We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Ski Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Liberty Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Liberty Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great for a Ski Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort for a marriage retreat/ski weekend. We stayed in the "golf side" of the hotel. There are two sides, mountain view and golf view. We checked in on Friday night and found our room very nice. I overheard that the rooms were recently (a year ago) redone. There is NO elevator in the golf side of the hotel, so note if you are on the second floor. We didn't have any trouble hauling our luggage up and down. Also, the parking lot is not very close to these rooms.

As for the hotel room, check out the pictures. All the rooms are very nicely decorated and kept warm. We had a connected balcony with views (over the building) to the mountain. The bathroom was nicely updated and there were even heat lamps!

As far as the resort, it was a snowy weekend, so PERFECT! Rental prices were a bit high. With our group rate, it was still $186 for access to the entire mountain and rentals for two. The restaurants were okay. We ate at the tavern on the green for most lunches. It was a better option and prices were MUCH better. The included breakfast was just okay. They had the typical continental options, plus pre-made eggs, soggy bacon and sausage.

Overall, I was happy with the stay. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was adequate. The resort was fun for skiing. We skied on Sunday morning and went snow tubing the night before. Snow tubing was tons of fun. The lanes were VERY slick, so we were only about to tube one at a time. We went tubing for two hours and the lines weren't overly long. Later evenings are less crowded.

Room Tip: In the "golf view" rooms, the building does NOT have an elevator. Second floor rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvkevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fairmont, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

rooms at resort were fine a little small but nice. course was nice butt wet considering all rain they had not bad shape. dining was great butt services was even better!!!!!! great golf packages unbelievable value!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, fl
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

We went to this resort for a wedding and had never heard of it before this affair. My first impression was that if Days Inn had a step down property, this would be it. Not only were the rooms small but they actually had an odor that was not pleasant. Aside from the mountain there are no facilities in the Fall since the pool is outdoors and closed. The food for the wedding rehearsal dinner was the equivilent of bar food but probably not as tasty as your neighborhood taverns free buffet. The fish and chicken were cold with steamed veggies that were easily prepared early in the day and left in a steam table. The sauces tasted bottled and I believe
the entire meal was a total disaster since the manager said to heat it up would only dry it out further. The sad part was it was not cheap and we were embarassed for our guests (we paid). The actual meal for the wedding was somewhat better, but well below the quality of most other wedding venues. Staff was friendly, but this place has nothing much going for it except a mountain--not even
a mini-store to buy a newspaper or toothbrush and they are in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beechbum530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, De
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed here for a weekend. If you like golf, then you probably would have a more positive review than mine. I focused on the hotel facility itself. It is NOT a resort. It was pretty much like a Comfort Inn with a pretty nice pool and golf course. Rooms had televisions from 10 years ago. No mini fridge. Poor internet service. On the positive side, very quiet rooms (when we stayed), and pleasant staff , especially in the restaurant area.
But overall, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chia6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed in 3 adjacent rooms for a family getaway to Gettysburg. The hotel is about 15minutes from downtown Gettysburg, which was fine for us. We made use of the lovely pool. We also enjoyed eating in their restaurant which is in the lower level (sandwiches and salads) and stayed late one night for the karaoke. There is a gameroom with pool tables and a game machine or 2. Our stay included a buffet breakfast. We found everything to be very clean and the staff to be very friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shermie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a larger group for a family reunion. The facilities for handling large parties is very good. The outdoor patio, pool, and overall grounds are very accomodating and comfortable. Also, the catered food was very good and the staff was attentive and pleasant. My only small complaint is that the Starbucks in the hotel is not open in the summer.
The rooms are average. When making the reservation, I requested a king room but got a room with double beds and was told there were no more rooms left. The bathroom is a good size and was clean. The shower head was pretty bad but not a huge deal. The carpet and bed spreads in the room needed to be replaced. They seemed old, stained, and/or worn. Also, the pillows are in desperate need of replacement. They are lumpy and uncomfortable. The bed itself was comfortable. Also, each room has a small balcony which is nice. The hotel has wi-fi as well.
The free continental breakfast was good. It included bagels, english muffins, muffins, cereal, fruit, pastries, oatmeal, donuts, coffee, and juice. All was perfect except for the juice - it was watered down each morning and tasted bad. There is also coffee every morning in the hotel lobby.
Overall, we had a pleasant stay. The location is great (15 minutes outside of Gettysburg) and the facilities/grounds are very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blr0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

I took my son to Gettysburg last weekend. After looking at many hotels in the area, Liberty Mountain was offering an off-season special, so I booked it. After a 10 hour drive, I was very pleasantly pleased. The staff was friendly and efficient, the room was fine - very clean. The breakfast was fine and the mountains and hills are beautiful. The trip into Gettysburg was about 7 - 10 minutes and an easy drive. The contrast of visiting Gettysburg but staying outside of it was very nice. I would recommend this hotel, I was very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londongirl46628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carroll Valley
3.9 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
11.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
8.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
5.6 mi away
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Mountain Resort

Address: 78 Country Club Trail, Carroll Valley, PA 17320
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carroll Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carroll Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Liberty Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liberty Mountain Resort is a four season resort located 8 miles south of Gettysburg, PA. Visitors to the resort will enjoy the beautiful mountain setting and multiple activities and amenities. The resort features skiing, snowboarding and snow tubing in the winter months, and an 18 hole championship golf course and huge mountainside outdoor pool in the summer. Year round, the resort's multiple picturesque venues and onsite restaurants and catering, make it the perfect location for weddings, conferences and social and business gatherings. Currently under construction and scheduled to open in the fall of 2015, the Highland Lodge will expand the resorts offerings to include 2 new restaurants, 17 additional hotel rooms and suites, an indoor pool and more social and meeting space. Whether you enjoy skiing, snowboarding, golfing or just relaxing; you'll find Liberty Mountain Resort is a wonderful getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Liberty Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Mountain Resort & Carroll Valley Golf Hotel Carroll Valley
Liberty Mountain Resort And Carroll Valley Golf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing