We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Carlisle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Carlisle to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Carlisle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1164 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Carlisle
Pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
“Amazing Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Everything was just perfect at this hotel. Each staff member was so friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again. This hotel is so convenient to all the car shows held in Carlisle. And being a pet friendly hotel was very important to us since we travel with a small cat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hello Henrietta B!

Big big thank you for your business and review! I am glad our hotel was a good fit for you!

Safe Travels to You and Yours,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    87
    23
    22
    6
See reviews for
130
86
25
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, PA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our overall experience was excellent. The staff was so service driven and couldn't do enough for us. The room was so clean and the beds were very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was so good because it was more than bagels, donuts and sugary cereals. It was fresh fruits, homemade oatmeal and quality cereals.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Caryn W!


Thank you so much for your kind words!

Our team will be so excited when to hear your review! They work so hard everyday and they truly love to hear when their efforts and, "Hamptonality" pays off!

Safe travels to you and yours and thank you for your business!

Yours in Hospitality,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed her for just a night en route to Long Island. Quick check in, clean rooms, nice work out area. Flat screen tv with decent channel selection. A/C was a bit loud, but worked well. Wifi worked well for a hotel (I was even able to stream Netflix, which is not always the case). A couple exits down there were several selections for food, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello UMS!

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for the Hampton Inn Carlisle and Thanks also for your business!

I will be sure to share your review with our team. They do so much to make sure our guests are comfortable and welcomed and they love to hear from our guests as much as I do!

Thanks again for your review and we wish safe travels to you and yours!

Yours in Hospitality,

Wayne Ambrose, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Many problems at this Hampton all due to management. First, the last 3 times I have stayed at this Hampton Inn the stationary bike has not been working properly. The bike and the treadmill are the ONLY two machines in the room. There are not even any free weights. The petals tighten up so that it is too hard to push and then all of a sudden it loosens up so that there is no traction whatsoever. No matter how much you try to adjust the settings it makes no difference. Every level does the same fluctuation between an impossible tightness in pedaling to a complete loose spinning of the petals. It is a worthless machine. I did report it to the front desk and they said they would tell the manager. I find it hard to believe that in over 1 year's time this machine has not yet been fixed or replaced. There is also a consistent problem with hot water. After a couple of mins in the shower with hot water it turned ice cold. My shower was at 8AM on a Saturday morning. I had the same problem the last time I stayed at this hotel but the hotel was then under renovations so that was the excuse. So I now assume it is a permanent problem at this hotel. We needed to be somewhere by 9AM so I had to take an ice cold shower. We then had to wait 20 mins so that my son could have hot water. We were late for our appointment. There was no urgency from the front desk when I called about it. I was put on hold for 10 mins - time that I did not have and I just had to hang up and rush to get ready. A maintenance man then showed up at our door without notice from the front desk which was inconsiderate and rude. I answered the door dripping wet in a towel and obviously could not let him in. I then called the front desk twice to explain why I could not let him in and no one bothered to answer the phone. Nothing spells unprofessional more and there is nothing more aggravating than not getting through to the front desk. On check out I again told the front desk about the water and how late we were. The response I got was "Well I told maintenance. " Honestly we should have been comped the night. I am at Dickinson College many times a year and have stayed at this hotel all of last year. Unfortunately, I will have to look for other accommodations the next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello Debra B!


Thank you for your review. We are so sorry for all of the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. I am so glad that you took the time to speak with me to discuss your concerns.
Please know that since your stay with us we have received our new elliptical machine for our fitness center and we are patiently awaiting the new treadmill and stationary bike. Unfortunately our fitness room is not quite big enough to accommodate free weights due to ADA standards.

We are working with our team to resolve the intermittent hot water issues and I will certainly work with my team to resolve the service issues.

Thanks again for your review and thank you for your business!

I wish you safe travels to you and yours!

At Your Service,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a very pleasant 5-day stay here - great staff - had 2 small problems - noisy neighbor one night (briefly) and found left-behind items/dirt behind luggage stand (had to move it when I dropped something back there) - staff responded well - loved the 24/7 coffee/tea/hot chocolate and Hershey kisses -

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello Loretta W!

Thanks so much for your review and business!

I am glad to hear our team made you feel welcome! They work hard every day and love to hear comments such as yours expressed in your review! I will be sure to pass this onto them in our daily team huddle!

Thanks so much for staying and thanks again for your review!

At Your Service,
Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We reallly enjoy going to Hampton Inns. They are always clean and comfortable. The staff is always pleasant and friendly and helpful. We don't stay anywhere else. I have only had one dissatisfied experience with Hamton and the was not because of the hotel itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello and Thank You for Your Review!

Our team will be so happy to hear your kind words! Thanks so much for staying and thank you for traveling!

Safe Travels to You and Yours!

At Your Service,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Carlisle Hampton Inn. The room was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the pool. It was clean and well kept. We also enjoyed the abundant complimentary breakfast. But one of the best things is to come back to the hotel in the evening and be able to get a complimentary hot cocoa. Much appreciated after a long day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Lisa C!

I am so happy to hear you had a successful stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Carlisle! Thanks so much for your kind words!

We recently renovated the pool area, fitness room and lobby and I am glad to hear that you and your family were comfortable!

We will keep the cocoa waiting for you should your travels ever bring you this way again!

Thanks so much for your business and thank you for taking the time to write a review!

At Your Service,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlisle

Address: 1164 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlisle
#1 Business Hotel in Carlisle
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlisle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hotel in 2014! The area around the Hampton Inn(R) hotel in Carlisle boasts dozens of reasons to visit. For history buffs, there's Gettysburg nearby as well as The Whiskey Rebellion. We're home to Carlisle Barracks, the second-oldest military installation in the United States. George Washington himself admired our town and suggested the location of the barracks. You can explore much of Carlisle's history at the Cumberland County Historical Society's museum. It's all just minutes away from our hotel in Carlisle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Carlisle Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Carlisle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.