We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Liberty Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Liberty Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

The room and property were fine, however, we had two issues. First, I guess we should've known better, but the weekend clientele are a bunch of fun-seekers. As a result, there are teenagers walking and talking in the corridors at all hours of the night. The walls are thin and we could hear people in the adjoining room. Our room had a balcony, but so did the adjoining one, and we could readily hear the cell phone conversation of an adjoining guest through our sliding glass door while she made a middle-of-the-night call on her balcony. We have two young children (6 & 10) and this was not quite the family-friendly environment we were hoping for (although the ski slopes themselves are very family friendly). However, if you were a high-schooler on the prowl, you'd feel right at home. If you stay here on a weekend, caveat emptor.

One important reason we decided to stay at the hotel was because we wanted to get onto the slopes as soon as they opened at 8:00 AM to beat the crowds. However, the morning food service was not open until 7:30 AM. That makes it tough to finish eating, get all your ski gear on (which we luckily brought with us), and onto the slopes early. There's no way you'd get on the slopes by 8:00 AM if you had to rent equipment, since the rental area does not open until 8:00 AM. Also, the morning food selection was pretty paltry. Essentially, you get a food voucher which you can redeem for mostly continental breakfast food. Hot selections are minimal, pre-wrapped and disappointing.

By contrast, we have also stayed at the nearby Sleep Inn in Emmitsburg (15 mins away), as well as the Country Inn & Suites (25 minutes away) in Gettysburg. These are both nicer and newer properties, the rooms are bigger, they are much quieter, have indoor pools (which Liberty does not), start breakfast at 6:00 AM, and are cheaper. Their breakfasts are better (but not much better), but at least they start early, and in the case of the Sleep Inn, adjoins a McDonald's which opens early.

If you stay midweek, I'm sure the place will be very quiet, and there's probably no need to get onto the slopes by 8:00 AM because there won't be any crowds. If you don't mind a sub par breakfast, then this is a decent lodging option since you can't beat the convenience of staying at the resort.

Note that there are no ski-in/out rooms. You'll need to walk a few hundred yards and negotiate a few flights of stairs to get from your room to the slopes.

  • Liked — proximity to ski slopes
  • Disliked — teens roaming at all hours, late starting time for breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
15
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

I stayed at the resort for a work retreat, and had a very good experience. It is steps away from Ski Liberty, and is in a beautiful, quiet countryside. I recommend requesting a room with a view of the golf course...much nicer than a view of an adjacent hotel. The staff was very helpful, and the rooms, although simply decorated, were cleaner than any hotel I've stayed in. I ate one dinner at the in-house restaurant there and was very satisfied with the menu and the food I ordered.

I'd definitely recommend this for a personal stay...a nice getaway in the country.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Mountain, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

While visiting Gettysburg we stayed at this hotel and were completely satisfied. Our check-in was handled by a very friendly woman and done efficiently. Our room was very large, clean and had excellent amenities. Our king sized bed was comfortable and the pillows were better than the one I had brought with me. The bathroom was also very clean, well lit and there were two grab bars near the toilet which I found very handy. Good A/C, a table with two chairs and a large TV. We had to leave early so we did not sample the breakfast, but we were offered coffee as we checked out at 3:30am. All in all a very nice place that we would recommend and return to.

  • Liked — Great Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

We decided to visit Gettysburg, PA for a short vacation trip. I found Liberty Mountain Resort during an on-line search. This is a ski resort that is open year round. We went during the off-season and were pleasantly surprised.

The resort is located off the beaten path, but the Mapquest directions were perfect. It is nestled in between a ski mountain and golf course. The hotel is modern and well-furnished.

We had a lovely corner room on the 2nd floor. The bathroom is huge and contained all amenities. Plenty of hot water for showers, although the water pressure was a bit light. The room itself has a king size bed, 2 night stands, a dresser, color TV and desk with chair. There is a balcony with 2 chairs and a table so that you can sit out and enjoy the view. Our room faced mountainside, but not all do. The entire hotel is non-smoking.

A light continental breakfast is included with the $97 (taxes included) room charge. We had a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Gettysburg, PA area.

  • Liked — Quality hotel with reasonable rates.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

When looking into choosing a golf resort, my group of 25 friends and I needed a place that could accomodate all of our needs. At Carroll Valley we recieved the best service starting from the minute we pulled into the parking lot. When we started to unload our luggage there was courtesy staff almost immediately to help. When checking in
we got there a little earlier than check-in time, even so, they were able to get almost all of us into our rooms. The course that afternoon was as close to perfect as anyone could ask for. The golf package included our golf, room stay, use of any facilities on site, dinner, and breakfast. The dinner menu had many choices to select from. Even after having all of the other guests and our party of 25, the wait staff was great, and the food came out in a timely fashion. That evening after returning to the room, it was very clean and orderly. When I requested a pillow from the front desk at 10:00 at night, it did not take more than 10 minutes before she was knocking on my door with pillow in hand. Throughout our whole weekend we were greeted like old friends and always told "If you need anything else please just let us know!" After the trip was said and done, I wouldn't hesitate to book with them again. 100 percent satisfaction all around!

  • Liked — The great scenary and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Having to loosen my belt buckle after dinner
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carroll Valley
11.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#9 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,696 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
3.9 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#11 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
8.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#6 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
5.6 mi away
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
#21 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort

Address: 78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Mountain Resort is a four season resort located 8 miles south of Gettysburg, PA. Visitors to the resort will enjoy the beautiful mountain setting and multiple activities and amenities. The resort features skiing, snowboarding and snow tubing in the winter months, and an 18 hole championship golf course and huge mountainside outdoor pool in the summer. Year round, the resort's multiple picturesque venues and onsite restaurants and catering, make it the perfect location for weddings, conferences and social and business gatherings. Currently under construction and scheduled to open in the fall of 2015, the Highland Lodge will expand the resorts offerings to include 2 new restaurants, 17 additional hotel rooms and suites, an indoor pool and more social and meeting space. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.