We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible steaks but be prepared to pay premium prices.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shula's Steak House - Center Valley

Shula's Steak House - Center Valley
2960 Center Valley Parkway, Center Valley, PA 18034
6108415600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shula's Steak House - Center Valley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rt 309 & I 78
Description: Shula's Steak House is the classic American, fine dining steak house. Our restaurant is themed after 1972's Undefeated Miami Dolphins and showcases their "Perfect Season" - the only team in NFL history to finish a season 17 - 0.Our custom center cuts of Premium Black Angus Beef® steaks accompanied with our aging process make up our award winning SHULA CUT ® , the best beef money can buy. Our custom cuts and aging process are the highest in the industry. You won't find a better steak anywhere.Shula's events and social gatherings offer a winning tradition and atmosphere, combined with exceptional menus, professional service and dedication you would only expect from the NFL's winningest coach - Don Shula.Each restaurant is themed after the 1972 Miami Dolphins' "Perfect Season" - the only team in NFL history to finish a season undefeated. We invite you to experience Shula's Steak House, where we only offer the biggest and the best.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Incredible steaks but be prepared to pay premium prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food was excellent the 3 times we ate at Shula's. Everything is ala carte. The sides are large, perfectly prepared and can be easily shared. The steaks are absolutely delightful. I can find better value but not food quality and atmosphere together.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House - Center Valley, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Jim C, we'd like to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our restaurant. We are glad to hear that every visit you've made to Shula's has been excellent.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned our large portion sizes. We always make sure to tell guests how our side dishes can be easily shared. We appreciate you also relaying this important information in your review. It makes us happy hearing that you love our steaks. We proudly stand behind the fact that we serve the best beef that money can buy!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It truly means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    32
    30
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Back to great again -touchdown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Service was great table was ready staff was personable and attentive order was cooked perfectly. Best place locally for the best of food quality. Good activity area in the location connected to shopping. We will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House - Center Valley, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Terri L, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our restaurant. We are very happy to see that you fully enjoyed your time at our restaurant.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how wonderful our staff was. We are very lucky to have such amazing people working with us. They truly go our of their way to ensure everything is always perfect for our guests. We'll definitely pass along your kind remarks to them. They love hearing back from satisfied patrons.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We really appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a great review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown , PA
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The steaks are great that is not hype, Atmosphere is nothing special, service is okay the staff is well trained but it doesn't seem natural when the are telling you about the menu it comes of rehearsed and rushed. They just memorized a script they haven't actually tried the food. The food gets 5 stars but the service and the fact that the place is kind of plain brings it down to 4. But neither would stop me from going there again.

To sum it up I guess I would have to say I have been to a few better places, and a lot of worse places and would recommend it and go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House - Center Valley, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Grayhare, we'd like to thank you for writing us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine at our restaurant. It makes us very happy hearing that you enjoyed your meal and that you'd recommend us to others.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned the steak cart presentation that our servers give to guests (unless it's not requested). It is imperative that our staff fully understands and can reiterate the facts about our beef. The facts are very crucial! We stand behind the fact that we serve the best beef that money can buy, and therefore it's important that our guests know the reasons our beef is top-quality. On that note, the presentation should never come off as rushed and we're certainly going to address this at our next team meeting.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It is greatly appreciated when guests take the time out of their day to write us a nice review. We hope you realize how much this means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Outstanding, refined steakhouse experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I took my girlfriend here for a nice Friday night dinner, and we had a fantastic evening.

We took advantage of the complimentary valet parking and walked in. The ambience is refined and tasteful.

The hostess immediately found our reservation on the computer and welcomed us. I was a bit concerned at first by the football that she brought with us and placed on our table--I don't really go for theme restaurant stuff, and I'm not into sports at all. However, other than a brief description of who Don Shula is, the football-related stuff came to an end, and the football was removed from our table by our waitress at her first visit to our table.

We were initially going to be seated at a table between two other occupied tables. The hostess asked if the table was okay. I noticed that there were many empty tables, so I asked if we could be seated in another section so that we could have some privacy, and she happily seated us at a comfortable semi-circular booth.

I was presented with an iPad with the wine list on it, which was actually a pretty handy way to navigate the wine list. I selected the Kendall Jackson Vintner's Reserver Pinot Noir, which was excellent and reasonably priced at $39 for the bottle.

Our waitress came to our table with a cart that showed the different cuts that were available. My girlfriend chose the 16oz. New York Strip Steak, and I chose the 24oz. Boneless Prime Rib au jus. We ordered a side of creamed spinach to share.

The sommelier came by our table to present, open and pour our wine.

My prime rib was superb. It had a nice crust on the outside, plenty of marbling and was nice and rare inside. It came with a creamy horseradish sauce that, while very tasty, didn't belong with such a beautiful cut of beef. I asked for and quickly received some regular grated horseradish. The prime rib also came with a Yorkshire pudding, which I gave to my girlfriend.

My girlfriend's strip steak was also outstanding. It was cooked medium rare exactly as she ordered it.

The creamed spinach was very good, though not the best I ever had.

Our waitress dropped by our table regularly to refill our wine glasses and to discreetly check on our progress. The manager also visited us at one point to make sure everything was going well.

We didn't have any dessert--we were pretty full from the beef. My girlfriend took most of her steak home with her. We also took, at the insistence of our waitress, the rest of the loaf of bread that had been delivered to our table. She told us that it made excellent French toast.

I gave the valet stub to our server, and our car was waiting outside when we walked outside. On our way out, we stopped at the hostess station, where we were told that there is a five course dinner with a different wine accompanying each course next week. We've already made reservations for it--the menu and wine selection looks great.

I look forward to going back here. I really had a nice time, and the beef was top-notch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House - Center Valley, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
ARWhite, thank you for writing us an amazing in-depth review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine with us during your Friday night out. Words cannot describe how delighted we are to see that you and your girlfriend had a spectacular time at our restaurant.

At Shula's, we're always striving to create an unparalleled experience. It's the little things that can make a great time a superb one. We know how difficult it can be to find parking in the Promenade Shops on a busy night, which is why we felt it was only right to offer our guests complimentary valet parking. We want your visit at Shula's to be as enjoyable and carefree from the time you get out of your car, to the moment you walk out of our restaurant. It makes us happy to see that you appreciated all the small details we create.

We'll be sure to pass along your gracious remarks to our team. They work very hard to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons. Hearing that they have impressed a guest always leaves them with a feeling of great accomplishment.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you and your girlfriend back soon!

-Also, we love the pictures! Thank you for sharing them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, so-so service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The search for a special dining experience led us to Shula's. None of us in our party of four adults (my wife, my in-laws, and me) had previously been to Shula's. Our visit was on a Sunday night, a decidedly lull time for this restaurant. We had 6:30pm reservations and we walked through the door right on time. We were greeted cheerfully and quickly, but then had to awkwardly wait several minutes at the host stand after we checked in. I'm not sure what the staff was doing for those several minutes. There were plenty of open tables and nobody else was waiting to be seated.

The mains and the sides were all delicious. My father-in-law and I both had the prime rib special, which we loved. The meat was very tender and cooked to perfection. The crab mac-and-cheese was decadent with large pieces of crab meat.

The staff, though very friendly, wasn't on it's "A" game during out visit. After we had been served our main dish, my wife had to get up from the table to retrieve the water pitcher from the service station to refill her empty water glass. Prior to her doing that, we tried to get the attention of staff members as they passed by, but all seemed too busy to notice our need. At a restaurant of this caliber, a water glass should never go empty.

The other service gaffe happened during dessert ordering. The prime rib special that my father-in-law and I had ordered each came with a dessert from a fixed list, but that wasn't mentioned until several minutes after we had already ordered two other desserts for the table. When the waiter returned to our table to ask our selections, we ended up cancelling one of the additional desserts we had ordered (molten lava cake) and were gently admonished for doing so. The key lime pie and cheesecake included with our prime rib dinners were very tasty and nicely sized. We had high hopes for the chocolate souffle, which was the additional dessert we ordered. The presentation was nice with some vanilla ice cream, but it wasn't as enjoyable as we had expected.

With such great food, a dining experience at this restaurant has the potential to be outstanding. Our recent visit was slightly disappointing due to service concerns. These concerns were relayed to the management when they phoned me the following day as a courtesy follow-up. The call was a nice touch, especially since it was our first time visiting Shula's. But during that call, I couldn't tell whether our feedback was being taken seriously or if the call was just routine for outward appearances.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House - Center Valley, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
DoctorScottFromPA, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a great review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine with us. We're glad to hear that your party enjoyed the food and thought it was very delicious.

From reading over your review, we noticed that there were some issues that you had during your time with us that we'd like to address. If you have a reservation, you should be promptly seated upon walking in. It appears that this did not happen, and we'll be internally looking into what exactly occurred to cause the delay.

We strive for excellence and nothing less. It appears that although we came close, we did not hit our mark. Your wife should absolutely have not needed to get up to retrieve a water pitcher to fill her own glass. In addition to this, at no point, even if "gently", should you have been admonished by a member of our team. Rest assured, this will most certainly be looked into and appropriately addressed.

We also saw that you received our follow-up call and spoke with a member of our team. The feedback that we receive from our guests is documented, analyzed, and then kept on file. Believe it or not, we have the feedback and comments from these calls all the way back from when we first opened. The information that we collect from these calls is used during our staff meetings to go over areas of improvement and points of praise.

We have private messaged you on TripAdvisor and would like to gather more details about your experience. We look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shula's Steak House - Center Valley also viewed

Center Valley, PA
 

Been to Shula's Steak House - Center Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shula's Steak House - Center Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.