We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pennsbury Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Pennsbury Inn to your Saves list
The Pennsbury Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   883 Baltimore Pike, Chadds Ford, PA 19317   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Chadds Ford B&B and Inns
Watkinsville GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is a warm and welcoming Inn with a fabulous garden. The breakfasts were delicious, the hosts could not have been nicer and it is the perfect location for visiting Longwood Gardens, the Brandywine River Museum, Winterthur and the Delaware Art Museum--all of which I highly recommend. We stayed 3 nights and wished we had planned on a longer stay. They allow one well behaved dog & helped us find a great doggie day care place nearby to leave our dog while we toured.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
46
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Pennsbury Inn is the only place you should stay in the Brandywine area. The location is convenient to all Brandywine attractions but that's not even the best part. From the inn and its history, to the gardens and the delicious breakfasts, to Cheryl and Chip's hospitality, the Pennsbury Inn screams fabulous! We've stayed in many B&Bs and inns and many different areas and the Pennsbury, by far, is our favorite! Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Go onto their website. It's very informative and you can do a virtual tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay for the long weekend. They did everything to ensure we were well taken care of. The premises were also very large and fun for the kids. A very peaceful and clean atmosphere and convenient to many attractions.

Paul Family

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

The Pennsbury Inn is a delightful place to stay. The owners, Cheryl and Chip couildn't be more helpful in recommending restaurants, sights and providing directions; always perfect. We had home made breads and jams each morning with a delightful entree. One day it was a delicious cheese souffle; done to perfection!
The room was spacious, imaculate and well tended. In the evening there was a snack by the bed.
A great B&B.
Sara

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancater County
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We took a rare break to get away to visit friends and tour a special exhibit at Winterthur. A convenient check-in time, warm welcome and special amenities made our stay both very comfortable and enjoyable. I especially liked the warmed mugs for tea in the morning and learning the history of the inn. As someone who's "in the business" this inn delivers!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Just a quick note on how much I loved the Pennsbury Inn. My girlfriends treated me to a weekend away for my bachelorette party and I couldn't have been happier. We weren't a loud and rowdy crowd (tried not to be!) and this was the perfect escape. Chip and Cheryl were great; the three rooms we stayed in were great; food was great; coffee was great; history was great!

My friend who set up the weekend also mentioned how helpful Chip and Cheryl were in making the reservation, recommending a spa, and just general helpfulness! Give them a call, they'll talk you through it all.

Thanks and can't wait for a return trip; next time with my new husband!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Anyone who provides us with a soft, comfy bed…and chocolate on the nightstand to boot is on the fast track to becoming a friend for life! Innkeeper Cheryl’s decadent bedtime treat of homemade brownies and bonbons provided good dreams aplenty. So how did we end up in chocoholic bliss in Chadds Ford? Luck! Rather than make two back-to-back long-distance business trips, my husband and I decided to look for overnight accommodations in the Chester County, Pa. area. Through a special promotion, we found Pennsbury Manor Bed and Breakfast in Chadds Ford, Pa. A great find! Chip and Cheryl were lovely hosts. They have taken a very old, historical manor, dated circa 1714, and made it into a comfortable, cozy home away from home for the weary traveler -- the perfect blend, as the brochure says, of “colonial heritage and country elegance.” While we had to miss the first day’s full breakfast, Chip provided a “brown bag” to go of freshly made breads and jams, strawberry smoothies, fruit, and coffee. The second day we sat down to a delicious egg salsa, homemade apple sauce, homemade breads, and fresh fruit. Almost as an afterthought, I spied what appeared to be granola. It was, but what granola – not your grocery-bought item, but instead, Cheryl’s own homemade version. Yum! We dined alongside a wonderful fire in the 17th century fireplace. With a wall of windows overlooking the vast gardens (eight acres in all), it was heaven on earth. While the current scenery is a delightful winter wonderland, one can only imagine what the view would look like in a blaze of color in the coming months or the shades of autumn this fall. Our room was cozy and delightful, the bed fluffy and comfortable. Chip gave us the grand tour – if you love history, you’ll enjoy hearing the story of those who walked the halls centuries before us. We’ve stayed in numerous “4-star” B&Bs and we’re picky. This one ranks right alongside the best. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pennsbury Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pennsbury Inn

Address: 883 Baltimore Pike, Chadds Ford, PA 19317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chadds Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pennsbury Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
c.1714 Colonial Country Inn, with 7 guest rooms (featuring comfy feather-bedded twins to kings), 5 first floor parlors and 8 acres of award-winning gardens and wooded trails. There are sumptuous breakfasts, all day beverages and treats & bedtime snacks at this warm cozy bed and breakfast. A perfect getaway place for travelers far and wide who come to the Brandywine Valley to explore its myriad treasures. Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Nemours, Hagley and the Wyeth art at the Brandywine River museum are all just a few minutes a way, and just the beginning of this area's treasures. Hiking, biking, hot air ballooning, fishing, horseback riding and so much more. The 7 wineries of the Brandywine Wine Trail and other independent wineries, invite you to taste and tour. Our outstanding area restaurants end your evening with perfect taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pennsbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pennsbury Hotel Chadds Ford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pennsbury Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.