We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Stay in Historic Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pennsbury Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Pennsbury Inn to your Saves list
The Pennsbury Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   883 Baltimore Pike, Chadds Ford, PA 19317   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Chadds Ford B&B and Inns
Alden, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly Stay in Historic Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

We enjoyed two comfortable nights in this historic inn, fascinated by its long history, reflected in the decorations. We savored two great breakfasts, at which Cheryl accommodated individual tastes and dietary needs. There are beautiful grounds and gardens, well kept. The inn is very close to numerous sites of historical and cultural interest. The innkeepers, Cheryl and Chip, helped us with reservations and tickets. All the warmth and hospitality of southeast Pennsylvania bundled up in one great inn. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Liked — its history
  • Disliked — on a very busy highway
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
46
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kelcee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

The Pennsbury Inn is certainly beautiful.
But if you want to talk about all the comforts of home well forget about It.Atleast at home you do not have two miserable In Keepers. All the beauty if the Inn was tarnished but their rudeness.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weigandygoose, Owner/Innkeeper at The Pennsbury Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2008
I would love to start a dialogue with Kelcee concerning her review. Her review was dated April '08 and her stay was in June '05. I'm not sure why she waited so long to do her review. Since I absolutely adore every aspect of innkeeping, I can't imagine what would have made someone perceive of me as being rude. Please contact me at info@pennsburyinn.com so that I may make amends for my mistreatment of you.

Thank you,
Cheryl
Owner/Innkeeper
Pennsbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

We stayed at the Pennsbury at the recommendation of family in January 08 for two nights.

The Pennsbury Inn has an excellent location if visithing Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, the winery or other Chadds Ford attractions.

The Inn is an old (some parts 250 yrs old), rambling structure on several acres right on busy route 1. It has maybe a dozen rooms of varying sizes and amenities.

The common rooms are crowded with antiques and knickknacks. There is a gigantic fireplace that dominates the dining/sitting room and is lit when it dips below 40 degrees.

The inn has a folksy, lived in feel. You get the feeling that you are definitely in someone's home. The innkeepers are friendly and will give you the whole run-down on the history of the house and the area.

There is a little one-eyed dog named Teddy who is cute and sweet, but if you are allergic to dogs, as my husband is, beware. He sniffled and his eyes ran all weekend.

Our room - the Four Seasons - was comfortable - on the musty side, though after airing it out overnight it was fresher the next day. It had a four poster king sized bed and a little faux firestove for ambiance. The bathroom was smallish, with only a tiny shelf to set toiletries and shower, no tub. There was cable-tv and a radio with CD and iPod hook-up. Also a small refridgerator and robes.

Breakfast was a smoothie, egg/mushroom/cheese wrap, scones and raisin bread. There were teas, coffee, sodas and juices available to guests.

The inn also had wi-fi.

Overall we had a pleasant , relaxing stay. We've stayed in a lot of inns and B & Bs, and I'd rate this experience as average due to the mustiness of the room and funny/strange things like the flannel snowmen sheets on the bed and the fact that there was a note on the dining table to remember which napkin ring was yours because the next day your unwashed cloth napkin would be there waiting for you.

I think the inn would be very interesting in the summer due to the expansive grounds with gardens.

If you are into history and like folksy details and old houses, you should stay at the Pennsbury while in Chadds Ford.

  • Liked — The bed was very comfortable.
  • Disliked — The mustiness of the room upon arrival
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

I had arranged to stay at The Pennsbury Inn near Philadelphia to avoid high hotel costs and to try a bed and breakfast type of accommodation during a 3-day business trip. The price was very reasonable and the coffee/food were delicious - a "must" for me. I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the beautiful gardens as well as the antique furnishings. I had encountered a number of problems during my trip that the hosts, Cheryl and Chip, graciously helped me to solve, i.e., lack of cell phone because of a faulty SIM card. Cheryl allowed me to use her other line at the inn which was an absolute lifesaver in finding lost luggage and arranging for its transport to my location and finding the appropriate AT&T store to solve the cell phone conundrum. The rooms are each different and are arranged with every comfort in mind. Despite my stress about poor airlines and obstacles, I was able to relax and enjoy my stay. I appreciated the reasonable lodging costs.

  • Liked — The privacy and comfort.
  • Disliked — Finding it in the dark.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

Just back from four nights at the Pennsbury Inn. Cheryl and Chip sure know how to run a B&B. The accomodatiuons were perfect, the breafasts delicious, the house is historic (1714) and charming. The grounds are wonderful, lots of places to wander and relax. Teddy the poodle is a joy.

The location cannot be beat. Three minutes to Longwood Gardens, fifteen minutes to Winterthur and five minutes to Brandywine River Museum, all are must sees!
Good restaurants in the area.

A tip - get off the main road and drive the back roads of the Brandywine. You will see the bucolic landscapes that inspired the local artists.

Thanks to Cheryl and Chip for being gracious hosts!

  • Liked — the comfort and friendliness.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

My husband and I took a romantic getaway for our anniversary at the Pennsbury Inn Bed & Breakfast located in Chadds Ford Pennsylvania. We were in the Lafayette Room a with a romantic four poster, King size bed and fireplace. The bed is too die for, with extra down padding on top of the mattress, like sleeping on a marshmallow. The Inn is located minutes from Longwood Gardens, Brandywine Battlefield & Museum, and many Wineries and other attractions. The owners Cheryl and Chip were excellent hosts and provided all the ammenities. They will even customize your package to make it extra special. . . . like they did with ours, with champagne awaiting us in our room, and a couples massage the following day. The breakfasts were excellent as were conversations with other travelers. The turndown of our rooms each evening, as were the sweet treat left on the end table before settling in, was a great touch. The Inn is a historic 1714 stone two story with beautiful antique furnishings that take you back in time to the period. Each room provides a different view of their garden landscape which surrounds the Inn with many acres. The stone walls provide the buffer from the modern world outside the property.

  • Liked — Luxury in an 1700's setting
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

This inn, situated in the middle of great cultural sites, restaurants and recreation, is a quiet, utterly comfortable, beautiful haven.

Every aspect of our stay exceeded by expectations! Pennsbury Inn is highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pennsbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pennsbury Inn

Address: 883 Baltimore Pike, Chadds Ford, PA 19317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chadds Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pennsbury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
c.1714 Colonial Country Inn, with 7 guest rooms (featuring comfy feather-bedded twins to kings), 5 first floor parlors and 8 acres of award-winning gardens and wooded trails. There are sumptuous breakfasts, all day beverages and treats & bedtime snacks at this warm cozy bed and breakfast. A perfect getaway place for travelers far and wide who come to the Brandywine Valley to explore its myriad treasures. Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Nemours, Hagley and the Wyeth art at the Brandywine River museum are all just a few minutes a way, and just the beginning of this area's treasures. Hiking, biking, hot air ballooning, fishing, horseback riding and so much more. The 7 wineries of the Brandywine Wine Trail and other independent wineries, invite you to taste and tour. Our outstanding area restaurants end your evening with perfect taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pennsbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pennsbury Hotel Chadds Ford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pennsbury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.