We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Sites are Way Too Small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Western Village RV Park

Western Village RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlisle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Western Village RV Park
Save
You added Western Village RV Park to your Saves list
200 Greenview Drive, Carlisle, PA 17013   |  
Hotel amenities
Birdsboro, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Many Sites are Way Too Small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here Memorial Day Weekend, 2012. Overall this is a nice campground. Checking in went smoothly and directions to the site were good. (They take you the direction which is easier to back into your site) The pool is decent. The grounds were mowed and well maintained. Permanent sites were all well maintained. The miniature golf was what you'd expect for a small campground (the 5 kids in our group described it as "lame"), the game room was small but cute, a small pavilion that is also nice. The bathhouse closest to our site was not very nice. Showers are inadequate and lack privacy. The water connections each have 4 connections that are shared so they may not be close to you. I had to purchase another hose to reach our camper. Most sites provide shade. My biggest criticism is that the sites are too close and too small. My neighbor’s awning was literally 2" off my slide. 70% of the sites are on top of each other. Some of the sites are adjacent to a mowed field or a parking area which helps but overall the sites were way too tight for us. The site speed limit is 5mph. Since the sites are so tight it is enforced. Our permanent neighbor literally vaulted over a chair and sprinted 50 yards down the road to get a license plate of someone going a little fast. Went here with our family of 5 and a friend with a family of 4. We both agree that we will not return due to the small sites.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Our stay was not especially pleasant. During our entire stay, we were faced with looking at a "Black Sambo" statue erected in a prominent location on an occupied site near the entrance. The statue has racial overtones and is very offensive. When reported, management did not take the matter seriously. We stayed at the park five days and statue was never removed and no followup with us to offer assurance that the matter would be taken care of. We were also surprised to find that our distinguished guest and his spouse had to pay a fee of $2 each just to visit for 30 minutes. The site itself was mediocre.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beezee82, Owner at Western Village RV Park, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
We are sorry that you were offended by a decorative statue on the campsite of one of our seasonal campers and that you were surprised by the visitors fee at our park. We have spoken with the owners of the statue, and they have assured us that no racial overtones were intended. We have asked that the statue be removed. Upon entering the park, there is a sign posted with the visitors fee that are also disclosed in our literature and on our website. Upon entry, all of our guests-including short-term visitors- are covered by the park's liability insurance. Our visitors fees are quite low in comparison to many other campgrounds, and they reflect very real costs involved in accommodating added guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet campground with no noise at all this is the place for you sites are extremely close you can touch your neighbors camper and if you do not want to meet people you are in the right spot most unfriendly campground I have ever been too. Quiet Time is at 7pm no joke they do not like any noise

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beezee82, Owner at Western Village RV Park, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
We are sorry that you were upset when we asked you to turn down the radio or move to your friends campsite that was playing the music. Many campers have told us how much they appreciate the quietness of our park. Quiet hours, as disclosed in our literature and on our website, are from 11PM-8AM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Very nice park. We spent one night on our way south. We were towing a boat and they gave us a pull thru site so we didn't need to unhook it. That was a big help. The kids loved mini golf. The owners were very friendly. Would love to come back to enjoy more of the many ammenities!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlland NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We always stop at this campground while traveling tru PA.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle, Pa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2005

Western Village Rv Park is a very clean & nice, quiet family owned campground with lots of ammenities. If you are going to the fairgrounds for a car show they are only about 4 miles away. This a really nice place to camp and the swimming pool is wonderful too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Village RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Village RV Park

Address: 200 Greenview Drive, Carlisle, PA 17013
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Carlisle
Number of rooms: 235
Also Known As:
Western Village Rv Park Hotel Carlisle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Village RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.