We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and a little different - in a good way.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George's Sub & Pizza Shop

George's Sub & Pizza Shop
121 W High St, Carlisle, PA 17013
(717) 243-5809
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 122 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty and a little different - in a good way.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here. The mumble wings were delicious. I thought it came with potato wedges but we got mashed potatoes and chicken gravy. The Italian sub on a homemade roll was very good. The decor is unique. I'd come back in a heartbeat.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newville, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great SUBS...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

love the toasted subs. I do eat at the chain sub stores as well, but this is old-time hand made with whatever you want in it, and toasted in the pizza oven.
...sorry, but not overly found of the pizza

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Still worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The subs here are still just as tasty as I remembered them. If you are not from the area be sure to order an option with relish. Very unique, I miss it a great deal. The interior was revamped, no more religious quotations. Enjoyed the many pictures and memories of Carlisle. It was dirty on our visit, enough to give me pause.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“SMALL TOWN FAVORITE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Excellent subs and pizza! Be sure to ask for the "Carlisle Roll" if you want one of their delicious "homemade" types of rolls, they're great! And read up on the original owner, George while there. Small, but cozy!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Carlisle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Crust was crunchy, not to thin, not to thick and home made. Sauce and toppings made it a delectable pie. Salad was fresh and HUGE!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Sub & Pizza Shop also viewed

 

Been to George's Sub & Pizza Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George's Sub & Pizza Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.