We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful charm and personality - you can't get this in any hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   148 S. Hanover St., Carlisle, PA 17013-3420   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Carlisle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alabama
1 review
“Wonderful charm and personality - you can't get this in any hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

We loved the atmosphere of a touch of history with all the modern day conveniences. The personal attention and care of Mary and Alan to "customize" our stay to our needs made our stay special as we considered Dickinson College for my daughter's college choice. We were sold on The Carlisle House from the minute we arrived. Close to the college, close to numerous local restaurants and a home away from home atmosphere made it the perfect choice to win our hearts for Carlisle and Dickinson College!

  • Liked — Atmosphere -close to college
  • Disliked — got a little warm upstairs
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    19
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
117
139
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haymarket, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

This was our third stay at The Carlisle House this year. All have been perfect in every way. The house is gorgeous and the owners have assured every comfort in the guest rooms. We've enjoyed both the Hayes Suite and the Rose Room -- both extremely comfortable. The others look lovely as well. Mary and Alan are warm and welcoming, and strike just the right balance of friendliness and professionalism. The breakfasts are wonderful, and we've really enjoyed sharing the breakfast table with the wide range of interesting people who are also making The Carlisle House their home away from home. We've already scheduled our next month's visit.

  • Liked — How comfortable the Alan & Mary made us feel.
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2008

Very nice place- accommodating hosts. Excellent breakfast!!
Stayed on the third floor and the noise from street traffic woke me up on several occasions. Try to get a room on the back side.
Plenty of offstreet parking. Walking distance to several bars and restaurants.
Very clean and well decorated.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

Mary and Alan are the perfect hosts: the welcome you warmly, and provide a clean, comfortable and charming setting for their guests. Unexpected treats, such as complimentary beverages and fruits, are provided, and the breakfasts are so delicious: the best quiche repetoire ever, homemade muffins as light as air, juices, wonderful coffees and tea.
They are always available to provide whatever you need, including info/reservations on restaurants, antiquing, sightseeing, local history, books, videos from their library, etc. All of this is done in the most relaxed and effortless manner,and because of this, one feels quite at home. We always look forward to going back.
I think their guests feel (as we do), that they are returning to see friends.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

The Carlisle House was the perfect place to stay while my daughter was visiting Dickinson. Mary and Alan are the most congenial hosts and were helpful in every imaginable way. Due to a last minute booking, I stayed in two different rooms. Both were charming, comfortable and impeccably clean. It felt like the Carlisle House was a home away from home--only more relaxing because I didn't have to cook! Since my daughter has now decided to attend Dickinson, I can now look forward to staying at this lovely place again.

  • Liked — Friendliness of hosts
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

Stayed at the Carlisle House for one night on a long road trip form Canada to Florida at the end of March.

It is a pleasant and comfortable property, but we found our room (Ewing Room) noisy, and did not sleep well. The room is on the ground floor, facing a busy street. The insulating window panes do not seem to block out the noise, and the clanking of an old iron radiator pipe all night made matters worse! Decor is '80's (and I mean 1980's) A room at the back of the house would no doubt have been a better choice.

The bed was very comfortable, bathroom facilities fine, with large tub and double shower in the bedroom itself. Breakfast was excellent - the high point of our stay.

Had dinner at a very nice Italian restaurant within easy walking distance.

  • Liked — Wonderful breakfast, easy access from highway, private parking
  • Disliked — Street noise in front-facing room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

My daughter and I recently stayed at The Carlisle House and had a lovely experience. Our room was big, well appointed and very clean. The breakfast was delicious and our hosts were warm and hospitable. We will definitely go back.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 148 S. Hanover St., Carlisle, PA 17013-3420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique Select Registry Bed and Breakfast experience in a historic 1826 Carlisle home just a half-mile from I-81 and three miles from I-76, the PA Turnpike. Located in the Downtown Carlisle Historic District, voted "Best of Carlisle" 2004 through 2013,4 blocks from Dickinson College, 1 mile from Fairgrounds and Carlisle Barracks, a stroll to fabulous restaurants, stores, Historical Society & Museum, Theater. Gettysburg 40 mins, Harrisburg 35 mins, Hershey 45 mins, Washington DC 2 hours, Baltimore 2 hours, New York 3.5 hours, Philadelphia 2.5 hours, Pittsburgh 3.5 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle House Hotel Carlisle
Carlisle House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.