We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean - family friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Carlisle

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Carlisle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Carlisle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1529 Commerce Avenue, Carlisle, PA 17015   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Carlisle
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Clean - family friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Very clean, nice hotel Had a room facing the entrance (not the highway) - which was quiet.
Great breakfast selection, always snacks available in the lobby.
Staff was friendly.

The gym was small and unfortunately overrun by kids that came straight out of the pool. The complain is more referring to the parents who let the kids go wild than the hotel staff.
Obviously the pool was out of question as well.
So yes, bring your kids.

Room Tip: ask for room away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    33
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
53
24
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Selden, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The hotel was nice, very clean rooms that were big. Breakfast in the morning was great. Major negative was the sound from the freeway. It is literally right outside the window and you can hear the cars and trucks all night long. I highly recommend bringing a nature sound sleep system or something to block the noise at night~maybe two pairs of earplugs! Otherwise, we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: ask for the parking lot side of the building to try to block some of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Carlisle, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience on the highway noise during your stay here as our guest. However, please note that within the next two months we will implement towards the highway side of the hotel a noise reduction project involving replacement of 33 AC Units with quieter split AC Units and installing 42 windows inside existing windows and it is then expected that the highway noise transmission to the room will be reduced appreciably, resulting in sound sleep for our guests. I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is only through reviews like yours that we can make changes to our hotel to better serve our guests. We thank you for choosing the Country Inn and Suites Carlisle for your recent lodging needs and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Yours in hospitality,
Jessica Miller, Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have stayed at several Country Inn and Suites and have been very satisfied. This time was an exception. It was extremely LOUD in our room, primarily from highway truck traffic RIGHT outside our room. In addition, the heat kicking in and those at the proximate ice machine were also noisy. Admittedly, we probably had the worst room in the whole hotel - 1st floor just off lobby and on the highway side (#109 - avoid it!). I can't imagine it was any quieter in any other room on this side of the building, though. In addition to the noise, two of the lights in the room were not working, which led to a bit of fumbling when entering the room at night.

Included breakfast was good. The bed was comfortable and the facility is pleasant and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet/non-highway side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were very happy with our stay here. On check in, the receptionist, un asked, changed the computer generated room number to one on the quiet side of the hotel. We were given a Welcome goody bagand . After driving 500 miles, we loved the hot tub. The Inn is only 3 years old so everything is still shiny and new. the room and bathroom was spacious, lots of counter space in the bathroom. We very much enjoyed breakfast, hot egg and sausage(him), granola, fruit and yoghurt (me) It's about a mile from the highway to the Inn but we found it well worth the trip. Check out the hotel discount coupons as using one of those made our stay pretty reasonable

Room Tip: Quiet side of the hotel away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Hotel staff was very friendly. We stayed 2 separate nights. We were traveling from NC to NY to visit family for New Years. Breakfast food was good. 1st morning there was scrambled eggs, bacon & potato's. Hot oatmeal, waffles, yogurt and fixings were available. Better breakfast than some other Country Inn & Suites that we have been to. 2nd time they had Fried Eggs, biscuits & Sausage. They use real dishware, not paper products. That was a nice homey touch.

1st room needed a little TLC, the bathroom had some ripping wall paper by the Shower Head. Other than that, no real complaints. Room was quite. 2nd room on the way back, needed a good dusting. I noticed a bunch of dust on the hair dryer. In the morning I saw little white hairs on one of the bed spreads. I'm wondering if the previous guest had a dog. I meant to tell the staff, but with a little one in tow, I forgot. Nothing for me to say we won't be back. I think we'll make this hotel our "Stop Over" hotel for future trips.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My friend and I were in town for a wedding on the weekend. We checked in on a Saturday and left Sunday afternoon. Upon arrival the front desk staff was very friendly. We noticed there was a high school soccer team or maybe even college checking in as well. We were asked what floor we wanted to be on and whatever floor we chose they would put the kids on the opposite floor, We choose a front room on the 3rd floor because we were told the back rooms are noisy because of the highway. The kids were put on the first and second floors.

We found the sheets to be clean, the room was clean and overall the bed was so comfortable. (pillow top) The downside to the hotel was that the bathroom tub does not have any protection against slipping while showering. If there is too much lather from your soap in the shower you could fall. My other issue was that the water in the sink would drain out very slowly, while brushing my teeth I had a sink full of water.

We never had the chance to have the continental breakfast or use any of the amenities, but again it was only an overnight stay.

I did not unpack as soon as I got home but about a day or two later I noticed I had left my pajamas and a few other items behind in the room. I contacted the hotel and spoke to Jennifer who told me the items had been retrieved. She said i could pick them up the next day, unfortunately I do not live in Pennsylvania, I live in NY. When Jennifer heard this she offered to mail my things back to me. Who does that? I thought this was such a great gesture on the hotels part and I thank the people that turned my things in!!! It has only been a day so I have not received the items yet, but I am so happy they are on the way.

For one night the price was great for two people and the hotel was acceptable. If I was passing through that town again for a short stay I would definitley stay at this hotel. We were very satisfied with our visit, in fact if we are ever in any other locations we will definitely check out Country Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: Dont choose any room on the back side of the hotel, if you are a light sleeper you will not apprecia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have stayed here several times and will continue to stay here when we are in the area. The staff are warm and friendly. They can't do enough to make you feel comfortable and welcome. Breakfast is included which is always nice. There are several hot and cold items to choose from. The hotel is clean and well cared for. There are several stores and restaurants near the hotel. One of the best features are the warm cookies waiting for you when you arrive!

Room Tip: Stay in the front of the building. There's a highway in the back that can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Carlisle

Address: 1529 Commerce Avenue, Carlisle, PA 17015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
#4 Family Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Carlisle 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newer hotel in Carlisle PA where you are treated like a friend. Hot cookies and coffee upon arrival, complimentary newspapers also available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Carlson, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Country Inn And Suites Carlisle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Carlisle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.