We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in the middle of historic Carlisle!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   148 S. Hanover St., Carlisle, PA 17013-3420   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free EV Charge
Ranked #2 of 6 Carlisle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful B&B in the middle of historic Carlisle!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Alan and Mary were wonderful hosts with exceptional eye for detail and comfort! You won't find a more delightful place to stay. The breakfast was simple, but elegant. I will return with my entire family next time. Thank you Alan and Mary!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    21
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
125
150
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Staying at the Carlisle Inn was like going home to my grandmother's. The welcome was both gracious and warm. Breakfast was yummy and probably the best blueberry bread ever. Comfortable beds, great decor, who could ask for anything more?

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

When you stay with Alan and Mary, you genuinely feel like you're staying with family. The rooms are exquisite and the entire Inn is packed with history; a truly relaxing yet intriguing stay. The Inn is within walking distance of historical downtown Carlisle, where there are many multicultural restaurants, charming shops and entertainment sites. This is a Must Do, for both first-timers and frequent travelers.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jessie's Room but did have the opportunity to look at a couple of others that were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Mary and Alan are charming innkeepers and we had a delightful stay with them. The rooms are nicely appointed with lovely bath amenities and breakfast was delightful. I would recommend the Carlisle House to anybody looking for a lovely place to stay in Carlisle.

Room Tip: Several of the rooms are actually 2-room suites, so if you are traveling with family, check with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have been staying at the Carlisle House since we can't remember - 6 or 7 years - every time we go up to PA to see friends and to get away from it all. For us, it's just a 2 hour drive and it always seems like it's a true getaway, even though we know the place pretty well. Alan and Mary who own the B&B are just fabulous and always welcome us like we are coming home. There is always that fantastic breakfast to wake up to after a great night's sleep. And we always meet some great people at breakfast. I love the fact that Alan and Mary take so much time getting to know different places for eating, drinking and general tourist activity. Sometimes we just go up to eat and drink and sleep though...which is fun too. You can make tea, coffee and have a biscuit or too in their public area upstairs or watch a dvd in your room. We just came back from their 2 for 1 January event. And hated to leave....:)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanandMary, Owner at Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Such delightful VERY regular guests! We are so glad your permanent move back to Australia was REALLY just temporary : ). You two always bring such conviviality to our Carlisle House as you share your adventures and stories. You help new guests become regulars each time you visit. See you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is my second stay at the Carlisle House and it was as wonderful as the first. It has many amenities such as free wifi and parking and restaurants within walking distance. Having stayed in many B&Bs this one is special because of all the details. The owners, Mary and Alan, are always (I mean ALWAYS) available by cell and live on the property. They have thought of everything including night lights in bathrooms and menus for local restaurants. We enjoyed that they have a "family room" of sorts where you can be together without being in the room. I could go on about the wonderful breakfast and complimentary water and juice in rooms. They really do their best at making your stay wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanandMary, Owner at Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thanks so much to all the Fabs. We appreciate that you notice all the little extras. We get many ideas for those from our guests and other Select Registry Innkeepers. We hope to see you Valentine's Weekend when our guests will get 2 of our handmade Deneen mugs with a two-night reservation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast before, but my travelling companion had. We were only going to spend one night at the Carlisle House B&B on our way to Norfolk, VA, but I had looked forward to that part of my trip for a while. I was certainly not disappointed. The owners,Mary and Alan, were warm, personable and full of information about the area. The B&B was delightful. Mary showed us around and we talked about the artwork within the home and immediately we felt welcomed. Our room was adorable, extremely clean and nice and warm. Carlisle was in the midst of a bad cold spell, but you'd never know it inside the Carlisle House. The breakfast was delicious and I enjoyed talking to the other guests as well as Alan who came in to chat with us. I would stay at the Carlisle House B&B again in heartbeat. You will not be disappointed. Mary and Alan were professional, yet made us feel as though we were family. You will be enchanted by your stay at this B&B. I was.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 148 S. Hanover St., Carlisle, PA 17013-3420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Select Registry Bed and Breakfast experience in a historic 1826 Carlisle home just a half-mile from I-81 and three miles from I-76, the PA Turnpike. Located in the Downtown Carlisle Historic District, voted "Best of Carlisle" 2004 through 2013,4 blocks from Dickinson College, 1 mile from Fairgrounds and Carlisle Barracks, a stroll to fabulous restaurants, stores, Historical Society & Museum, Theater. Gettysburg 40 mins, Harrisburg 35 mins, Hershey 45 mins, Washington DC 2 hours, Baltimore 2 hours, New York 3.5 Hours, Philadelphia 2.5 Hours, Pittsburgh 3.5 Hours. Bring your Electric Vehicle and enjoy a FREE Charge from our Level 2 Charger until December 31, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle House Hotel Carlisle
Carlisle House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.