We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming pool was a selling point!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf

Save Saved
You added Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Carroll Valley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Swimming pool was a selling point!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here while we visited the Gettysburg area. A bit of a drive in (about 20 min), but well worth it. During the winter the place is a ski resort. During our off time, my kids were in the pool. I loved being able to swim in the pool, keep an eye on my kids, and have a great view of the mountains. Breakfast was great! Staff bent over backwards to be of help. Our family is thinking about returning to snow ski in the near future. Not a huge amount of ammenities, but sufficient for what we needed. Certainly worth a look!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
13
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark DE
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for two days for a wedding in warm weather. Beautiful setting but no walking paths and, other than gold and a swimming pool, not much to do. Rooms clean and good size. Housekeeping very good. Parking a bit odd-parking lot not adjacent to hotel rooms, and no path to walk from lot to hotel. Breakfast buffet ok, but nothing special though the coffee was very good.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the gold course. Good view though golfers, after finishing and before starting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Room very spacious and nice. Seemed recently redone. Beautiful view of golf course. Ate dinner at restaurant at bottom of the hill called Taverna...very good. Saturday my husband golfed...said it was a great course. Breakfast at Tavern on the Green was included both mornings..nice food options to chose from. Would definitely consider going back in the winter with our kids to ski.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Went on superbowl sunday. Report said frozen granular. We skied 2 runs on slush, nicknamed " mash potatoes". Horrible. Saw other slopes from lift that were "open". They had places where the trail was 90% mud. Could not believe these nearly bare slopes could be open. Took a refund after 2 runs. Don't even consider Liberty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night (really more like a motel) while my son and I skied for two days. We stayed in a second floor room facing the slopes.
First, the good...it was close to the slopes. We just walked out from our room to the slopes in our boots. The staff was also very friendly. The free breakfast was good.

Since the room faced into the main "square", it was noisy all day long. The speakers were blaring loud music from morning until around 10 PM. Even with the sliding door closed, it was still a little too noisy to relax in the room. The room itself was pretty basic. There was a new flat-panel TV but no refrigerator. The complex had very minimal amenities.

If it wasn't for the location, we would not stay here again...but it is hard to beat the convenience.

Room Tip: If tranquility is important to you, stay in the rooms facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent island,md
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Price of room and tubing were fair. If you are taking kids, try to bring drinks and at least snacks, on site restaurant is pretty pricey for adult drinks, bring a cooler or use mini fridge. Rooms recently done in golf side hotel. Every single employee on every single level was exceptional, rare to find and they cater to whatever makes your experience best. Nice place, superior service

Room Tip: Golf side hotel just redone
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We think Liberty resort is great for a skiing family looking for a short and convenient ski getaway. For us, it was an hour-and-a-half easy drive up from VA.

The hotel room we had was very basic, and lacked a fridge (most other rooms seem to have one). But we had a view of the mountain, clean and spacious bathroom, and enough room for 2 adults and a roll-away bed for our 3 year old. We had 2 full size beds + roll-away, balcony with view, TV, alarm clock, hair dryer in the room. No coffee maker or M/V, but there is always coffee and tea available in the lobby. Next year, we will opt for one of the larger rooms, with king bed, offered by the hotel.

Wish our room had more shelves/hooks to spread out the ski clothes that needed some drying. Shower head was kind of blah - as far as pressure and amount of water out of it, but bathroom was nice otherwise.

Beds were comfortable to sleep on, but one person at the time – we prefer larger beds, so 2 full size beds for 2 adults suited us better than one queen.

The front desk staff was very helpful, and very nice, genuinely caring for the well-being of their guests.

As guests, we got 10% off lift tickets and rentals, which is helpful.

Breakfast buffet (included with the room) had great selection of hot items (eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, potatoes, etc), plus fruit, juice, cereal or toast. There are generally 2 dining options on-site, and a large food court-type (also the breakfast area) that serves lunch till about 4PM.

Snowmaking and the fact you can ski from 8-9 AM till 10 PM (great lights on the slopes!) turned our 3-nights stay into what felt like at least 5-6 nights with skiing.

Our kid was too young to enjoy ski lessons, which they start at 4 yo (later than we found at other bigger resorts in VT and CO), but we took him on the "bunny slopes" ourselves, and he just loved to ski!

In all, it is a basic and comfortable hotel, and if you know how to have fun in the snow – you will have a good time staying here!

Room Tip: Slope side: you will hear music playing outside until about 10-11 PM, but it has a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf

Address: 78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're most excited about the recent acquisition of neighboring Carroll Valley Resort! Liberty Mountain is now truly a four-season resort with awesome amenities for all ages all year-round! In May of 2010, Carroll Valley Resort became part of Liberty Mountain Resort. With the acquisition of Carroll Valley Resort, we now have more than twice as many hotel rooms; more meeting space for groups, weddings, banquets, reunions; more resort amenities such as a fitness and billiards rooms; more dining options with The Inn at Carroll Valley and Tavern on the Green; and an 18-hole championship golf course and Pro Shop. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.