We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf

Save Saved
You added Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Carroll Valley
Oak Hill, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great family Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We just got back from a 2 day stay at this hotel. We were lucky to get one of the renovated rooms, but even our friend's room that wasn't reno'd was nice. The breakfast buffet was huge, the kids loved it. We went skiing and tubing for the 1st time and thought this place was great, very family friendly. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
12
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just got back from 2 nights at Ski Liberty, where we also stayed for 2 nights. Hotel from the outside looks like a Motel 6 but our room was VERY nice, had obviously recent been updated. Granite counter top in bathroom, strong shower, whole room and bathroom very clean. Comfy bed, all decor pretty, bright, and up to date. Room on the small side but adequate for 2 adults and 2 kids! We stayed on the golf side and had no problem with noise.

Skiing with 3 and 7 year old was great. For the 3 year old, they have a small conveyor belt lift that takes you up about 60 feet on a green slope. He didn't last long, but then we put him in the $15/hr daycare where he was blissfully happy for 6 hours. We took the 7 year old ourselves (no ski school) and within an hour he was happy and confident. Several green/blue slopes for beginners. All employees terrific. Ski rental very easy, efficient, staff knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Definitely worth it to stay at the hotel on site as the parking lot was full and we got to park in hotel parking.

Food - at base of slope there was a very good outdoor grill that had a solid B+ cheeseburger and a variety of sides. Breakfast included with hotel was adequate. Dinner at Tavern on the Green was C. Cuban pork sandwich pretty bad (but I'm from Florida originally so have high standards) and other was standard. Wings were small but meaty and tasty. Good beer! We had dinner the 2nd night just offsite at Taverna 5450 which next time we will go to for both dinners! Great food there with ambience.

Overall our family loved Liberty Ski Resort - at 75 minutes from Northern Virginia it can't be beat for beginners/young families. Try the tubing too!

Room Tip: golf side quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. augustine, fl
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our first time skiing and we had an amazing experience. Everyone was wonderful and provided help throughout our entire experience. From the ticket sales, rental area, ski instructor to the lockers! Just couldn't have asked for more.
They did a great job with our kids too. We will certainly return!

Just some tips for first timers like us: we live in Florida, so we do not have clothes for really cold weather and had to invest. But, here is what you will need- a beenie or something like it, good pair of gloves, ski bib was our choice with a jacket ( just something water proof), one pair of tall socks, Chapstick and goggles (or sunglasses during day) and patience. Oh and long underwear for under your ski wear. Regular pants and shirts are too bulky (IMO).

Have fun!!!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed at Liberty Ski Resort. A special rate was offered with lift tickets and breakfast due to the season starting early. Couldn't beat the value $149! The rooms are newly renovated, but a tad on the small side. However, convenient to take a break when needed. Breakfast was "ok". Definitely will be back again.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The facilities have been updated the staff is wonderful. The golf course is challenging. Food is average. Have been coming here for many years. Keep coming back. So convenient. Once you arrive you can park the car and not leave the resort. They store your clubs and have them waiting each day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The immaculate appealing accommodations were only outdone by the super friendliness of the staff. Bring your walking/jogging shoes - the surroundings are terrific and the historic nature of the area makes for a most memorable visit

Room Tip: no need to choose - they're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Attended a golf outing at this resort and was generally pleased with the hotel and loved the course. Food was average at best.We found the breakfast buffet to be limited. Dinner offerings were good for a group package but did not think the steak quality was acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf

Address: 78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're most excited about the recent acquisition of neighboring Carroll Valley Resort! Liberty Mountain is now truly a four-season resort with awesome amenities for all ages all year-round! In May of 2010, Carroll Valley Resort became part of Liberty Mountain Resort. With the acquisition of Carroll Valley Resort, we now have more than twice as many hotel rooms; more meeting space for groups, weddings, banquets, reunions; more resort amenities such as a fitness and billiards rooms; more dining options with The Inn at Carroll Valley and Tavern on the Green; and an 18-hole championship golf course and Pro Shop. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.