We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tour & tasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Nittany Vineyard & Winery

Mount Nittany Vineyard & Winery
300 Houser Road, Centre Hall, PA 16828
814-466-6373
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled high on the southern slopes of Mount Nittany above the historic village of Linden Hall (National Register of Historic Places), Mount Nittany Vineyard & Winery commands a breathtaking view across Penns Valley to the distant Tussey Mountain Range. Just seven miles east of State College and Penn State University, the vineyard and winery are located in the heart of 65 acres of land which stretches to the top of Mount Nittany.The winery was opened for business in July of 1990 by proprietors, Joe and Betty Carroll, who had been amateur winemakers for 20 years during Joe’s career as a professor in the College of Business Administration at Penn State. Their purchase in 1983 of the sixty-five acre property was followed in 1984 by the first grape plantings. The entire winemaking operation was initially contained in the original chalet-style building which now houses a state of the art bottling line. A spiral staircase leads upstairs to the tasting room and views of the adjacent pond, mountain range, and the six acre vineyard.Here at Mt. Nittany Vineyard and Winery we offer a variety of award-winning wines to suit all tastes, from dry to sweet and everything in between. Over the years we have entered many Pennsylvania as well as International Wine Competitions and have won hundreds of medals (view our medals).We are confident that you will find wines to suit your own tastes, as well as those suitable for gift-giving. To help you make a selection, you may want to know that our most popular wines are Tailgate Red, Nittany Mountain White, Nittany Mountain Blush, Mountain Rose, and Sunset.
Joppa, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“tour & tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband & I enjoyed our tour and tasting at this winery. It is a beautiful location close to State College. We had a tasting of 7 types of wine and also received 2 glasses that was part of our package. It was very relaxed and unhurried and the staff was very knowledgeable and answered all of our questions readily.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Carroll W, Public Relations Manager at Mount Nittany Vineyard & Winery, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are glad that you had a good experience and grateful that you shared it. We are proud of our knowledgeable staff! Hope to see you again soon at the winery. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Free Samples and a Nice Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The free samples are generously sized though you only get 5 (7 at Seven Mountains Cellars) however, there is a decent, though brief and a bit boring (here a tank there a tank) tour as well as the ability to walk among the grapes in the vineyard or the (really shallow and murky) pond with fish in it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Carroll W, Public Relations Manager at Mount Nittany Vineyard & Winery, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Just to update, we now do offer seven free tastings, up from six previously. We want customers to have ample opportunity to taste our 25+ wine varieties.

We apologize that your tour was not as interesting as you had expected. Sometimes, we have to hurry things along a bit on a busy weekend. We are a small, family-owned vineyard and winery and our knowledgeable staff guides these tours through our entire operation.

The water level in our spring-fed pond varies depending on the time of the year and the amount of rain we receive. It is about seven feet deep in the middle and most of the time the water is clear and the fish are visible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collegeville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wine Tasting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Is offering crackers during a wine tasting a thing of the Past?

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda Carroll W, Public Relations Manager at Mount Nittany Vineyard & Winery, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for your comment. We apologize and assure you that we are now fully stocked with tasting crackers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great side trip while visiting State College ( Happy Valley )”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is a beautiful winery in the mountains near State College. The grape vineyard is only steps away from the tasting room. The tastings are free. I think they limit to five or six but if they are not busy they don't seem to care. They have activities scheduled often so you may catch an event. They have a pond/lake out back so it can be very pretty in all seasons but especially in fall with leaves changing colors. If in town for Penn State football you should stop by. It is easy to find with good signs pointing the way. Penns Cave is also close.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Nittany Vineyard & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Mount Nittany Vineyard & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Nittany Vineyard & Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.