We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Ice Cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leo's Homemade Ice Cream

Leo's Homemade Ice Cream
816 W High Street, Side, Carlisle, PA 17015-9718
+1 717-960-0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Ice Cream in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Dining options: Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

This place has the best ice cream in the big metropolitan Harrisburg area. Every flavor I've tried is excellent. My favorites are:
Coffee Chocolate Chip - What a great combination. Tastes like it sounds.
Almond Joy - Again tastes just like it sounds. Also a favorite of several of my friends and it has been known to inspire an exhuberant "happy dance" when I bring it home.
Salt Caramel - Their signature combination. Delicious!
Since they moved to this location they're open year round.
I like to buy their pints and take them home to serve our dinner guests - netting their rave reviews.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    12
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Leo's Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

This is an amazing ice cream store! Everyone I know wants to go to Leo's for dessert. The ice cream is superb! The coffee ice cream is a must! The restaurant itself is perfect! You can sit inside or out. I've been there with family, friends and even just with my husband and it's great for every occasion. It's decorated very tastefully. There's even an atm right inside the store as soon as you walk in. We love it!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Ice Cream Parlor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Great ice cream. Love the different flavors. All home made. I have never been disappointed in my selection.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Leo's isn't much to look at, but don't let that fool you. We have been fans for several years and have never been disappointed by the quality or the variety of the ice cream. Having moved to a more spacious location but no more scenic, the somewhat larger venue still provides quick and friendly service. Ignore the railroad embankment and the asphalt parking lot (more spacious), and the linoleum-floored inside area. It is clean, well-lighted and, of course, offers a delicious product. If you are a fan of coffee ice cream, try the coffee chocolate chip, with excellent flavor and loaded with crunchy chocolate chips. The regular chocolate is smooth and creamy, and the coconut has excellent flavor. We haven't had the courage to try the cornbread ice cream yet, but who knows, it is probably as good as all the other Leo's products!

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The (Ice) Cream of The Crop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This is not a meal-serving restaurant, although you could happily make a meal out of their fabulous ice creams. Can't say enough good about all of their flavors! All of them are displayed and free samples are happily provided. Service is friendly and quick. There is ample seating inside but the real attention getter is the very nice outdoor seating area. Chairs, tables, and picnic tables abound, some under cover. Access to the facility is easy, off of both a main thoroughfare and two side streets, yet traffic is not a problem. Leo's has been our favorite place for ice cream for quite some time.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Leo's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leo's Homemade Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.