We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room;good breakfast buffet;good golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Liberty Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Liberty Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice room;good breakfast buffet;good golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed 2 nights. Room very spacious and nice. Seemed recently redone. Beautiful view of golf course. Ate dinner at restaurant at bottom of the hill called Taverna...very good. Saturday my husband golfed...said it was a great course. Breakfast at Tavern on the Green was included both mornings..nice food options to chose from. Would definitely consider going back in the winter with our kids to ski.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Went on superbowl sunday. Report said frozen granular. We skied 2 runs on slush, nicknamed " mash potatoes". Horrible. Saw other slopes from lift that were "open". They had places where the trail was 90% mud. Could not believe these nearly bare slopes could be open. Took a refund after 2 runs. Don't even consider Liberty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night (really more like a motel) while my son and I skied for two days. We stayed in a second floor room facing the slopes.
First, the good...it was close to the slopes. We just walked out from our room to the slopes in our boots. The staff was also very friendly. The free breakfast was good.

Since the room faced into the main "square", it was noisy all day long. The speakers were blaring loud music from morning until around 10 PM. Even with the sliding door closed, it was still a little too noisy to relax in the room. The room itself was pretty basic. There was a new flat-panel TV but no refrigerator. The complex had very minimal amenities.

If it wasn't for the location, we would not stay here again...but it is hard to beat the convenience.

Room Tip: If tranquility is important to you, stay in the rooms facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent island,md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Price of room and tubing were fair. If you are taking kids, try to bring drinks and at least snacks, on site restaurant is pretty pricey for adult drinks, bring a cooler or use mini fridge. Rooms recently done in golf side hotel. Every single employee on every single level was exceptional, rare to find and they cater to whatever makes your experience best. Nice place, superior service

Room Tip: Golf side hotel just redone
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We think Liberty resort is great for a skiing family looking for a short and convenient ski getaway. For us, it was an hour-and-a-half easy drive up from VA.

The hotel room we had was very basic, and lacked a fridge (most other rooms seem to have one). But we had a view of the mountain, clean and spacious bathroom, and enough room for 2 adults and a roll-away bed for our 3 year old. We had 2 full size beds + roll-away, balcony with view, TV, alarm clock, hair dryer in the room. No coffee maker or M/V, but there is always coffee and tea available in the lobby. Next year, we will opt for one of the larger rooms, with king bed, offered by the hotel.

Wish our room had more shelves/hooks to spread out the ski clothes that needed some drying. Shower head was kind of blah - as far as pressure and amount of water out of it, but bathroom was nice otherwise.

Beds were comfortable to sleep on, but one person at the time – we prefer larger beds, so 2 full size beds for 2 adults suited us better than one queen.

The front desk staff was very helpful, and very nice, genuinely caring for the well-being of their guests.

As guests, we got 10% off lift tickets and rentals, which is helpful.

Breakfast buffet (included with the room) had great selection of hot items (eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, potatoes, etc), plus fruit, juice, cereal or toast. There are generally 2 dining options on-site, and a large food court-type (also the breakfast area) that serves lunch till about 4PM.

Snowmaking and the fact you can ski from 8-9 AM till 10 PM (great lights on the slopes!) turned our 3-nights stay into what felt like at least 5-6 nights with skiing.

Our kid was too young to enjoy ski lessons, which they start at 4 yo (later than we found at other bigger resorts in VT and CO), but we took him on the "bunny slopes" ourselves, and he just loved to ski!

In all, it is a basic and comfortable hotel, and if you know how to have fun in the snow – you will have a good time staying here!

Room Tip: Slope side: you will hear music playing outside until about 10-11 PM, but it has a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort for a marriage retreat/ski weekend. We stayed in the "golf side" of the hotel. There are two sides, mountain view and golf view. We checked in on Friday night and found our room very nice. I overheard that the rooms were recently (a year ago) redone. There is NO elevator in the golf side of the hotel, so note if you are on the second floor. We didn't have any trouble hauling our luggage up and down. Also, the parking lot is not very close to these rooms.

As for the hotel room, check out the pictures. All the rooms are very nicely decorated and kept warm. We had a connected balcony with views (over the building) to the mountain. The bathroom was nicely updated and there were even heat lamps!

As far as the resort, it was a snowy weekend, so PERFECT! Rental prices were a bit high. With our group rate, it was still $186 for access to the entire mountain and rentals for two. The restaurants were okay. We ate at the tavern on the green for most lunches. It was a better option and prices were MUCH better. The included breakfast was just okay. They had the typical continental options, plus pre-made eggs, soggy bacon and sausage.

Overall, I was happy with the stay. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. The resort was fun for skiing. We skied on Sunday morning and went snow tubing the night before. Snow tubing was tons of fun. The lanes were VERY slick, so we were only about to tube one at a time. We went tubing for two hours and the lines weren't overly long. Later evenings are less crowded.

Room Tip: In the "golf view" rooms, the building does NOT have an elevator. Second floor rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

rooms at resort were fine a little small but nice. course was nice butt wet considering all rain they had not bad shape. dining was great butt services was even better!!!!!! great golf packages unbelievable value!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort

Address: 78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Mountain Resort is a four season resort located 8 miles south of Gettysburg, PA. Visitors to the resort will enjoy the beautiful mountain setting and multiple activities and amenities. The resort features skiing, snowboarding and snow tubing in the winter months, and an 18 hole championship golf course and huge mountainside outdoor pool in the summer. Year round, the resort's multiple picturesque venues and onsite restaurants and catering, make it the perfect location for weddings, conferences and social and business gatherings. Currently under construction and scheduled to open in the fall of 2015, the Highland Lodge will expand the resorts offerings to include 2 new restaurants, 17 additional hotel rooms and suites, an indoor pool and more social and meeting space. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.