We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous find, just lacking a few small things” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn

Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chadds Ford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
268 Kennett Pike (PA Route 52 South), Chadds Ford, PA 19317   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Chadds Ford B&B and Inns
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fabulous find, just lacking a few small things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

we were fortunate enough to stay at this charming B & B while visiting the Brandywine Valley. Longwood B & B is centrally located, a very easy drive to all of the attractions we were interested in visiting - the Gardens, Winterthur & the Brandywine River Museum. Our host, John, is very personable & very knowledgeable about the area.
We stayed in the Brandywine Suite - spacious & well appointed - even a vanity for makeup application. One caution - the bed is REALLY high - they do have cute steps to get up on the bed, but I worried about stumbling over them in the middle of the night.
One complaint about the room - the hair dryer is ANCIENT!!! Mounted on the wall, like a vacuum cleaner type sound. With only 3 rooms on the property, a plug in hair dryer is easy enough to have in each room
The reason I didn't give this inn 5 stars is the kitchen was woefully empty - didn't seem to have any snacks available, other than at the lovely breakfast time. Their ad says the cookie jar is never empty, well, except, it was. And no beverages of any kind, other than hot tea or decaf coffee via a Keurig machine. Bottled water or soft drinks would have been very welcome. Wine would be even more welcome!! Again, with only 3 rooms in the Inn, this would not have broken the bank!
Breakfast was delicious & nicely presented - baked goods, fresh fruit & a hot course - all quite ample!
With just a few tweaks, our stay would be perfect!

Room Tip: all the rooms seem ample & well appointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed two nights over Mothers' Day weekend, and had a wonderful time visiting nearby Longwood Gardens and the town of Tennet Square. The three guest rooms are in building separate from the main house, but they share a common sitting room, dining room, and kitchen. Our "Longwood Suite" was on the ground floor and had French doors opening out on our own private patio. It was very large and had a large, comfortable king bed, and a separate sitting room with a microwave and small refrigerator. It was spotlessly clean and, best of all (because I'm a light sleeper) it was incredibly quiet. Breakfast was excellent, and John and Barbara gave us wonderful advice about restaurants in the area. It was a perfect weekend, and we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I just completed our second stay at Longwood B&B. As previously we were very happy with our accommodations, cleanliness, location, amenities and breakfast. For the area, the price is very reasonable. John and Barbara have thought of everything. We would highly recommend the Longwood B&B if you visit the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We travel thru Chadds Ford Pa on our way to the Jersey shore. We love to visit at least one of the tourist attractions in the area each visit. The Brandywine museum, Nemours,Longwood Garden...... Lots to see.

The Longwood Bed & Breakfast is a great place to stay. Good place to relax after a day of travel or site seeing. John is a wonderful host, he knows the area and can give helpful advice if asked. We do not like an over bearing host so John fits the bill for us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had such an enjoyable stay, we returned. John and Barbara are thoughtful hosts. We had great meals at their recommendations for evening dining. Suite was clean, with plenty of space and details well thought out. Breakfasts are tasty and varied.The grounds are a pleasant experience from the chaise on the patio. Location is central to local attractions, it is great place to base a Brandywine Valley exploration.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falls church, va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I so enjoyed my first stay at Longwood B&B that I returned a few weeks later -- and each time, my fellow guests were repeat visitors. I stayed in the 2nd floor Brandywine suite each time. It has a large bedroom with a queen bed plus a bed in a gabled alcove, a sitting room with two arm chairs and a flat screen t.v., and a spacious bathroom. Just outside the suite is a small kitchen with dinette table and chairs and off of that a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the lovely yard. Although originally a 19th century barn, the building was completely redone in the 1990s and has a very pleasant country-style but not fusty decor. The design is extremely well thought-out -- every time I thought "I wonder if there's a ..." I found it, and generally in the first place I looked. The only thing missing is a full length mirror. I have slept well in both the beds, worked comfortably at the desk overlooking the garden, watched a movie from the ample dvd collection available in the parlor, fixed tea from the selection available in the small kitchen, drunk coffee from the Keurig maker that's always available in the dining room, and used wine glasses, dishes and utensils from the small kitchen to eat a take-out meal. The breakfasts have all been excellent. The hosts, John and Barbara, are pleasant, unobtrusive, and very knowledgeable about the area. And it's conveniently located between Winterthur and Longwood Gardens. Now, for me, yet another reason to visit the beautiful Brandywine Valley is the opportunity to stay at Longwood B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Longwood Bed & Breakfast, mostly due the accommodating , helpful & friendly manner of the host/mgr, John. It's quiet, clean & classy. The renovations, done since our 1st visit in 2009, made the inn even more attractive. The location made it accessible, for walking to local stores, & a bank. This place makes our Boston visit, a lovely retreat.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms make it more accessible, to get to your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
3.3 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
6.3 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#2 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 268 Kennett Pike (PA Route 52 South), Chadds Ford, PA 19317
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chadds Ford
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.