We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helicopters, tanks, and artillery oh my!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center

U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center
950 Soldiers Drive, Carlisle, PA 17013
717-245-3972
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Carlisle
Type: Military Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
washington dc
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Helicopters, tanks, and artillery oh my!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I have driven pass the exhibit many times and never stopped. This morning I did and what an educational event. The real displays are fascinating and informative. .
The history of are conflicts is well explained and documented. But the outdoor walking trail is great. You can get up close to many different items from the civil to current conflicts. The underground bunkers and trenches were very interesting. Best of all there is no charge. Be sure to stop when you travel thru Carlisle PA.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    29
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

If you are in any way a military history buff...This is a must see! I visited ad the behest of my riding partner who is a retired Sfc. I will definitely be back!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Smithsonian Quality Exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

AHEC is a real hidden treasure. Outside, the various displays are remarkably authentic ... a German "Pillbox", WW1 trenches, etc. Inside there are numerous displays and artifacts ... for the serious researcher it's unparalleled. In the spring they have a two day event with lots of reenactors. Great for young & old

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can't wait to stop by there again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Every time we are traveling on I-81 my sons know that they will get to walk around the "army fields" . We have never been in the inside, but the outside alone keeps them busy and entertained for at least an hour and every time I have to drag them back to the car( since this is just a pitstop in our travels) . Outside displays are way more fun in summer time, because they are all open to public, last time we stopped by they were all locked up. Hopefully one of these days we can make it there during business hours and check out the inside too. An amazing place !!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The place to go for the answers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

As a writer and researcher, I must say that the services available at the Army Heritage Center are beyond expectations. Most people would go for the museum exhibition, but I must tell you their library and research facilities are unmatched in military research. The librarians there are excellent and helpful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.