We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best All-Around Restaurant in Carlisle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Restaurant

Hamilton Restaurant
55 W High St, Carlisle, PA 17013-2923
717-249-4410
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 126 restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best All-Around Restaurant in Carlisle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Hamilton has been feeding my family for four generations. Service is fast and friendly, food is plentiful and well priced, and if the staff argues in Greek, well, you've got a floor show, too! Highly recommend!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    26
    16
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Milton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is the best restaurant in Carlisle if you really want to eat. Their famous "hotchee" burger with fries and chicken gravy are something you should reward yourself with now and then. Same thing with the "hotchee" dog. Great service, great place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Hotchie Dogs!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Actually I rarely get a Hotchie. Liver and onions, pork tenderloin, big salad, fries with cheese and hotchie sauce, milk shakes, oh and the baked haddock on Friday's if one can get there before they run out. But it's the feeling of family when one goes there. It's like coming home to dinner stopping by the Hamilton. It just feels good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So many things went wrong”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was really looking forward to this restaurant based on the other mostly good reviews. But our visit went from bad to worse. I'll try to be brief.

Service was bad - waitress was rushed and in a really bad mood. She rattled off the specials so fast we didn't understand a word she said other than 'chicken'. She ran off before we could ask her to repeat or to ask other questions about the menu. An old man brought our water and slammed them down in the center of the table. No ice or straws. They were also in small tumblers about 8 ounces.

Food - my sister and I ordered chili cheese dogs with gravy fries. My 14 year old niece ordered the crab cake dinner, and 6 year old niece ordered a chicken finger sandwich and fries.

The chili dogs were okay, but not what we were hoping for. For a place known for their hotdogs, these were ordinary. Plain role, a slice of white american cheese, and thin runny chili sauce likely from a can. The fries were nothing special either. My niece liked her chicken fingers. The salad my other niece got with her dinner was a large plate of iceberg lettuce and two slices of tomato. That's it. The surprise of the day was the crab cakes. They were actually very, very good. LIghtly breaded and fried, and filled with really good quality crab meat with little filler. But I still have to rate our experience terrible.

The total on the bill was shocking seeing none of us had sodas or dessert. I'm sorry I chose to go there..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best coneys (hotchee dogs)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you like coneys then this is the best place to get them! Other favorites include their cole slaw, old fashion milkshakes, and Tommy's homemade pies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hamilton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.