We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great cave to vist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penn's Cave

Penn's Cave
Rt. 192, (5 miles east of Centre Hall), Centre Hall, PA 16828
814-364-1664
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cave can only be entered by tour boats.
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“great cave to vist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We go to Penn's Cave every year and love it. You go into the gift shop to buy the tickets. If it's a weekend during the summer, you may have a small wait time. The good thing is you can walk around the gift shop or roam the property while you are waiting. When your tour is close to being ready you leave the gift shop and walk down a winding trail. The property is beautiful. Then you go down a steep hill and lots of stairs to reach the entrance of the cave. At the cave entrance you can see the water and fish that live there. You can also feel the temperature difference. The cave is about 50 degrees, so you might want to bring a light coat or sweatshirt. The tour is on a small motorized boat and the tour guides are very knowledgeable. While on the tour, you go through Penn's Cave and see many of the cave's features. Bring your camera!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    71
    19
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osceola Mills, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little too touristy, but very cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I personally found Penn's Cave to be a bit on the expensive side and VERY touristy/commercialized. The cave itself is really interesting and there are some amazing formations. The boat ride is also fun. However, I felt like my tour guide was not very knowledgeable and admitted that he "made stuff up." That was a big turn off for me. Overall, I did enjoy my visit. I definitely recommend it for families.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have been to several other cave's in PA this one just topped it. Dave our boat driver was excellent. Dave was very informative about this cave and others he has seen. Funny and extremly knowledgeable. I can not wait to come back here. We also did the Wildlife ride which was also great. The driver which I wish I could remember her name was great she knew so much and taught us a lot about the animals. I would not hesitate to go here just wish I would of came here sooner. Beautiful in every way.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Cave Boat Tour and Wildlife Tour - Fun Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We spent the day here and enjoyed the boat tour through the cave. There were some beautiful formations and our guide was fun and informative. We had brought a picnic lunch and had an hour wait for our tour to enjoy it in the picnic area. After the cave tour we hopped abord an open air bus and did the wildlife our. Many North American Animals were on display and we got to see them all. Our guide was fun and knowledgeable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
170 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Intriguing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was raining when we visited the Penn's Cave. It sure was beautiful and the boat trip was quite informative. Once we got out of the cave, nature was covered with fog, making it quite mystic. A true enjoyable trip!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penn's Cave also viewed

 

Been to Penn's Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn's Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.