We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice traditional-style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brandywine River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brandywine River Hotel to your Saves list
Brandywine River Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dine On Us
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
reading
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice traditional-style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Definitely not a chain hotel! The traditional country-style interior is OK but perhaps a little overdone - we found the bedroom to be very dark on arrival but the front desk brought in extra lighting in a couple of minutes and it was fine

Staff are local and friendly - therefore the service is laid back - the front desk isn't always manned for example

Rooms clean and high standard of house keeping -

We ate at the french Bistro next door which was good
It really is a very short walk to the Brandywine Museum if you can dodge the cars on the highway

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. I am glad to hear that your lighting issue was able to be fixed right away. Our staff works hard to please our guests. Our guest service agents are available at the desk 24 hours of the day, and housekeeping keeps a high standard of cleaning throughout the hotel. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the Bistro on the Brandywine and the Brandywine River Museum, all within minutes of the hotel. Thank you for staying, we do hope to see you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    81
    29
    11
    20
See reviews for
47
108
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Even though we Arrived at 10:00 pm we're still greeted warmly. The room was comfortable and decorated beautifully. If there wasn't an entire country between us I would be a regular. The area is a nice haven away from the hustle bustke.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for all of the complements. We gladly appreciate them, and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I would say this hotel could be a 4 star place with some tweaks and "relatively" minor improvements (like more staff). But for our stay it was a slightly disappointing 3. The front desk staff varied from very nice and accommodating to indifferent and dismissive. The Hotel is an older property in my estimation so it has some of the charm of that, but also downsides like very limited electrical outlets in the rooms. In today's age with phones, i-pads etc.. all needing to be charged, having to crawl around and unplug lamps is inconvenient. No fridge in the room is also inconvenient, especially if you are traveling with young children like we were.

The breakfast in the morning was fine, with a good assortment but while it opened for business at the specified time they were still setting up and bringing out food for the next hour, and by then the place was so jammed with people it was difficult or impossible to find a seat.

We had several rooms for our party. When some of our party checked in they were told the room was ready but when they got to the room, it was not. Others were told, after the check-in time, that there rooms were still not ready. For a place with only 39 rooms they should be able to turn around and have all the rooms ready by the officially stated check-in time. The breakfast room, the cleaning of the rooms among other things we felt could have been addressed with a few more staff. Everyone seemed to be running around, and reactive as opposed to being proactive in heading off any issues (one of my criteria for a clearly very good hotel). Also we received varying pieces of information on our rooms, their status, our reservations etc.. depending on who you talked too - consistency/coordination would be good.

Location is great for the Brandywine/Wyeth Museum, which is literally just down the road, and the Chaddsford Winery and Longwood Gardens are also very close.

All in all, it was average with the potential to be more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I would like to thank you for coming to our hotel. I want to apologize if any of the staff was less than exceptional to you and your family, as we would like to make sure that all of our guest service agents are extremely helpful and cheerful. We do have refrigerators in our suites, and also available upon request for a small fee. Please give us another try and I will be sure that your stay will be more than satisfactory. Thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

not bad for a non brand hotel, very close to most brandywine locations. evening drinks and breakfast so,so. staff very friendly, hotel set back from main road, may be hard to see at night, a bit of shops near by for shopping/eating

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for spending time with us here at the Brandywine River Hotel. We have been working on making our sign brighter for guests that arrive later in the night, so that they do not miss us. We would love to have you back here when you come to visit the many attractions Chadds Ford has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here on a weekend trip to see the fireworks & light exhibit @ Longwood Gardens. The building is a non-descript modern multi story red brick motel. Our room was clean, but design was blah. Apparently there are rooms with fireplaces & jacuzzis, but ours was not one. The soundproofing was non-existent and we could hear every word coming from neighboring room - even yawns. Fortunately, our neighbors were not noisy & retired early. Also, we had a centepiede on the ceiling, which freaked me out. Mattress was soft and saggy.
Most objectionable, the hotel requires a $50 extra deposit in case of damage!! This is laughable when you see the middle aged, middle class clientele. Biggest advantage is that they do not require a 2 night stay as do most of the B&B's we usually stay at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I apologize about the centipede that startled you. As we usually do not have any ouside critters entering the hotel, there are times that small ones make their way in here due to being in this rural area. Yes, we do have suites that are available, which include jacuzzis and fireplaces. The 50.00 hold is not only for incidentals but for room service as well. Because we are a completely non smoking hotel, we have to insure that our guests will not smoke in the rooms. Sorry for any inconvenience that may have caused you. We do hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Brandywine in order to visit Longwood Gardens. We were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to be of service. We had the executive room and were pleased. We would come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for staying. It makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your first time visit with us. It is our pleasure to provide a friendly and helpful staff, to ensure that all of our guests are happy. We hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent Friday night here, and honestly this place is great! It's a small hotel with a quiet charm about it. I have seen the words, cozy, and quaint used to describe it and yes they are appropriate. The front desk people were extremely helpful. In fact the front desk person my be running the entire show. I know they at least stock the room for breakfast and tea and cookies as well as handle the front desk. Breakfast was simple but sufficient. If I were to have two suggestions it would be to have a vertical grip handle in the bathroom to assist in getting in and out of the tub. The second would be to have larger coffee cups.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis E, Front Office Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for spending your evening with us. Thanks for complementing our staff as they do their best to accomodate our guests. We appreciate your suggestions and we will take them in. We hope you come back to stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandywine River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chadds Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandywine River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.