We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous grounds and facilities but rooms need freshening up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Liberty Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Liberty Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous grounds and facilities but rooms need freshening up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a larger group for a family reunion. The facilities for handling large parties is very good. The outdoor patio, pool, and overall grounds are very accomodating and comfortable. Also, the catered food was very good and the staff was attentive and pleasant. My only small complaint is that the Starbucks in the hotel is not open in the summer.
The rooms are average. When making the reservation, I requested a king room but got a room with double beds and was told there were no more rooms left. The bathroom is a good size and was clean. The shower head was pretty bad but not a huge deal. The carpet and bed spreads in the room needed to be replaced. They seemed old, stained, and/or worn. Also, the pillows are in desperate need of replacement. They are lumpy and uncomfortable. The bed itself was comfortable. Also, each room has a small balcony which is nice. The hotel has wi-fi as well.
The free continental breakfast was good. It included bagels, english muffins, muffins, cereal, fruit, pastries, oatmeal, donuts, coffee, and juice. All was perfect except for the juice - it was watered down each morning and tasted bad. There is also coffee every morning in the hotel lobby.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay. The location is great (15 minutes outside of Gettysburg) and the facilities/grounds are very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

I took my son to Gettysburg last weekend. After looking at many hotels in the area, Liberty Mountain was offering an off-season special, so I booked it. After a 10 hour drive, I was very pleasantly pleased. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was fine - very clean. The breakfast was fine and the mountains and hills are beautiful. The trip into Gettysburg was about 7 - 10 minutes and an easy drive. The contrast of visiting Gettysburg but staying outside of it was very nice. I would recommend this hotel, I was very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We went for a wedding and while the reception area was nice, it was obvious that the resort has not updated the hotel for a long time. This wouldnt have been so bad however the price was ridiculious for what you are getting. The rooms were so small and smelled bad. There was no mini fridge or microwave which seems to be the standard for most places. The views were great. The staff was tuff on rules tho. It is a cool place for retired people BUT MY COUSINS AND I ARE 15-20 AND IT WAS OBVIOUS THAT THE RESORT IS NOT CATERING TO THE YOUNGER GENERATION FOr these reasons, I would not go back

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Our third visit to Carroll Valley for Valentines and will be our last one. We paid 320 a night which included Asti sparkling wine, 5 chocolate strawberries, dinner for 2 and a room located next to screaming children all night. I understand this resort caters to families since its next door to Ski Liberty, but when a Romantic Valentines Package is advertised you would think they would have the Parlor Rooms next door to couples only. There should be someone at the entrance to stop people from parking in the lot who are going to Ski Liberty and not staying at the resort, really don't like driving and driving for 1/2 hour trying to get a parking spot. The dinner overall was good but the past 2 years it was far better, including the service. It was a good time with my spouse but next year I think we will pass on this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This hotel had local charm and polite personnel working. It didn't have that Scottsdale, Florida or Myrtle beach extra polish... but it was a clean and fun place to huddle with the guys for a golf trip!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Upon checking in we knew that we had picked the right place. The rooms were very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. They offered several weekend packages, we choose the golf package. It was a great value for the costs. We had unlimited golf on two 18-hole courses, the room, breakfast and dinner, a golf cart, club storage, and practice time. They also gave be a discount since the person I was traveling with was a non-golfer.

I will come here again. We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda,MD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

My ski partner and I took advantage of this hotel's promo for $169 a room (ski lift for night skiing, one night at hotel, voucher for breakfast, next day's rentals and lift tickets, parking until 12nn next day). Location is excellent, just steps from rental office, and ski lifts. We even got slope view from our hotel room. Room had no fridge and wireless internet connection was erratic.

O

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort

Address: 78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're most excited about the recent acquisition of neighboring Carroll Valley Resort! Liberty Mountain is now truly a four-season resort with awesome amenities for all ages all year-round! In May of 2010, Carroll Valley Resort became part of Liberty Mountain Resort. With the acquisition of Carroll Valley Resort, we now have more than twice as many hotel rooms; more meeting space for groups, weddings, banquets, reunions; more resort amenities such as a fitness and billiards rooms; more dining options with The Inn at Carroll Valley and Tavern on the Green; and an 18-hole championship golf course and Pro Shop. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.