We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“liberty's snow condition report is bogus” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf to your Saves list
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
PA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“liberty's snow condition report is bogus”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Went on superbowl sunday. Report said frozen granular. We skied 2 runs on slush, nicknamed " mash potatoes". Horrible. Saw other slopes from lift that were "open". They had places where the trail was 90% mud. Could not believe these nearly bare slopes could be open. Took a refund after 2 runs. Don't even consider Liberty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
14
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night (really more like a motel) while my son and I skied for two days. We stayed in a second floor room facing the slopes.
First, the good...it was close to the slopes. We just walked out from our room to the slopes in our boots. The staff was also very friendly. The free breakfast was good.

Since the room faced into the main "square", it was noisy all day long. The speakers were blaring loud music from morning until around 10 PM. Even with the sliding door closed, it was still a little too noisy to relax in the room. The room itself was pretty basic. There was a new flat-panel TV but no refrigerator. The complex had very minimal amenities.

If it wasn't for the location, we would not stay here again...but it is hard to beat the convenience.

Room Tip: If tranquility is important to you, stay in the rooms facing the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent island,md
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Price of room and tubing were fair. If you are taking kids, try to bring drinks and at least snacks, on site restaurant is pretty pricey for adult drinks, bring a cooler or use mini fridge. Rooms recently done in golf side hotel. Every single employee on every single level was exceptional, rare to find and they cater to whatever makes your experience best. Nice place, superior service

Room Tip: Golf side hotel just redone
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We think Liberty resort is great for a skiing family looking for a short and convenient ski getaway. For us, it was an hour-and-a-half easy drive up from VA.

The hotel room we had was very basic, and lacked a fridge (most other rooms seem to have one). But we had a view of the mountain, clean and spacious bathroom, and enough room for 2 adults and a roll-away bed for our 3 year old. We had 2 full size beds + roll-away, balcony with view, TV, alarm clock, hair dryer in the room. No coffee maker or M/V, but there is always coffee and tea available in the lobby. Next year, we will opt for one of the larger rooms, with king bed, offered by the hotel.

Wish our room had more shelves/hooks to spread out the ski clothes that needed some drying. Shower head was kind of blah - as far as pressure and amount of water out of it, but bathroom was nice otherwise.

Beds were comfortable to sleep on, but one person at the time – we prefer larger beds, so 2 full size beds for 2 adults suited us better than one queen.

The front desk staff was very helpful, and very nice, genuinely caring for the well-being of their guests.

As guests, we got 10% off lift tickets and rentals, which is helpful.

Breakfast buffet (included with the room) had great selection of hot items (eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, potatoes, etc), plus fruit, juice, cereal or toast. There are generally 2 dining options on-site, and a large food court-type (also the breakfast area) that serves lunch till about 4PM.

Snowmaking and the fact you can ski from 8-9 AM till 10 PM (great lights on the slopes!) turned our 3-nights stay into what felt like at least 5-6 nights with skiing.

Our kid was too young to enjoy ski lessons, which they start at 4 yo (later than we found at other bigger resorts in VT and CO), but we took him on the "bunny slopes" ourselves, and he just loved to ski!

In all, it is a basic and comfortable hotel, and if you know how to have fun in the snow – you will have a good time staying here!

Room Tip: Slope side: you will hear music playing outside until about 10-11 PM, but it has a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort for a marriage retreat/ski weekend. We stayed in the "golf side" of the hotel. There are two sides, mountain view and golf view. We checked in on Friday night and found our room very nice. I overheard that the rooms were recently (a year ago) redone. There is NO elevator in the golf side of the hotel, so note if you are on the second floor. We didn't have any trouble hauling our luggage up and down. Also, the parking lot is not very close to these rooms.

As for the hotel room, check out the pictures. All the rooms are very nicely decorated and kept warm. We had a connected balcony with views (over the building) to the mountain. The bathroom was nicely updated and there were even heat lamps!

As far as the resort, it was a snowy weekend, so PERFECT! Rental prices were a bit high. With our group rate, it was still $186 for access to the entire mountain and rentals for two. The restaurants were okay. We ate at the tavern on the green for most lunches. It was a better option and prices were MUCH better. The included breakfast was just okay. They had the typical continental options, plus pre-made eggs, soggy bacon and sausage.

Overall, I was happy with the stay. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. The resort was fun for skiing. We skied on Sunday morning and went snow tubing the night before. Snow tubing was tons of fun. The lanes were VERY slick, so we were only about to tube one at a time. We went tubing for two hours and the lines weren't overly long. Later evenings are less crowded.

Room Tip: In the "golf view" rooms, the building does NOT have an elevator. Second floor rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

rooms at resort were fine a little small but nice. course was nice butt wet considering all rain they had not bad shape. dining was great butt services was even better!!!!!! great golf packages unbelievable value!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, fl
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We went to this resort for a wedding and had never heard of it before this affair. My first impression was that if Days Inn had a step down property, this would be it. Not only were the rooms small but they actually had an odor that was not pleasant. Aside from the mountain there are no facilities in the Fall since the pool is outdoors and closed. The food for the wedding rehearsal dinner was the equivilent of bar food but probably not as tasty as your neighborhood taverns free buffet. The fish and chicken were cold with steamed veggies that were easily prepared early in the day and left in a steam table. The sauces tasted bottled and I believe
the entire meal was a total disaster since the manager said to heat it up would only dry it out further. The sad part was it was not cheap and we were embarassed for our guests (we paid). The actual meal for the wedding was somewhat better, but well below the quality of most other wedding venues. Staff was friendly, but this place has nothing much going for it except a mountain--not even
a mini-store to buy a newspaper or toothbrush and they are in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf

Address: 78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're most excited about the recent acquisition of neighboring Carroll Valley Resort! Liberty Mountain is now truly a four-season resort with awesome amenities for all ages all year-round! In May of 2010, Carroll Valley Resort became part of Liberty Mountain Resort. With the acquisition of Carroll Valley Resort, we now have more than twice as many hotel rooms; more meeting space for groups, weddings, banquets, reunions; more resort amenities such as a fitness and billiards rooms; more dining options with The Inn at Carroll Valley and Tavern on the Green; and an 18-hole championship golf course and Pro Shop. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.