We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn

Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chadds Ford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save Saved
You added Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
268 Kennett Pike (PA Route 52 South), Chadds Ford, PA 19317   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Chadds Ford B&B and Inns
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed two nights over Mothers' Day weekend, and had a wonderful time visiting nearby Longwood Gardens and the town of Tennet Square. The three guest rooms are in building separate from the main house, but they share a common sitting room, dining room, and kitchen. Our "Longwood Suite" was on the ground floor and had French doors opening out on our own private patio. It was very large and had a large, comfortable king bed, and a separate sitting room with a microwave and small refrigerator. It was spotlessly clean and, best of all (because I'm a light sleeper) it was incredibly quiet. Breakfast was excellent, and John and Barbara gave us wonderful advice about restaurants in the area. It was a perfect weekend, and we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I just completed our second stay at Longwood B&B. As previously we were very happy with our accommodations, cleanliness, location, amenities and breakfast. For the area, the price is very reasonable. John and Barbara have thought of everything. We would highly recommend the Longwood B&B if you visit the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We travel thru Chadds Ford Pa on our way to the Jersey shore. We love to visit at least one of the tourist attractions in the area each visit. The Brandywine museum, Nemours,Longwood Garden...... Lots to see.

The Longwood Bed & Breakfast is a great place to stay. Good place to relax after a day of travel or site seeing. John is a wonderful host, he knows the area and can give helpful advice if asked. We do not like an over bearing host so John fits the bill for us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had such an enjoyable stay, we returned. John and Barbara are thoughtful hosts. We had great meals at their recommendations for evening dining. Suite was clean, with plenty of space and details well thought out. Breakfasts are tasty and varied.The grounds are a pleasant experience from the chaise on the patio. Location is central to local attractions, it is great place to base a Brandywine Valley exploration.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falls church, va
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I so enjoyed my first stay at Longwood B&B that I returned a few weeks later -- and each time, my fellow guests were repeat visitors. I stayed in the 2nd floor Brandywine suite each time. It has a large bedroom with a queen bed plus a bed in a gabled alcove, a sitting room with two arm chairs and a flat screen t.v., and a spacious bathroom. Just outside the suite is a small kitchen with dinette table and chairs and off of that a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the lovely yard. Although originally a 19th century barn, the building was completely redone in the 1990s and has a very pleasant country-style but not fusty decor. The design is extremely well thought-out -- every time I thought "I wonder if there's a ..." I found it, and generally in the first place I looked. The only thing missing is a full length mirror. I have slept well in both the beds, worked comfortably at the desk overlooking the garden, watched a movie from the ample dvd collection available in the parlor, fixed tea from the selection available in the small kitchen, drunk coffee from the Keurig maker that's always available in the dining room, and used wine glasses, dishes and utensils from the small kitchen to eat a take-out meal. The breakfasts have all been excellent. The hosts, John and Barbara, are pleasant, unobtrusive, and very knowledgeable about the area. And it's conveniently located between Winterthur and Longwood Gardens. Now, for me, yet another reason to visit the beautiful Brandywine Valley is the opportunity to stay at Longwood B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Longwood Bed & Breakfast, mostly due the accommodating , helpful & friendly manner of the host/mgr, John. It's quiet, clean & classy. The renovations, done since our 1st visit in 2009, made the inn even more attractive. The location made it accessible, for walking to local stores, & a bank. This place makes our Boston visit, a lovely retreat.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms make it more accessible, to get to your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Longwood B&B is just delightful. Nice suite -- two rooms + bathroom, including a cozy nook for reading. Delicious breakfast -- fruit, coffee, sausage and eggs, sweet potato pancakes, and more. The host (John) is friendly, helpful, and very knowledgable about local attractions. We had an amazing time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 268 Kennett Pike (PA Route 52 South), Chadds Ford, PA 19317
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Chadds Ford
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longwood Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.