We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There was a Bed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1460 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17015   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Factoryville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There was a Bed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This room was not in good condition.
The bed with stained sheets, and 1 flat hard pillow wasn't too bad for a nights sleep.
There was an ice bucket very dirty with no bags.
Bathroom was nasty with the cheapest of cheap toilet paper, stained towels, shampoo bottle was from a clarion hotel and looked as though its been refilled a few times.
Television was available, although if laying in bed you couldn't watch it as it was below foot level and with one flat pillow there's was nothing to prop yourself up on to watch.
The dead bolt wouldn't latch the old style chain lock was loose with only two of it's four screws remaining.
Sign out front claims new rooms - well I don't know where they were our room may have indeed at one time been new, but it was sure no time in recent history.
I'd definitely pass this place by next time. I can overlook allot ,but stains, dirt, in general state of disrepair I cannot over look.
To top this off the management wouldn't refund a penny because I booked online I said well the place is nasty, and not what you advertised. I left, and will continue this fight with corporate.

Room Tip: I don't know that there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We value your opinion and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    8
    2
    10
See reviews for
8
6
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

while I stayed at this location for two days it was horrible. I left to stay at the holiday inn express. first I had no towels in my room, then I had a half filled shampoo bottle and no soap, my remote control did not work nor did my phone. the floor was not even vacuumed. and my bed sheets where stained. I went to talk to the front desk and no one was there. there was a phone saying to call them. what kind of service is that? then when he did show up it looked like he was sleeping and put a facial cream on. and I could not even understand him. how are you supposed to run a business if you can't speak English. they helped with nothing. I will take my business else where. and breakfast food was stale.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Here at Americas Best Value Inn, we take great pride in offering our guests a comfortable, quality stay. We still cannot understand how everything was wrong in your room. We went back and checked the room and there were no stained sheets, the tv was working fine and the shampoo and soaps were intact. We also don't understand why you would suggest our breakfast was stale, when you didn't t stay at the property. We understand if for some reason you did not want to stay with us, but we have a nice property here that we spent an entire year and lots of money renovating. We are trying very hard to introduce it to our community and its visitors to show them a better hotel than our predecessor. We are even undergoing a lobby renovation to make it even more pleasurable and updated for our guests. We do however apologize for our front desk person leaving a note that day because we had a broken pipe in one of our rooms due to the cold weather and we needed all staff to help. Again, we apologize for any reason you did not find our property satisfactory, but do hope, if you ever return, you will find it a comfortable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I came and rented a weekly room on Thursday to check out next Friday. We agree on a rate of $300 with a pet fee. They charge my card and I think all is good until Wed comes around when they tell me I checked in Wed And need to check out or pay two more days. After Being told check out was Friday. After being called an harassed they made us pay another $100 bucks. I should have stayed at the Travel lodge where they offered $250 for the week with the pet. This place looked nicer, but I rather take older rooms than being cussed out, harassed even after you show proof of when you checked in. They Kept saying the computer does not lie, I asked to pull cameras and showed them I was in another state on Wed, even show them the time my card was swiped. This is family owned & I was never able to talk to an owner only his nephews who almost jumped over the counter calling me a lie. Even with a bank statement showing we came on Thursday to check out Friday. I was told all week everything was good, then they basically hassled me & told they would charge my card if I did not pay 2 more nights ( even though we were leaving Friday at check out. I had to pay for 9 nights. No ice or vending on site. Rude owners. Worst experience ever. I always review nice, this was just horrible. Also small bugs in room and water took 10 min to get hot.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for writing this review, and staying with us. We understand that the clerk was being uncooperative and,I would like you to know to that, the host was let go of, and much friendlier clerks have been added to our team since. The insects you found in your room do tend to sometimes make their way in when the door is being opened and closed, but we would have been glad to take care of it if notified. I hope you are willing to give us another try because we would love to have you.

Regards,
Steve Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Needs a little more lighting. But the stay was wonderful. The on site manager Jon was great. Very kind and accommodating. Ive been coming there for years and by far this time was great. Great rooms very clean and slept well. I think the new ownership will do well. But they can use new tvs.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are so happy you appreciate our newly renovated property. We are trying very hard to make our guests feel at home. We are continuously working on improving our property and this spring you will see a new lobby, new curtains and new bedding. We will be replacing TVs in the future. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our air conditioner broke we stopped here, was hesitant at first because we have stayed in am, best value inns before, and they were NOT good,,,,this one at Carlisle pa, wasGREAT!!, if we r ever back in this area will stay here again, would even drive a little out of our way to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We are so glad we were here for you when you needed us! Since we have renovated our rooms with new mattresses, carpeting, furniture etc., we are getting a lot of compliments from guests like you. We take great pride in our property and always look forward to making our guests feel comfortable and welcome. Thanks again!...and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Its a great place and this is a nice clean, not expensive place to stay.
Rooms have new furniture and very spacious. The stuff is friendly and helped me find my way around. Will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVICarlislePA, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave such a nice review. We do have a courteous staff and great housekeepers and are very proud of our property. Being new to this brand and this town, we are trying hard to satisfy all of our guests and provide you with a clean, comfortable, quality stay at affordable rates! Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on that place and it was really nice place the staff was really help full and room was really clean. Bed is really new and I had a good sleep I really like to go back again. And the best thing rate is really and with good breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 27 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle North
Days Inn Carlisle North
#9 of 27 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle
Travelodge Carlisle
#16 of 27 in Carlisle
3.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 27 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
BEST WESTERN Carlisle
#10 of 27 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Carlisle
Econo Lodge Carlisle
#18 of 27 in Carlisle
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1460 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Carlisle, PA. Located in Cumberland County, the city offers a glimpse of history in a scenic rural setting. Check out the Carlisle Auto Show held throughout the year. It is one of the world's largest presenters of collector car, truck, and motorcycle entertainment. Our hotel is located minutes from Penn State Dickinson School of Law, the oldest law school in Pennsylvania. Visitors to the area will enjoy the many points of interest the area has to offer, including the Military History Institute, Appalachian Trail, Williams Grove Speedway, and US Army War College Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Carlisle
Carlisle Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.