We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful place to stay after a long day of driving.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   148 S. Hanover St., Carlisle, PA 17013-3420   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free EV Charge
Ranked #2 of 6 Carlisle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montpelier, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A delightful place to stay after a long day of driving.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

My daughter and I were delighted to find The Carlisle House Bed and Breakfast after a long day of driving on I-81. The owners were warm and welcoming, the room inviting and comfortable, the breakfast delicious. I have recommended the Carlisle to friends and family as a wonderful place to spend the night on the drive south from Vermont to warmer winter climates. I will absolutely be back to the Carlisle House Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    20
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
124
150
30
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

The Carlisle was fantastic. My best friend and I decided to do a weekend away in PA and decided on the Carlisle and it was the best decision!!! Everything was great couldn't have asked for a better place to stay!!!!! We were already starting to decide on when to go back before we go out of the parking lot to head home. We were made to feel like it was home away from home. If you are heading to Carlisle, PA you must stay at the Carlisle bed and breakfast. Mary and Alan are the best host ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

This is my fourth trip to this great bed & breakfast. I travel to Carlilse a few times per year and now that I have found the Carlisle House, I won't be staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Had everything I needed. Hosts were friendly and informative. Went out of their way to help when I locked myself out one evening. Breakfasts were delicious and other guests were interesting and friendly. Wish I knew about this four years ago when my daughter started at Dickinson College. Neighborhood was quiet and pretty, took a nice walk there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Our group of seven stayed for two nights. Mary and Alan are excellent hosts. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. The breakfast is outstanding. We plan to be in Carlisle again and will definitely stay at the Carlsle House.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

My son and I stayed for one night. We really enjoyed it- everything from being greeted at the front door by Alan to the interesting conversation at the breakfast table. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Just back from a college tour, and my 17-year-old daughter, my mother and me were all totally charmed by this inn, by owners Mary and Alan, by the Colonial town of Carlisle, and by Dickinson College. The historic house is handsomely fitted out and not too cutesy, and Mary and Alan are helpful and friendly while respecting the guests' privacy (this doesn't always happen at B&Bs). Breakfast was excellent, rooms were comfortable and well equipped, and it was great to just walk out the door to explore the town and the college.

Our only disappointment was the food at Piatto-- a lovely spot, but the food was not very good. Next time we'll try Amy's Thai.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 148 S. Hanover St., Carlisle, PA 17013-3420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Select Registry Bed and Breakfast experience in a historic 1826 Carlisle home just a half-mile from I-81 and three miles from I-76, the PA Turnpike. Located in the Downtown Carlisle Historic District, voted "Best of Carlisle" 2004 through 2013,4 blocks from Dickinson College, 1 mile from Fairgrounds and Carlisle Barracks, a stroll to fabulous restaurants, stores, Historical Society & Museum, Theater. Gettysburg 40 mins, Harrisburg 35 mins, Hershey 45 mins, Washington DC 2 hours, Baltimore 2 hours, New York 3.5 Hours, Philadelphia 2.5 Hours, Pittsburgh 3.5 Hours. Bring your Electric Vehicle and enjoy a FREE Charge from our Level 2 Charger until December 31, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle House Hotel Carlisle
Carlisle House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.