We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby and not so chic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brandywine River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brandywine River Hotel to your Saves list
Brandywine River Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shabby and not so chic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was once a charming place to stay, but time has taken its toll. Unfortunately, the staff is unable to rise to the occasion when things go wrong and develop an unpleasant attitude.

Dirty pillow cases, beer caps under the bed, ripped and thin towels are a few of the inconveniences encountered. It is also worn and grimy. I appreciate a green hotel, but in this case it appears to be for the sake of economy not the enviroment.

This hotel has definitely had its day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia C, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to keep our property well maintained and clean, and it is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy yourself. We want all guests to enjoy their getaway, and to want to return. If you have a chance, could you call the hotel directly so that we could discuss some of the issues that you were having? I would like to ensure that the issues that you had would not happen again. Thank you again and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    66
    25
    10
    18
See reviews for
37
86
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amherst NH
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The bed and sheets were clean, the bathroom was clean, the carpet was clean.
There was an Internet plug in the room which made it easy to get high speed on the laptop without wifi.
Front desk staff was courteous. Older style hotel with actual keys for the door locks, but nothing stale, moldy, or smelly. Easy access in and out of the room and hallways. Afternoon tea and cookies was a nice touch. Morning breakfast of bagels, cream cheese, and hard boiled eggs was decent.
Seasoned travelers might be picky, but if you want to get away southwest from Phillie (20 miles) or northwest of Delaware, this is a very nice place. Excellent American revolutionary history 1/2 mile away at Brandywine battleground and a couple of other sites. Two excellent restaurants and some interesting shops right in the same complex as the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 207 (2nd floor) is quiet and faces an empty hillside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia C, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hello David and thank you for staying here at the Brandywine River Hotel and taking time out to post a nice review about your stay. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in having a clean hotel and a friendly staff. Chadds Ford is a very historical area, I'm glad you were able to enjoy many of the great things it has to offer. We would love for you to return. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My wife and I just spent three nights at the Brandywine River Hotel. While it is fairly modern, it lacks in room coffee makers, and compensates by offering a free breakfast and afternoon tea. Unfortunately, water for tea was hard to come by and when you did find it, it was not hot. Cookies were stale and medium quality store bought.

We did not have a good experience, as the fire alarm kept going off the first night we were there, we had noisy neighbors whom we heard thru the door to an adjoining room the second night, and the third afternoon the water was shut off for repairs.

When we arrived we noticed flower petals on the floor in the hall. They weren't removed until two days later although our room seemed to be clean. To cap things off, the hotel sent us an email asking us to tell others about our "enjoyable stay" on trip advisor!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia C, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for reveiwing your stay. I would like to apologize for all of the inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. We had several uncontrollable mishaps that occured during your stay with us. The power going on and off and switching to the generator due to bad weather, and the water needing to be turned off for a short period of time are all very frustrating, so I understand completely and again I apologize. I can only hope that you will give us another try. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Nice, old style hotel; however, if you are accustomed to the amenities of a modern hotel you need to be aware that the wifi is so poor as to be non-existent and the few electrical outlets in the room are filled to capacity with TVs, lamps, clocks, etc. so that you need to find multi-outlet extension cord to connect any electrics you bring with you.....and this proved to be a bit of an ordeal. There is no in-room coffee service, though I had only a room and not a suite, so it may have been different in the suites. The staff are minimal but pleasant and the place does have a nice retro charm. The hotel is set well off the road behind other businesses and is charmingly but poorly marked; the unlighted sign is virtually impossible to see at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia C, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hello there and thank you for your reveiw. I would also like to thank you for staying at the Brandywine River Hotel. I'm am very sorry that it was difficult for you to find us. We have been working on trying to get our sign brighter for night view. I would also like to apologize about the amount of power outlets. I'm glad someone was able to bring you an extension cord so you could plug in your electronics. Coffee makers are available by request at no extra charge. Guest service agents are always available and would be more than delighted to accomodate you so that you are able to enjoy every second of your stay. I would like to thank you again for visiting the Brandywine River Hotel, and we do hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stay here when we visit family in the area. The location is good for us but wonderful for those visiting the Brandywine River Valley for sightseeing. The hotel is right across the street (route 1) from the Brandywine River Museum (which houses a collection of Andrew Wyeth's works). The site is adjacent to the Brandywine River and there are walking trails and spots to put canoes in the water. Lovely. About 5 miles down route 1 is Longwood Gardens which is spectacular. Also in the area is Winterthur and the Hagley Museum.

The hotel is within walking distance of Brandywine Prime (an upscale Chadds Ford restaurant) and Brandywine Bistro (nice but still on the expensive side). About 2 miles east on route 1 is the Chadds Ford Inn, a historic restaurant, with a local flair.

New owners took over the Brandywine River Hotel recently and they are trying to provide the special service offered in the past. The staff on the whole is wonderful and very nice. We only met one who was there when we checked in who could have been more helpful.

The hotel offers a very nice breakfast with silverware, china and cloth napkins during the week. For some reason, on weekends they have started to use paper plates for the main plate at breakfast. They also have cookies and tea and hot chocoalte at 4:00 which is very nice.

We have stayed at the hotel many times on our visits to family in PA and enjoy the hotel, the restaurants nearby and the attractions in the area.

The Brandywine River Valley also offers a wine trail for those interested in tasting various PA wines.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia C, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Hi Mr. and Mrs. Alcaraz!!! We are happy to see you have returned. We appreciate your business. I remember that when you were checking out you had misplaced your car keys, I was delighted to see that you had found them, that can be a real stressful situation. I do want to apologize for anyone who was not helpful to you. I will address the situation, as we do not want anyone to be less than superior. There are many great things that Chadds Ford has to offer, and we are glad you are able to enjoy them.Thanks again, and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mertztown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was very adequate. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. It feels a bit more homey than a motel or your average hotel. We were in a room with a connecting door to another room and this was the only thing I did not like. You can hear everything in the next room and it was an older couple who were up at 5:30 am on a Sunday and were watching TV and talking loudly and we were trying to sleep. I had to get up and put in earplugs to sleep. Otherwise, everything was perfectly acceptable and the breakfast was just fine. Fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, you could make your own belgian waffle, hard-boiled eggs, and a variety of breads and pastries. We have been to this hotel previously and I would go again, just request not to be in an adjoining room!

Room Tip: Don't get an adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia C, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to reveiw our hotel. I want to apologize about any inconvenience that you experienced from the noise of another guest. I understand that can be disturbing. We certainly take requests for guests that would like a room that is not adjoining. We do our best to accomodate that request. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. We like to make every guest feel like they are at home by having clean and comfortable rooms. We look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Definitely not a chain hotel! The traditional country-style interior is OK but perhaps a little overdone - we found the bedroom to be very dark on arrival but the front desk brought in extra lighting in a couple of minutes and it was fine

Staff are local and friendly - therefore the service is laid back - the front desk isn't always manned for example

Rooms clean and high standard of house keeping -

We ate at the french Bistro next door which was good
It really is a very short walk to the Brandywine Museum if you can dodge the cars on the highway

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear that your lighting issue was able to be fixed right away. Our staff works hard to please our guests. Our guest service agents are available at the desk 24 hours of the day, and housekeeping keeps a high standard of cleaning throughout the hotel. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the Bistro on the Brandywine and the Brandywine River Museum, all within minutes of the hotel. Thank you for staying, we do hope to see you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brandywine River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandywine River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.