We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like home, almost.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacob's Resting Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carlisle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jacob's Resting Place
Save
You added Jacob's Resting Place to your Saves list
1007 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Carlisle
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“There's no place like home, almost.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have been staying here for 15+ years and re fer to it as home when we're in the Carlisle area. The innkeepers (who have become friends) have always made evryone welcome. If you seek Civil War information look no further. Breakfast is to die for, what more could you want?

Room Tip: The downstairs suite is cozy and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

It's hard to imagine doing much better than this if you're staying in the Carlisle area. Very reasonably priced, delightful accommodations, wonderful gourmet food. Marie and Terry obviously love what they do, and you will love it too!

It's worth knowing that the property is nicely air-conditioned, and that it has free wireless internet.

If you like B&Bs, this is for you!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southestern PA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

When we found the location on Harrisburg Pike, we were apprehensive as it's located on a main drag on the way into the town of Carlise but when you pull in and walk around back you enter a different world. The grounds are beautiful as is the lovingly restored interior, filled with period funiture and items that really take you to a different time. The food was sumptous and perfectly portioned and our suite was lovely with an oversize jaccuzi tub and fireplace. Marie and Terry were wonderful hosts and Terry's knowledge of the Civil War and the weaponary collection he has were an unexpected joy as we were visiting to tour Gettysburg.

If you are looking for a beautiful historic Inn and wish to relax and be in the care of Innkeepers that truly understand genteel hospitality, this in the place. We look forward to a return trip!

  • Liked — Peaceful Historic setting
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2005

We absolutely loved the historic detail, very comfortable, the food was wonderful. It's amazing to experience this for what we might have spent at a boring motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2004

An interesting place that typifies the 'mixed bag' aspect of staying at bed and breakfast establishments. The upside: Jacob's Resting Place is a beautiful old historic building with comfortable rooms, reasonable rates, a nice pool, and a sumptious if somewhat over-large gourmet breakfast. The downside: It reeks of mothballs, the fireplace in my room still had ashes in it (in June), and the husband of the couple that owns/runs the place is loquacious to the point of annoyance if you're foolish enough to ask him about the Civil War (he gives guided tours of the battlefield to interested groups). If you can accept a certain amount of quirkiness, Jacob's Resting Place may suit you. In not, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jacob's Resting Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob's Resting Place

Address: 1007 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Carlisle
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacob's Resting Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.