We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redds Smokehouse BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Redds Smokehouse BBQ
109 N Hanover Street, Carlisle, PA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 130 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Chambersburg, PA, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A winner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We ordered two sampler platters so we could try more things. We chose the chicken wings, pulled pork, ribs, and brisket. They were all fabulous. The chicken wings were my favorite. We also ate the homestyle fries, collard greens, and baked beans. The fries were perfect. I also liked the collard greens because they were hot and flavorful. The temperature of all the food was just right. They also offered peach cobbler and key lime pie for dessert. The owner and staff were very personable. My only regret is that we don't live closer to this awesome barbecue place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
loysville, pa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We go almost weekly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I usually get the sampler and always have half left over for lunch the next day. I love their sweet potato fries and get a double order because they are fresh cut cinnamon sugared and yum!!! My hubby usually gets the ribs. They offer a selection of sauces and sell them and rubs and tshirts. Cornbread comes with and you can get 2 of beans, slaw or fries.You can smell the beef bbq around the block. Park in a lot down the corner street. I wish they offered more desserts. They only have peach cobbler.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great ribs and chicken wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

if you are into barbeque, this is a must try place. i had the sampler plate, and while i didnt care much for the brisket (a little dry), i really really i mean really enjoyed the ribs and wings. yum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great BBQ at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The food is excellent here. Pulled pork, ribs, pulled chicken, fresh cut fries are all delicious and the prices are great. You get a lot of food for your money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good BBQ; Sides are so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and & were passing through the area and decided to stop at Redd's for lunch on a Friday. We had the Pulled Pork and Beef Brisket Sandwiches along with their Sweet Potato Fries and Collard Greens for sides. We cut the sandwiches in half so we could each try both, and we shared the sides. The Pulled Pork and Beef Brisket were very good. I also tried the three sauces they had on the table: Tomato BBQ, Honey Mustard BBQ, & Spicy Tomato BBQ. They are all a little thin ("runny"), but tasty. The "spicy" didn't have any real heat to it, but was OK.
The Collard Greens were a bit bitter. The Sweet Potato Fries were limp (I asked for "extra crispy") and were sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon...a bit different than I have had elsewhere.
We would go back again for the BBQ, and maybe skip the sides.
The service was excellent and the two waitresses working the dining room were very attentive and efficient. We didn't feel rushed.
Note: Don't be in a rush. The kitchen took a while getting the food ready. This might be because of the lunchtime take-out activity.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redds Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Redds Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redds Smokehouse BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.