We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf

Save Saved
You added Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Roswell, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great golf weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Upon checking in we knew that we had picked the right place. The rooms were very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. They offered several weekend packages, we choose the golf package. It was a great value for the costs. We had unlimited golf on two 18-hole courses, the room, breakfast and dinner, a golf cart, club storage, and practice time. They also gave be a discount since the person I was traveling with was a non-golfer.

I will come here again. We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
13
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda,MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

My ski partner and I took advantage of this hotel's promo for $169 a room (ski lift for night skiing, one night at hotel, voucher for breakfast, next day's rentals and lift tickets, parking until 12nn next day). Location is excellent, just steps from rental office, and ski lifts. We even got slope view from our hotel room. Room had no fridge and wireless internet connection was erratic.

O

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Carroll Valley Resort and what a great place for family time. Ski Liberty is right next door for those who enjoy snowboarding or skiing like ourselves and no worries about parking. We spent a weekend which includes a buffet breakfast always good and never have to worry about empty trays. The meal we had at the restaurant is probably one of the best dinners we ever had and our waitress was superb. The rooms are standard and in need of some minor renovations but the beds are so comfortable. We enjoyed the fireplaces in the dining area as well as the tavern level. Saturday night there is a DJ but we were so tired from being outdoors all day we only stayed until 10pm. I almost forgot the domestic beers are only 1.50 and the rest of the drinks are so reasonable. You just can't beat the price and for a family getaway, I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

The room and property were fine, however, we had two issues. First, I guess we should've known better, but the weekend clientele are a bunch of fun-seekers. As a result, there are teenagers walking and talking in the corridors at all hours of the night. The walls are thin and we could hear people in the adjoining room. Our room had a balcony, but so did the adjoining one, and we could readily hear the cell phone conversation of an adjoining guest through our sliding glass door while she made a middle-of-the-night call on her balcony. We have two young children (6 & 10) and this was not quite the family-friendly environment we were hoping for (although the ski slopes themselves are very family friendly). However, if you were a high-schooler on the prowl, you'd feel right at home. If you stay here on a weekend, caveat emptor.

One important reason we decided to stay at the hotel was because we wanted to get onto the slopes as soon as they opened at 8:00 AM to beat the crowds. However, the morning food service was not open until 7:30 AM. That makes it tough to finish eating, get all your ski gear on (which we luckily brought with us), and onto the slopes early. There's no way you'd get on the slopes by 8:00 AM if you had to rent equipment, since the rental area does not open until 8:00 AM. Also, the morning food selection was pretty paltry. Essentially, you get a food voucher which you can redeem for mostly continental breakfast food. Hot selections are minimal, pre-wrapped and disappointing.

By contrast, we have also stayed at the nearby Sleep Inn in Emmitsburg (15 mins away), as well as the Country Inn & Suites (25 minutes away) in Gettysburg. These are both nicer and newer properties, the rooms are bigger, they are much quieter, have indoor pools (which Liberty does not), start breakfast at 6:00 AM, and are cheaper. Their breakfasts are better (but not much better), but at least they start early, and in the case of the Sleep Inn, adjoins a McDonald's which opens early.

If you stay midweek, I'm sure the place will be very quiet, and there's probably no need to get onto the slopes by 8:00 AM because there won't be any crowds. If you don't mind a sub par breakfast, then this is a decent lodging option since you can't beat the convenience of staying at the resort.

Note that there are no ski-in/out rooms. You'll need to walk a few hundred yards and negotiate a few flights of stairs to get from your room to the slopes.

  • Liked — proximity to ski slopes
  • Disliked — teens roaming at all hours, late starting time for breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

I stayed at the resort for a work retreat, and had a very good experience. It is steps away from Ski Liberty, and is in a beautiful, quiet countryside. I recommend requesting a room with a view of the golf course...much nicer than a view of an adjacent hotel. The staff was very helpful, and the rooms, although simply decorated, were cleaner than any hotel I've stayed in. I ate one dinner at the in-house restaurant there and was very satisfied with the menu and the food I ordered.

I'd definitely recommend this for a personal stay...a nice getaway in the country.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Mountain, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

While visiting Gettysburg we stayed at this hotel and were completely satisfied. Our check-in was handled by a very friendly woman and done efficiently. Our room was very large, clean and had excellent amenities. Our king sized bed was comfortable and the pillows were better than the one I had brought with me. The bathroom was also very clean, well lit and there were two grab bars near the toilet which I found very handy. Good A/C, a table with two chairs and a large TV. We had to leave early so we did not sample the breakfast, but we were offered coffee as we checked out at 3:30am. All in all a very nice place that we would recommend and return to.

  • Liked — Great Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

We decided to visit Gettysburg, PA for a short vacation trip. I found Liberty Mountain Resort during an on-line search. This is a ski resort that is open year round. We went during the off-season and were pleasantly surprised.

The resort is located off the beaten path, but the Mapquest directions were perfect. It is nestled in between a ski mountain and golf course. The hotel is modern and well-furnished.

We had a lovely corner room on the 2nd floor. The bathroom is huge and contained all amenities. Plenty of hot water for showers, although the water pressure was a bit light. The room itself has a king size bed, 2 night stands, a dresser, color TV and desk with chair. There is a balcony with 2 chairs and a table so that you can sit out and enjoy the view. Our room faced mountainside, but not all do. The entire hotel is non-smoking.

A light continental breakfast is included with the $97 (taxes included) room charge. We had a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Gettysburg, PA area.

  • Liked — Quality hotel with reasonable rates.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf

Address: 78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're most excited about the recent acquisition of neighboring Carroll Valley Resort! Liberty Mountain is now truly a four-season resort with awesome amenities for all ages all year-round! In May of 2010, Carroll Valley Resort became part of Liberty Mountain Resort. With the acquisition of Carroll Valley Resort, we now have more than twice as many hotel rooms; more meeting space for groups, weddings, banquets, reunions; more resort amenities such as a fitness and billiards rooms; more dining options with The Inn at Carroll Valley and Tavern on the Green; and an 18-hole championship golf course and Pro Shop. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.