We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite for special occasions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops

Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops
1617 Baltimore Pike, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7391
+1 610-388-8088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 35 Restaurants in Chadds Ford
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Creek Road
Description: Located in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, Brandywine Prime is housed in a spectacular contemporary renovation of an historic 300 year old inn. The result is a modern American steakhouse specializing in preparations of fresh seafood and beef, and a modern Burger Bar with great happy hour specials. The old rooms at the Inn provide a perfect venue for rehearsals dinners, baby and bridal showers, private corporate events and intimate weddings from 10 to 100 guests.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our new favorite for special occasions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband and I have visited this restaurant twice in the past 6 months, for our anniversary and his birthday. We enjoyed the food both times, the waitstaff was very pleasant and informative. We will go again, but I recommend that you ask the price of the "specials" because they are not what I consider a special - we paid way more for a 10 ounce filet which was on special than the 8 ounce that was on the menu. I always thought a special was supposed to be a "deal". Boy were we surprised when we got the bill. Luckily we had a gift certificate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Owner at Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Sorry about the confusion with the special. The special filet is a prime cut, while the one on the menu is not, hence the increased price. It is good customers like you who keep us on our toes, reminding us to be diligent in explaining items at the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    44
    14
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were invited to share in a special occasion and it was being held at the Brandywine Prime.
Due to different circumstances we were coming from out of town and wanted to grab a bite to eat before the festivities started. We chose to go to the bar area, not only to grab a bite to eat but to watch the World Cup.
When we sat down we were greeted by the Bartender who took our order and then told us that we are not able to order food before 4pm. By, that time it was 3:30pm so waiting a half hour would not be a problem. All we wanted to do is grab a small bite to hold us over…
Low and behold the Bartender gave us the wrong information and she informed us that they are not serving food until 5pm not 4pm. At this time, we started to see what was across the street because of what we were just told. As we were looking, another bartender came out and told us that he just spoke to the chef and he would put in an order for us to take care of our appetite.
We chose to order, the local mushroom tart and a Best of Philly Burger. Both were tasty and took care of our appetite. We always enjoy tasting something local.
My wife and I appreciate them taking the time to cook something before it was time to open the kitchen.

Next up was the festivities…
Everything was on point, the food was delicious, and the bartender was gracious and did a wonderful job in keeping our glasses filled.

My only negative:
On any special occasion why have your servers wear jeans? Just a simply pair of slacks would have been more appropriate and professional.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Intimate wedding dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Michael and his staff made our wedding dinner/celebration memorable, the room was beautifully set up, we were able to play music through the evening. The service and food was impeccable, all of our friends and family raved. We felt very special and not rushed and cannot wait to celebrate many times there in the future!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Owner at Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you for the kind words on your Trip Advisor review. We hope to see you in again soon. Congrats again on the wedding.

Michael

Owner, Brandywine Prime Seafood and Chops
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have dined at Brandywine Prime for brunch many times and each and every time we have had a good experience. The brunch is a combination of a buffet and ordering an entree off the menu so you get the best of both worlds. The buffet alone is quite filling but the food is so good that we want to make sure that we don't miss anything.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We ate here at happy hour and took advantage of their lowered prices on martinis, beer and appetizers. Food from the bar menu was reasonable too. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Owner at Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
Thank you for the kind words on your Trip Advisor review. We hope to see you in again soon. Congrats again on the wedding.

Michael

Owner, Brandywine Prime Seafood and Chops
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops also viewed

 

Been to Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandywine Prime Seafood & Chops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.