We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 S Main Street, Carbondale, PA 18407   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbondale
Hicksville, United States
1 review
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This location is very clean, friendly & professional. The breakfast was very good. I especially enjoyed the coffee lounge being open 24/7 & free. The building was located near stores & gas stations. You could walk to anything you needed. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Lila M S,
Thank you so much for choosing the Best Western Pioneer Plaza in Carbondale for your recent stay! I am delighted to hear that you found our location convenient & that our hospitality exceeded your expectations! I am especially happy to hear that you enjoyed our hot breakfast & 24-hour coffee! We try to do as much as we can to make our guests feel at home while they are visiting us.
We hope to see you again soon & thank you again for choosing the Pioneer Plaza & for taking the time to write this review!!!
Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
20
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bethlehem. PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

this hotel was well planned and executed. Large rooms, decorated with tasteful furnishings and colors, large windows, nicely appointed bathroom, comfortable bed, and the amenities one would expect from a reputable national hotel chain.
The lobby is cozy and inviting. The dining room is simple and elegant. I only had breakfast there, and it was well prepared.
I was very happy with the pleasant and competent staff at the front desk.
Overall, this hotel has everything one gets in a big city hotel.
And the price is right

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear johnbethlehem7,
We would like to thank you so very much for choosing the Best Western Pioneer Plaza & for writing this amazing review! We are flattered that you thought so highly of the hotel & that we exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to pass the compliments along to our staff to let them know what a great job they are doing. We take much pride in our brand new facility & it's always nice when someone notices our efforts!
We certainly hope you will come back & visit us again!

Happy New Year & Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, NJ, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed one night on business. Staff very friendly, restaurant food very good. Room comfortable, plenty of towels, etc. The waitress was helpful but seemed new in this position and probably is because it is a new hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Nancy S,
Thank you so much for choosing the Best Western Pioneer Plaza. We really appreciate that you took the time to write this review. I'm so happy to hear that you found our hotel to be warm & friendly and that you enjoyed your meal in Ambers Restaurant!
You are correct we are a brand new hotel so we take much pride in our product & our service. Our staff is really fantastic & goes out of their way to make our guests feel welcomed.
We hope that you will visit us again soon! Thank you again for your kind words & your loyalty to our brand!

Happy Holidays & Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Excellent hotel with great service! Amber's restaurant and bar was outstanding! Staff was very professional and friendly. I would definitely stay there again! Hotel is right in the center of town and close to everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Michael K,

We would like to thank you for staying with us & for taking the time to write this review! We really appreciate your kind words & compliments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay & were able to experience Ambers restaurant as well as the rest of our beautiful downtown.

We hope you will come back & see us again soon. We would love to have you as our guest again!

Happy Holidays & Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel was beautiful, outside and in. The staff was friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We had breakfast in the hotel which was included in the price and it was great. If you go to the Carbondale, Pa area I would recommend this hotel highly. My family live in Carbondale and when we come to visit we would have to stay down near Scranton. Having this hotel in Carbondale makes me want to visit more often.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
We are THRILLED to hear that you were so pleased with our brand new hotel. I will make sure to pass your compliments on to our staff! We are happy to be able to have a great place to stay for guests coming back to visit family & friends in the area....and very excited to have you visit again! Thank you for staying with us & for taking the time to write this excellent review!

All the Best,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Finding it was a bit tricky. I spotted a sign on the side of the building several blocks away but when I got there nothing indicating a motel, even though my GPS insisted I was there. I went around the block and saw an enclosed parking area for hotel guests, not giving the name of the hotel. I parked there and it was the correct place. Check in was very fast and efficient. Room decent and clean. Check out was also very fast and efficient. Hotel guests on weekends got served their complementary breakfast in the main restaurant. There is a separate place for this on weekdays. The breakfast ordered by us was cooked to order and decent.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator and the hallway nearest it. The walls were a bit thin and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Robert B,
Thank you so much for staying with us & thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the room & the breakfast & I will be sure to let our front desk staff know what a great job they are doing.

I apologize that you had some difficulty locating the hotel & parking area. We do have signage ordered for each of the areas that you indicated for our guests' convenience.

We hope that you will come and visit us again soon. Thank you again & have a great Holiday.

Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the middle of downtown Carbondale. It's been open for about six months. The rooms are large and nicely appointed with both a desk and a easy chair with a hassock. There is free wifi. All of these features are similar to the suburban motels seen everywhere.

The hotel also has an attached restaurant that is patronized by area residents more than guests. The restaurant only opened about two weeks ago and is sill getting its act together so service is a bit slow. Food is good though. At checkin, guests receive tickets for breakfast from a limited, but sufficient, menu.

The exercise room is adequate with an elliptical machine, a stationary bike, a treadmill and a weight machine.

One thing I didn't like is that there is a $1.50 fee for the in-room safe. We were told that it will be removed from the bill if we ask at checkout but it seems to be an attempt to nickel and dime a few dollars more.

Overall, a nice place to stay when visiting the area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Ed M,
Thank you so much for staying with us. I am happy to hear that your overall experience was a positive one & we really appreciate your compliments to our facility.

I apologize that you were unhappy with the charge for the safe. We do advise each guest of the charge at check-in and ask them to initial the advisement on their registration card. The reason we then automatically post this fee to each account is to protect the privacy of our guests. We don't want to know, and more importantly, we are sure our guests don't want us or anyone else within earshot to know, if they are carrying valuables. By advising our guests & automatically posting the fee we allow our guests to make the decision in the convenience & privacy of their own room whether or not they want to use this valuable service. Either way, we operate completely on the honor system & any guest request to remove the fee is automatically honored at check-out.

Thank you again for staying with us & we hope to see you again in the future!

All the Best,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza

Address: 25 S Main Street, Carbondale, PA 18407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carbondale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza conveniently located just off the Casey Highway in the heart of downtown Carbondale. Placed in the pristine northern end of the Lackawanna Valley in the Pocono Mountains, and the southern tip of the historic and beautiful Endless Mountains, this hotel in Carbondale is close to a variety of exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.