We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back Door Cafe

Back Door Cafe
156 W High St, Carlisle, PA 17013-2924
717-249-4310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 138 Restaurants in Carlisle
Restaurant details
Carlisle, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Excellent food, individually made. A great friendly place that has been locally owned and operated since the 80s. One of the best places to eat the area! This is real food , not greasy or sloppily made. Refreshing menu selections.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It was actually one of my children who asked to go here after a visit with another family which she really enjoyed, so off we went !!! It was a lovely evening so we sat outside in the small courtyard with a view of the kitchen. My girls thought it was great watching their dinner made. Lots of fresh food on the menu, some wonderful flavors, massive desserts and prompt service. Plenty of vegetarian options too. Will be back with a bottle of wine next time !!! PS-none of us tried the soups.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Holly Springs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Hidden gem with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great prices, delicious fresh food for the whole family or for a date. Love it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Third time here this year....as my sons say "its a keeper" mom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Great food, great prices. My family first went here last September. My 9 year old, who can pick ANY place he wants to eat at for his birthday dinner picked Back Door Cafe in December. The kids drinks are specialy named pink panther and darth vader. The food is great, My family, friends, and I haven't had a bad choice yet! Located near the public library parking is never a problem. Dickinson College is nearby and the students also seem to like the food there as some are always there when I go.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I've been going to the Back Door for years. It's a great locally owned, small restaurant that serves a wonderful selection of soups, sandwiches, and pizzas/calzones. The space is cozy, especially in colder weather when the fireplace is lit.
This isn't gourmet food nor do they pretend it to be. Just creative, good, fresh food.
This establishment is usually quite busy over the lunch hour so you may want to get there on the early side if time is an issue. They also offer take out, which I do on occasion.
There are usually daily specials to choose from. We've tried the soups many times and particularly appreciate the "combos" of 1/2 sandwich with either salad or soup. I also love the "Happy Trails" salad, which is a delicious tuna salad served with salad greens, raisens, almonds. Have also gotten the tuna grinder (very good) with either salad or soup, depending on the day's special soup choices. Family members have opted for both the pizza and the calzone and have said they were very good.
Honestly, you can't go wrong here. Very good. Local. Fresh. And the owner is friendly and usually on site. Go and Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Door Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Back Door Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Door Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.