We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - nice facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - Carnegie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - Carnegie to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - Carnegie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   520 North Bell Ave, Carnegie, PA 15106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnegie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value - nice facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Staff was very friendly and the room was clean and updated. We did not use the kitchen but would be enough if you wanted to cook a small meal. Bathroom was large. They could use a computer for internet used for the customers but the staff looked up information that we needed, We were in area for a family member who was in the hospital and they offered a discount for that reason, I recommend making the reservations directly with Extended Stay. Better rates.
There is no pool or fitness area but was not necessary for us.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was safe and convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
11
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed at the extended stay on a business trip. It's not in the best location. The two girls at the front desk were nice and helpful. But it took over 25 minutes to check into my room because of hotel problems. Once I get to my room there is only one towel. There is no remote for the TV. Cigarette burns on the carpet. And hairs on the toilet seat and in the bathtub. They need to clean and be a little more professional.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

If you are looking for a simple, clean, comfortable place with a kitchen, this is your ticket. It's like having a studio apartment. Great, for example, if you are visiting an elderly relative and can't stay with them. It would be a good place to stay if you were working on a long term project too. I'm not a big fan of ther grab and go breakfast, but you can stock your kitchen and have what you like! So much better than a hotel room.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have stayed in many Extended Stay hotels across the US and this one in Carnegie is also similar in the way they operate, the room styles, amenities and facilities. If you are on a trip where you just need a cost effective place to crash for night, then this place is just apt. If you are on a vacation in Pittsburgh then I wouldn't recommend this place.
The place is close to Bell Avenue bus station so if you want to go Downtown Pittsburgh, then this would be best way. The way towards station is downhill so you won't have a problem but while returning to hotel from station you may not enjoy the uphill climb. I say this is the best way because the cabs are extremely unreliable and most times do not turn up. I reached late for my client meeting because of them. Thankfully its better than losing flight back home. The bus station also direct bus to Pittsburgh International Airport.
And, just like other Extended Stay hotels, the rooms are neat, clean bathrooms, extra towels and soap can be pickup from reception at no extra charge, the kitchenette offers flexibility to those who want to cook. There is vending machine for light snacks, toothbrush/paste, drinks, laundry service and pick&go breakfast i.e. only coffee (no tea), muffins, oat bars and fruits. There is a place called Bob's Diner approximately a mile away which offers very good breakfast if you would like. The Carnegie Coffee Shop opposite to hotel is closed on Sundays.
One thing I disliked about this place is the rooms had stink bugs all around. The hotel says they are harmless however the thought of having all around you disgusts me. They blame the tourists have fiddled with the window nets making space for them to enter, they enter through AC vents....but I feel as a part of maintenance those should have been taken care. Nevertheless, a nice place to stay for a few days !

Room Tip: Check the window nets in the rooms, as stink bugs may come in if they are not secured properly to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Needed a place to stay for one night because we had an event in the area. The pros for this hotel included friendly staff - everyone was personable and helpful. The room was clean and remodeled. The con was because the rooms are equipped for cooking, there are lingering food odors throughout the hallways and in the rooms. The front desk provided us with Febreze, which actually worked well in our room, but as we were leaving in the morning, you could definitely tell people were cooking their breakfast. It is an extended stay hotel with all rooms equipped with kitchens, so it is to be expected. It is not a bad hotel, but if you are sensitive to cooking smells, you would want to look elsewhere. If not, it is a clean, friendly, and reasonably priced hotel. FYI - we have decided to take Febreze with us whenever we travel to freshen up our rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironton, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel staff was either super friendly or very rude. The bathroom of our hotel room was unclean, with soap residue and what looked like dried residue of some sort underneath the toilet. There were stains on the shower curtain and only two towels were provided for four people. The internet speed is very slow, which is inconvenient if you are on business. The room is very nice other than the cleanliness. The kitchen had dishes and provided dish washing soap (although there wasn't any shampoo or conditioner). But the "breakfast" consisted of fist sized muffins and small fruit. The coffee wasn't bad, but I didn't expect to pay $120 a night for muffins and coffee...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Is this hotel in the classiest neighborhood? No. Is it top of the line super fancy? Also no. However, we stayed here the weekend and definitely got our monies worth! Really appreciated the in-room kitchenette! Good eats aren't cheap in Pittsburgh and I think we felt better spending our money elsewhere, rather than pricey food. The kitchenette made it super easy to prepare food there. Quiet despite location - which made being close to the highway convenient, not bothersome! Breakfast was good when we were there. Lots of cereals, muffins, fruit, pastry, oatmeal, and we made our own waffles! :-) Pleased all around. Staff was friendly as well!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - Carnegie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - Carnegie

Address: 520 North Bell Ave, Carnegie, PA 15106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carnegie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carnegie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - Carnegie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - Carnegie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Pittsburgh - Carnegie Hotel Carnegie
Extended Stay America Carnegie
Extended Stay Carnegie
Carnegie Extended Stay
Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - Carnegie PA, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - Carnegie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.