We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a motel feel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Liberty Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Liberty Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“More of a motel feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I spent 4 nights here an all inclusive 5 day conference, with all meals and breaks included. I had a suite which was clean with a nice view over the golf course. There are no elevators, so I had to carry my suitcase up and down the stairs. The decor is standard. Instead of glasses, they had plastic cups and it felt more like a motel than a lodge. I stepped out on my balcony and the door slammed behind me locking me out. So, I had to call out to someone on the golf course (thank goodness someone was there) to be rescued. There was no way to unlock the door, so I needed to prop it open when I was outside.

The bed was very uncomfortable, particularly the hard pillows. The shower was a cheap plastic stall and very small, with no where to put my shampoo and other items. The air conditioner is extremely loud and the temperature controls do not appear to work. There is a small coffee pot in the room.

The breakfast buffet was not very good, lunch was better and dinner was very good. The breaks were also good, but they removed them really fast. The staff are friendly and helpful. While not a bad place for a conference, I've been at better conference facilities.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

All the staff were very pleasant, very helpful, and very eager to please. The facilities are quite nice. The food is quite good. And, it's set in a beautiful location. Air conditioners in the rooms are a bit loud, and may wake you up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A bunch of us stayed on the golf course side of the resort during ski season. The front desk staff, the ski staff and the house keepers were all very friendly and nice. The standard rooms are on the smaller side but they were clean and updated. We paid for the ski and stay package which was rather expensive when when we could barely get any skiing done because of their snow makers. We did not realize that the snow makers were going to be on the entire time. We had never skiied with snow makers and my only experience with skiing were all in Lake Tahoe, CA where it's gorgeous and on big mountains). It was causing blizzard conditions with the ice blowing into our faces. We had to take breaks often because the conditions were so miserable. The bunny hills were good and long so it's great for the beginners (had the conditions were better). The breakfast (included in the package) and the lunch were below average (read disgusting) and too expensive (as expected). In all I probably would not pay to stay over night again but drive over for the day and bring my own food.

Room Tip: There are mountain side rooms as well but I didn't see the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was an excellent wedding reception destination. I highly recommend booking this resort for your wedding reception, ballroom, dance floor, and food and catering needs. The grounds are beautiful. The ballroom is very romantic and spacious. The food is excellent. The waiters and waitresses are kind and polite. The rooms are very nice and cozy as well. Very new and well kept. This is the place to hold a wedding reception or any large scale or major event. Great stay!

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Hotel was an OK experience. Was here during October for an event, so no skiing to be had. Not much to do on site if you aren't a golfer. Gettysburg is 10 minutes away though.

Rooms were pretty bland, especially for the higher than expected price. Bed was terrible - double bed and hard. Ammenities are pretty much non-existant. Rooms aren't very quiet either - there's shared balconies with a glass door so if anyone is outside, you may as well join the conversation.

Brightest spot was breakfast...outstanding food and choices. Bar is nice on site and pretty cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I went for a conference last weekend. The staff was wonderful, rooms clean and complimentary breafast buffet was beyond amazing! Only thing I can complain about is that if it is off season and it was, there is NOTHING else there. However, if you go in season the conference center itself was terrific and ski center beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I first visited Carroll Valley Resort in the 1980s. I've returned every three or four years since then. Wonderful place that I'm told will be renovated in a year or two. Visit while you can for a feel of an old-fashioned resort where you feel like you're dealing with real people, instead of corporate types. Not saying it will lose its charms, but modernization might make the place too popular for my tastes. Otherwise, golfing is great for the average player, scenery is wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for golf-side room at Carroll Valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort

Address: 78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're most excited about the recent acquisition of neighboring Carroll Valley Resort! Liberty Mountain is now truly a four-season resort with awesome amenities for all ages all year-round! In May of 2010, Carroll Valley Resort became part of Liberty Mountain Resort. With the acquisition of Carroll Valley Resort, we now have more than twice as many hotel rooms; more meeting space for groups, weddings, banquets, reunions; more resort amenities such as a fitness and billiards rooms; more dining options with The Inn at Carroll Valley and Tavern on the Green; and an 18-hole championship golf course and Pro Shop. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.