We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will not go back here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17015   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Carlisle
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“I will not go back here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, the good: our room was very clean and tidy and the bed was very comfortable.

Now the bad: the place is showing its age, as the door had to be shoved hard to close; there were tiles off the baseboard in the bathroom; the paint job in the bathroom had not been finished; there was no plug in the sink, so shaving consisted of having to let the tap run; where there once had been a kleenex box attached to the wood below the sink, there were only holes where it had been removed and there was no kleenex box in the room; the towels were thin; and, finally, the clock made continuous static sounds, which could be eliminated only by pulling the power plug on the clock - it also had been damaged, witness the plastic frame around the time display was off and left sitting beside the clock.

I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to write us a very insightful review. However, our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience during your stay in our hotel. We are committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests, your feedback will help us correct and improve our services to better achieve our primary goal. We hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    4
    1
    10
See reviews for
6
5
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ethridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was passing through for a night. The room was nice, a bit small but just fine. There was small fridge, old style TV in a nice cabinet. The bed was comfortable, not too hard, there were only 2 pillows and were a touch flatter but was good. The bathroom was clean and no issue. All in all the room was nice.

The hotel has outside entry into the rooms and there was a very large parking area on the east side of the building. Very ease entry and exit for large trucks and trailers no problem. There is also a Bob Evans restaurant within walking distance

The gentleman at the desk was very helpful and friendly, along with excellent service. The pricing was very reasonable for the area.

Room Tip: Had a room on the lower level on East side for easier access with large trucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and share your experience. It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with all of our services and amenities such as the small fridge, nice cabinet, comfortable bed and clean bathroom. We are also happy to hear that you found the location to be so convenient for your needs. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, our high standards of housekeeping and our friendly, helpful, and welcoming staff. We appreciate that you have taken the time to give tips for future guests who can benefit from such advice. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations of service and accommodations and we're all looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Cove, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

The Inn had just been renovated and under new management. Nice staff, clean room, comfortable beds. The clerk was most helpful in seeing that our needs were met. The continental breakfast was good with a variety of choices. The price was reasonable. The Inn is easy access off Interstate 81 and near gas stations and food areas. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
It is very rewarding to hear from you on this matter and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. I am so glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and the service. We are also very happy that you found our location to be convenient. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This hotel is an amazing value. The rooms are all new and clean. The furnishings and decor are equal to any of the Holiday Inn Express rooms I've experienced.
The staff is wonderfully accomidating. We had to check out before the continental breakfast so they left a message with the night guy to put the coffee on early. The coffee was hot and ready when we were leaving at 3am.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your compliments, rating, and review of our high housekeeping and cleanliness standards. It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with all of our services and amenities. I am so glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and the service. We enjoy sharing these reviews with our staff and we all look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Delightful accomodations. We had to get off the road during a huge storm and stayed here. Clerk was very friendy, helpful & sincere. He offered us advice on local points of interest. He gave us a room in the back, away from the highway noise, which was much appreciated. Continental breakfast was fine. Room was very clean & comfortable. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the cleanliness and comfort of your room. We hope to see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Factoryville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This room was not in good condition.
The bed with stained sheets, and 1 flat hard pillow wasn't too bad for a nights sleep.
There was an ice bucket very dirty with no bags.
Bathroom was nasty with the cheapest of cheap toilet paper, stained towels, shampoo bottle was from a clarion hotel and looked as though its been refilled a few times.
Television was available, although if laying in bed you couldn't watch it as it was below foot level and with one flat pillow there's was nothing to prop yourself up on to watch.
The dead bolt wouldn't latch the old style chain lock was loose with only two of it's four screws remaining.
Sign out front claims new rooms - well I don't know where they were our room may have indeed at one time been new, but it was sure no time in recent history.
I'd definitely pass this place by next time. I can overlook allot ,but stains, dirt, in general state of disrepair I cannot over look.
To top this off the management wouldn't refund a penny because I booked online I said well the place is nasty, and not what you advertised. I left, and will continue this fight with corporate.

Room Tip: I don't know that there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We value your opinion and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

while I stayed at this location for two days it was horrible. I left to stay at the holiday inn express. first I had no towels in my room, then I had a half filled shampoo bottle and no soap, my remote control did not work nor did my phone. the floor was not even vacuumed. and my bed sheets where stained. I went to talk to the front desk and no one was there. there was a phone saying to call them. what kind of service is that? then when he did show up it looked like he was sleeping and put a facial cream on. and I could not even understand him. how are you supposed to run a business if you can't speak English. they helped with nothing. I will take my business else where. and breakfast food was stale.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Here at Americas Best Value Inn, we take great pride in offering our guests a comfortable, quality stay. We still cannot understand how everything was wrong in your room. We went back and checked the room and there were no stained sheets, the tv was working fine and the shampoo and soaps were intact. We also don't understand why you would suggest our breakfast was stale, when you didn't t stay at the property. We understand if for some reason you did not want to stay with us, but we have a nice property here that we spent an entire year and lots of money renovating. We are trying very hard to introduce it to our community and its visitors to show them a better hotel than our predecessor. We are even undergoing a lobby renovation to make it even more pleasurable and updated for our guests. We do however apologize for our front desk person leaving a note that day because we had a broken pipe in one of our rooms due to the cold weather and we needed all staff to help. Again, we apologize for any reason you did not find our property satisfactory, but do hope, if you ever return, you will find it a comfortable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1460 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17015
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Carlisle, PA. Located in Cumberland County, the city offers a glimpse of history in a scenic rural setting. Check out the Carlisle Auto Show held throughout the year. It is one of the world's largest presenters of collector car, truck, and motorcycle entertainment. Our hotel is located minutes from Penn State Dickinson School of Law, the oldest law school in Pennsylvania. Visitors to the area will enjoy the many points of interest the area has to offer, including the Military History Institute, Appalachian Trail, Williams Grove Speedway, and US Army War College Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Carlisle
Carlisle Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.