We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This gem is in the heart of Carlisle and within walking distance to Dickinson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 S. Hanover Street, Carlisle, PA 17013   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Carlisle
charlottesville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This gem is in the heart of Carlisle and within walking distance to Dickinson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We were looking at colleges during spring break and found Carlisle to be a charming little city with the beautiful campus of Dickinson College a few blocks away from this great hotel. Everyone from the front desk to the bartender was very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and points of interest. The room was clean, spacious and the halls were quiet. Parking is a few feet away in a parking garage which is easy to access and the charge was either free or $3. Our room had two double beds and a pull out and for the price of being downtown is was worth it. The complimentary breakfast had several options including fresh fruit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
26
18
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

From the excellent, hot breakfast with great coffee in the morning to the well-equipped and functional exercise room and the attractive lobby bar, this Comfort Suites lives up to its reputation. The staff is attentive to your every need and welcomingly friendly! They actually seem to like doing their jobs of serving others. I've attended two wedding parties here and they were both expertly staged with outstanding service. This is the only hotel downtown Carlisle and conveniently located within walking distance to a variety of good-to-great restaurants. Other hotels in the area are on highway exit ramps with the noise that goes with those locations.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

I stayed here nearly every week for two months on a project for work...we have a corporate contract with them and that's why I put value in the middle (I'm not sure about normal rates). The hotel staff are really friendly and welcoming and the location is great (within walking distance of many types of bar/restaurants). Parking is $3 a day for a garage behind the hotel, which is much better than trying to park on the street (metered). The rooms are very clean and all rooms have nice, 42 inch (ish) flatscreens. The only thing you might want to look out for is regarding high speed internet: If you want it, make sure to request a room on a floor other than the First Floor. For some reason, the rooms don't have it. Overall, a good hotel for business or personal travel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

We were in Carlisle for Dickinson College graduation and the place was fully booked, but the staff could not have been more accomodating and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable and we could walk to the campus and restaurants. It's nice to be able to park once and just walk to all the places you want to go. If you are making reservations for a Dickinson College event, they fill quickly. Find out when they will take reservations and call immediately on the given date and time or you will be shut out! There is a free breakfast that is nice too.

  • Liked — central location, friendly staff, comfortable bed!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

Great Hotel, Freidnly staff at desk and resturant.
Rooms very clean

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

This hotel was not at all what we expected. First, we had a hard time finding it, and had to drive around the block because we missed the entrance to the lobby, which is off of a small alley leading to a parking garage. Second, when we checked in, the woman at the desk suggested that we should park in the garage and carry in our luggage from there. We tried to do so, but found that it was much more of a trek than we were led to believe. So we left the garage, drove around the block again, and parked in the alley to unload our luggage at the main lobby door. Then we parked in the garage (which in addition to being inconvenient is an extra cost which is not included in the room charge). It took almost an hour before we had finally settled into our room. Third, we were led to believe that this property was an "all suites" hotel, but our room was hardly what I would call a "suite." True, it had a microwave and refrigerator, a desk, a loveseat and a coffee table. But the size of the room was smaller than many other standard rooms we've stayed in, so all of this furniture made the room seem cramped. Finally, we had booked this hotel thinking it would make a good overnight stop as it supposedly was close to the turnpike. But it's not at all close to the highway; it is instead over four miles away from the turnpike in a downtown area of a medium sized town. While the rooms are reasonably pleasant, they aren't what I would call "suites." I don't we will stay here again.

  • Liked — Internet access
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

You can't beat the location of this hotel - in historic downtown Carlisle. Walk to Blondies for dinner or any other restaraunt downtown. There's a place next door - maybe the gingerbread house? great for drinks and dinner too. This is nicest of any choice hotel brand I've ever stayed in. The breakfast is hot and ample, the rooms are huge, showers are nice and bed is comfortable. I stayed here about 20 times over a few years and the quality never dropped.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 10 S. Hanover Street, Carlisle, PA 17013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites, situated in the HEART of historic downtown Carlisle, ideally located one mile from 1-81, Exit 47 to 34 North, three miles from PA Turnpike, Exit 226 to Route 11 South, to 34 South. A 105 room all suites hotel with meeting and banquet facilities for up to 400 people, the Comfort Suites Hotel will provide all the amenities the discerning business or leisure traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Carlisle
Comfort Suites Carlisle
Carlisle Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.