We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Ice Cream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leo's Homemade Ice Cream

Leo's Homemade Ice Cream
816 W High Street, Side, Carlisle, PA 17015-9718
+1 717-960-0000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 131 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Dining options: Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a nice Ice Cream Place located in Carlisle, PA. They have a fairly unusual selection of flavors and the ice cream is very good. However, there is a sign out front saying that it was voted in the top ten Ice cream places in America. It is good but not that good. It is even much better than average but still falls short of the highest :level. The Value is very good for the high quality ice cream and the reasonable prices. The have some seating outside but nothing inside. Overall a nice place to get some above average ice cream.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    13
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“My wife's favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We live within walking distance of a landmark ice cream shop in Mechanicsburg, and while I like their ice cream, my wife and I both prefer Leo's. Leo's ice cream is more dense and creamier, and they have some of the most unique flavors I've seen. We've been there several times, and have never been disappointed. The reason I rated 4 vice 5 stars is that the location isn't the most aesthetic, as the place is surrounded by rusty buildings and machinery. I prefer to eat facing the road under the canopy rather than looking at the rundown structures. Leo's building itself is attractive and well-kept. But if you close your eyes and imagine yourself in your favorite spot, you won't find a better ice cream to take with you. We used to have a frozen custard place in town, and this ice cream reminds me of that consistency.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Won't disappoint you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Traveled up to Carlisle for an event for my kids last weekend....but we had to stop at Leo's before we could leave! Fantastic ice cream. No guarantees that they will have the same flavor every time you visit them....it is made by the company and the flavors rotate!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic , try the Cinnamon Oreo ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

it was all good , no complaints . I had the waffle cone with Cinnamon , Cinnamon Oreo and the Expresso flavors. Service was fast and the place looked clean. Nice employees .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ice Cream at Its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Leo's ice cream shop is a great destination! The flavors are varied and creative, and the taste can't be beat. Tom works hard to turn out a really good product and gives local young people a funky, fun place to work. The outside garden is delightful on a warm evening.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo's Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Leo's Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leo's Homemade Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.