We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but nothing to make me have to come again.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fay's Country Kitchen

Fay's Country Kitchen
203 S Hanover St, Carlisle, PA 17013-3914
717-243-5510
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 138 Restaurants in Carlisle
Restaurant details
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food, but nothing to make me have to come again.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The food was not bad, nor was it great. I return to a restaurant because I must have something again, or am eager to explore a new dish. I will go back because it is a favorite of some of my friends.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshall Islands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Slow, Cold, and Wrong”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice staff but food was slow to arrive, then was cold and the food was prepared poorly ie Rueben sandwich made without sauerkraut and less than dozen fries per plate! We told the cashier she said sorry then charged us full price! I'd recommend Middlesex Diner as a much better alternative!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Poor choice.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

When I saw rating on tripadvisor 7/79 restaurants I was encouraged to Ho check it out. I believe the 9 was dropped out by mistake. The worst place in carlisle at all. Agree with the person who gave terrible review. However to give them credits for their service, the hosts were very friendly and welcoming. This is by far the only positive thing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“$28 for Breakfast for 1 Adult and 2 Kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Decent food. Nothing to write home about but it's not difficult to prepare breakfast. Cute atmosphere and very good service. However, the breakfast bill for 1 adult, an 8 year old and a 3 year old was $28.00, not including the tip...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Breakfast with Friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The atmosphere at Fay's was fun and met expectations for a country style restaurant. We were hoping the food would be good old fashioned home made breakfast but left a bit disappointed. The corn beef has is not homemade and the breakfast items waffles, pancakes were just ok.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fay's Country Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Fay's Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fay's Country Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.