We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we've stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pennsbury Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Pennsbury Inn to your Saves list
The Pennsbury Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   883 Baltimore Pike, Chadds Ford, PA 19317   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Chadds Ford B&B and Inns
Haddon Heights New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best B&B we've stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

My husband & I are definitely not world travelers, we've only stayed in seven different B&B's, however the Pennsbury Inn was the best! It met my true definition of a B&B. Warm & welcoming owners; friendly, available, easy to chat with. The food was fabulous and you can sit at the big table with all the guests or sit at a small table for two. (we like the big table). When you returned for the evening, you were offered a homemade treat. They also turned down your sheets every night. A small crystal flask in the room contained a good night brandy. And there were many sitting rooms that contained furniture you could actually sit in! Not the kind you slide off of! Ample supply of various daily newspapers as well as interesting and topical books and magazines. Fireplaces that were lit. You definitely felt welcome.
I have to say again, how pleased I was with the sitting rooms. I have not come across the number of rooms available nor the comfort that these rooms provided. Also, the Inn is almost 300 hundred years old! But full of all the comforts you could want. And great gardens, and we saw them in the winter! And you're welcome into the kitchen at night, for a anytime snack!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
46
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

Had a wonderful short stay at the Pennsbury. Stayed in the Winterthur room which was very spacious and comfortable with lots of places to sit and overlook the beautiful gardens. On the subject of gardens, the property is beautiful and we played horseshoes and practiced a few puts before taking pictures of the butterflies on the flowerbushes and looking at the frogs in the lilly pad pond. Breakfast was also good, Cheryl makes good cinnamon crumb muffins.

  • Liked — Friendly people
  • Disliked — near a highway
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

Pennsbury Inn Bed & Breakfast located in Chadds Ford Pennsylvania. The Inn's located in the historical Brandywine Valley. They are minutes from Longwood Gardens, Winterthur Gardens and Museum and many other attractions. The owners Cheryl and Chip were excellent host and provided all the ammentities. The breakfasts were excellent and turndown of our rooms each evening provided a treat before settling in. The Inn is a historic 1714 stone two story with beautiful antique furnishings that take you back in time to the period. Each room provides a different view of their garden landscape which surrounds the Inn with many acres. Baltimore Pike (St Rt1) that the Inn is located on is busy at times but the property is nestled in the woods and landscape. The stone walls provide the buffer from the modern world outside the property.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

We recently spent the weekend at the Pennsbury, and I can't recommend it highly enough.
Chip and Cheryl were helpful with directions and local information. They accomodated my special dietary needs.
Teddy, the poodle was adorable.
Our room was immaculate, and charmingly decorated. April seemed too early for the gardens to be in full bloom, but we found them pleasant all the same.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2005

Just got home from a 4 day pre-Thanksgiving stay at the Pennsbury Inn in Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania. Conveniently located 25 minutes from the Philadelphia airport, we could not believe the value for our dollar that we received. Week nights were reduced to $77 for a senior rate which also included a gourmet breakfast that we made sure we did not miss. All the major sites in the Brandywine Valley- Longwood Gardens,Winterthur,Brandywine River Museum,Hagley Museum are within 15 minutes of the front door. Superb restaurants were also located within 15 minutes of the inn. Cheryl and Chip went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Turn down each night came with a special goodie such as berry cobbler or cookies. The inn is a historic building that is truly a museum itself. Can't wait for the opportunity to go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2005

My wife and I stayed in the suite at the Pennsbury while visiting relatives over Thanksgiving. It was our first stay at the inn but it won't be the last. We were more than satisfied. In fact, the only complaint I can think of would be that the couch in our room faced a direction other than the TV (although it did face an electric fireplace and the window overlooking the grounds). And if that's the worst I can say - that's pretty darn good!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2005

We recently stayed at the Pennsbury Inn in Chadds Ford, PA. The room was so warm and welcoming and we were even treated to a tour of the inn. The breakfasts were outstanding and Cheryl, the innkeeper, is truly gifted in culinary skills! My husband was even treated to a surprise birthday balloon! We would highly recommend this unique bed and breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pennsbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pennsbury Inn

Address: 883 Baltimore Pike, Chadds Ford, PA 19317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chadds Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pennsbury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
c.1714 Colonial Country Inn, with 7 guest rooms (featuring comfy feather-bedded twins to kings), 5 first floor parlors and 8 acres of award-winning gardens and wooded trails. There are sumptuous breakfasts, all day beverages and treats & bedtime snacks at this warm cozy bed and breakfast. A perfect getaway place for travelers far and wide who come to the Brandywine Valley to explore its myriad treasures. Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Nemours, Hagley and the Wyeth art at the Brandywine River museum are all just a few minutes a way, and just the beginning of this area's treasures. Hiking, biking, hot air ballooning, fishing, horseback riding and so much more. The 7 wineries of the Brandywine Wine Trail and other independent wineries, invite you to taste and tour. Our outstanding area restaurants end your evening with perfect taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pennsbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pennsbury Hotel Chadds Ford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pennsbury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.