We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine family day at the Cave and Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penn's Cave

Penn's Cave
Rt. 192, (5 miles east of Centre Hall), Centre Hall, PA 16828
814-364-1664
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cave can only be entered by tour boats.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fine family day at the Cave and Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Traveling with very young children we weren't sure if the cave experience would be frightening. Turns out they loved it. Guide was excellent, lighting was helpful and added to the fun experience. It is cold and jackets are a good idea in any weather there. The open air bus tour of the wildlife area was good also, again with a well-trained, enthusiastic guide. Huge gift shop was well stocked. Cafe food was mediocre (bison and longhorn burgers, nachos, fries). "Mining" for gems was fun for the kids also. Cave experience not for mobility-impaired. Lots of steps, no elevators.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    71
    19
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun little tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Penn's cave was a fun little tour. The 50 minute boat ride provided humor and incite into the geological formations inside the cave. Our tour guide was a young man who was very entertaining and seemed to enjoy guiding the tour. He answered all our questions and was eager for us to ask them. Water drips from the ceilings, but we didn't get very wet. Penn's lake (the turn around point of the tour) was drained, so there wasn't much to look at once we exited the cave. the staff at the gift shop/snack bar were also very helpful and friendly. They did provide a $2 military discount and they applied it to all tickets for my group which was very accommodating.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIPLEY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Neat Cave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

You take a boat ride through the cave. We went when it was raining outside and it was only in the 50s. The cave was cool and very wet but overall a great experience. We also did the wildlife park. Kim was our park guide and she was wonderful. Great personality, funny, made the trip fun even for two four-year-olds. Very strict on rules. If you break the rules, you are removed from the tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fun visit....outside and in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Penn's Cave offers a nice wildlife tour; think school bus ride around the property to see the animals. We really enjoyed the energetic tour guide and learned alot about the animals they have there and got to see them up close. No buffalo in the U.S. only bison...I never knew!
That was the outside part, the inside part is the cave. You take a flat bottom, motor-powered, slow trip through the cave. Not as many crystals, stalactites and stalagmites as I've seen in caverns but this was a whole different experience. The tour guide really enjoyed what he does and made this trip more enjoyable.
A fun place to bring the family...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the cave; the walk was a problem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It was a snowy Saturday and the drive to the cave was beautiful, as was the cave itself. In fact (despite the slightly pricey admission) we all enjoyed our trip through Penn's Cave. Our boatman/guide was knowledgeable and amusing, and the cave itself is quite wonderful. We even saw a couple of snoozing bats! It might not be the most beautiful or extensive cave in the area, but the fact that one can only see it via boat makes a visit unique.

The gift shop is excellent, with reasonable prices for the most part.

So, our single complaint - and it's a serious one - is that there is no warning anywhere about the walk to and from the cave. Nothing on the web site, nothing in the visitors center prepares one for the extremely steep descent/ascent to and from the cave mouth. It is not at all accessible for those with mobility problems. No wheeled means of transport could make the trip safely, and a person with limited walking ability would have a very hard time of it (as did my husband - we didn't think he'd make it back up the incline). There is no alternative means of access provided and while I do understand that due to the protected nature of the cave, this cannot be provided, it would only be common courtesy to warn visitors BEFORE they pay.

That said, if one doesn't have any such difficulties and one likes caves, Penn's Cave is a fun place to see.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penn's Cave also viewed

 

Been to Penn's Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penn's Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.