We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf to your Saves list
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
southern california
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Quiet getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here in the summer on a trip to take part in the 150th anniversary celebration of the Civil War at nearby Gettysburg. The battlefields are about a twenty minute drive away from the resort which features skiing in the winter and golf during the rest of the year. Our room was adjacent to the golf course with views overlooking the lake and the mountains. Accommodations were spacious and clean; housekeeping was fastidious and efficient. The buffet breakfast is ample and offers a variety of choices. The on site restaurants provide a variety of choices, though prices are a bit high and food tends to be on the bland side. The pool is larger than you would find at a standard hotel, but could stand a cleaning. Everyone that we encountered on the staff was courteous, helpful and professional. Because of its location, there are few shops or restaurants nearby, but, if you enjoy a respite from the crowds, this is your kind of place.

Room Tip: Rates are competitive during the off season, shop around to find the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
13
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had a great weekend with a golf group at Carroll Valley. The rooms were very clean and recently remodeled. Only inconvenience is there is no elevator to take your luggage, etc...to the second floor.

Breakfast was good. They will make to order eggs and omelets, this was not advertised a friend told me.

Pool could have been cleaner...I was a nongolfer and spent time at the pool which had alot of debris floating when the pool was totally empty. Someone stopped by on Sunday to test the water and moved on and the water was very dirty. The poolside chairs were very uncomfortable, they were adirondack chairs, nothing to lounge or sun on and since I spent a lot of time at the pool, which I would have brought a beach type chair along.

Dinner in the evening at the banquet was tasty and good considering the size of the group they were serving.

Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If steps are an inconvenience, ask for a first floor room or carry everything up steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here while we visited the Gettysburg area. A bit of a drive in (about 20 min), but well worth it. During the winter the place is a ski resort. During our off time, my kids were in the pool. I loved being able to swim in the pool, keep an eye on my kids, and have a great view of the mountains. Breakfast was great! Staff bent over backwards to be of help. Our family is thinking about returning to snow ski in the near future. Not a huge amount of ammenities, but sufficient for what we needed. Certainly worth a look!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark DE
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for two days for a wedding in warm weather. Beautiful setting but no walking paths and, other than gold and a swimming pool, not much to do. Rooms clean and good size. Housekeeping very good. Parking a bit odd-parking lot not adjacent to hotel rooms, and no path to walk from lot to hotel. Breakfast buffet ok, but nothing special though the coffee was very good.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the gold course. Good view though golfers, after finishing and before starting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Room very spacious and nice. Seemed recently redone. Beautiful view of golf course. Ate dinner at restaurant at bottom of the hill called Taverna...very good. Saturday my husband golfed...said it was a great course. Breakfast at Tavern on the Green was included both mornings..nice food options to chose from. Would definitely consider going back in the winter with our kids to ski.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Went on superbowl sunday. Report said frozen granular. We skied 2 runs on slush, nicknamed " mash potatoes". Horrible. Saw other slopes from lift that were "open". They had places where the trail was 90% mud. Could not believe these nearly bare slopes could be open. Took a refund after 2 runs. Don't even consider Liberty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night (really more like a motel) while my son and I skied for two days. We stayed in a second floor room facing the slopes.
First, the good...it was close to the slopes. We just walked out from our room to the slopes in our boots. The staff was also very friendly. The free breakfast was good.

Since the room faced into the main "square", it was noisy all day long. The speakers were blaring loud music from morning until around 10 PM. Even with the sliding door closed, it was still a little too noisy to relax in the room. The room itself was pretty basic. There was a new flat-panel TV but no refrigerator. The complex had very minimal amenities.

If it wasn't for the location, we would not stay here again...but it is hard to beat the convenience.

Room Tip: If tranquility is important to you, stay in the rooms facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf

Address: 78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're most excited about the recent acquisition of neighboring Carroll Valley Resort! Liberty Mountain is now truly a four-season resort with awesome amenities for all ages all year-round! In May of 2010, Carroll Valley Resort became part of Liberty Mountain Resort. With the acquisition of Carroll Valley Resort, we now have more than twice as many hotel rooms; more meeting space for groups, weddings, banquets, reunions; more resort amenities such as a fitness and billiards rooms; more dining options with The Inn at Carroll Valley and Tavern on the Green; and an 18-hole championship golf course and Pro Shop. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.