I am usually an excellent map reader) and after paying $10 per person in the end never found the right path to the cottage. We literally just got lost in the sculpture garden and then turned back in black moods. Very dissatisfying!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    58
    13
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Logistics for FLW visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

With advance reservations you can see both Kentuck Knob and Fallingwater in one day. Plan to visit Kentuck first, since it is the less impressive of the two homes. Tours at Kentuck leave about every 15-30 minutes; you take a minibus up to the house and can choose to either take the bus back, or (preferably) walk through the meadow sculpture garden back to the visitor center. The tour lasts about 1/2 hour, walking the meadow leisurely takes another 1/2 hour. Plan on having lunch in Ohiopyle (leave at least two hours between tours for lunch).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Usonian Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

One of Wright's last Usonian homes, this house is worth seeing because of its clear enunciation of Wright's insistence on having "artistic control" over the interior arrangements and almost every detail of its contents. It is hard to imagine the dedication of his clients given the effort the owner had to make just to be allowed to have a linen closet. She still did not get any major storage space, because Wright did not believe in it. Yet she loved the home and him! The home is sited on the side of a hill (they are called knobs in PA) and an October visit gives a good view of foliage. The tour was informed and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A different sort of Frank Loyd Wright.
Also a must see is the walk back via the meadow.
Very close to Falling water and also close to Fort Necessity.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over-priced, Rude staff left us there!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very interesting home. Nothing like Falling Waters. Our tour guide did a good job. We were the last tour of the day and they (2 tour guides) closed up the house and got on the bus and left us (2 couples) there! We had to walk all the way down the hill and the whole place was closed up and everyone gone. We had no idea that was the last bus of the day. No one told Us. How Rude!
I will say in comparison to Falling Waters this tour is overpriced. I think the Englishmen that owns it is trying to make a killing off Americans!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kentuck Knob also viewed

 

Been to Kentuck Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kentuck Knob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.