We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brand New Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 S Main Street, Carbondale, PA 18407   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbondale
medford, United States
1 review
“Great Brand New Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place was great! Breakfast was yummy with great choices. The staff was very helpful and our suite was very very spacious. The pillows were amazing. the hotel is so new that it still smells like new carpet and paint. We will continue to stay at this hotel when we visit this area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Stacie P,
Thank you so much for choosing our brand new hotel & for writing this awesome review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay & we are very happy that you found our breakfast yummy & our pillows comfy! We realize that a hotel should be more than just a place to lay your head & we are glad that you noticed the extra efforts that we put forth to make each guests stay memorable & comfortable. We are looking forward to your next visit to this area & hope that you will return!
Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    36
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
20
9
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brick, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed in September and the hotel staff was courteous and helpful. The hotel is brand new and beautiful. The room was spotless and the High Def T.V. worked great!!! They offered a great variety for breakfast and all of us were pleased with our breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Susan L,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, especially your breakfast! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We really appreciate your kind words & are thrilled that you were pleased with the accommodations. As a brand new property, we take much pride in our cleanliness & service and I am delighted to hear that you noticed our efforts. We really hope that you will come back & see us again soon!
All the Best,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

New hotel in the center of Carbondale, clean, nice rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Room is fitted out with the basics, good towels, facial tissue, nice large flat screen TV, refrigerator,desk, comfortable mattress, free WiFi. Large covered parking facility behind the hotel. There are a couple of restuarants within walking distance.
Breakfast consists of your basic American version of a continental breakfast, cereal, make your own waffles, hard boiled eggs (pre peeled, don't really like those, would prefer to have the shell on and peel myself), bagels, muffins, toast and some not so good pastries (unfortunately most US hotel breakast pastries are really not very good. Fresh bakery pastries would be great). Juice, milk,tea and coffee is available.
When in the area I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Papito1,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review for our hotel! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay & that we exceeded your expectations with our cleanliness & service! I am happy to let you know that in just a few weeks, our bar & restaurant will be opening. So, not only will our breakfast menu have many additional delicious choices, guests can enjoy lunch or dinner as well without having to leave the hotel! I really hope you can come back & visit us again & see what we will have to offer in the future!
Thank you again & safe travels!
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is great. Quiet,comfortable,very clean and just gorgeous inside and out. Parking is easy and plentiful. Elevators are nice and spacious. It is fairly new so they are still in construction but they are clean and quiet with it. It already looks great so I cant wait to go back and see what they do to it. The rooms are very clean and comforting. There is a lot of places to eat that deliver and an ATM and 24hr convenient store just a couple steps away. The staff was very polite and helpful. The only thing I was not thrilled about was the continental breakfast. There is not much available and what is goes fast and it was not restocked. The only filling thing was the make your own waffles but there was a line so long we did not have time to wait. Other than that it is a great place to stay and I am definately going back. Great job Carbondale Best Western staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Amanda C,
Thank you so much for staying with us & for your kind words about our property. I'm glad that you did not mind the construction & thank you for noticing that we are making every effort to be as "customer friendly" about the work as possible. We are very excited for the banquet hall, bar & restaurant that will be opening in just a few weeks!

I apologize that the continental breakfast did not meet your expectations, but once our restaurant is open, we will have a full breakfast menu & greatly expand what we have to offer. Hopefully you will come back to visit us again soon...we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

All the Best,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Was looking for a hotel in the Scranton area on Labor Day Weekend. Most were priced at around $200 per night. And then I found this little gem, in "downtown" Carbondale. Just beautiful inside - it even smells new! It was just $98.00 for Saturday night. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was super clean (new new new!) and the bed was very comfy. I like the fact that Best Western is super conscientious when it comes to cleanliness. Witness the "clean remote" in the little bag by the TV when you enter the room. This is great! I don't have to break out the alcohol wipes and do it myself! The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about, but isn't this the way with most C.B's?

The only negative I can think of: Woke in the middle of the night and I could hear the TV in the room next door to us. It did not prevent me from falling back to sleep, though.

So if you're traveling to Scranton, and you don't mind a 15 minute commute into the city, stay here at the Best Western and save some money!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear RoadQueen07,
Thank you so much for driving those couple "extra" miles to see us in Carbondale. We are so happy to hear that it was worth it for you & that you really enjoyed your stay!
We are "Ultra Clean" certified by Best Western at this property & we do take EXTRA efforts to be #1 in cleanliness and service.
I am happy to let you know that in just a few weeks we will have a full bar & restaurant opening on-site. So while we will still offer the complimentary continental breakfast, we will have a full menu to choose from in the dining room.
We certainly hope that you will come back to see us again soon. Thank you for staying with us.

Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Kisco, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pleasantly surprised with how nice my stay was at this BW in northeastern Pennsylvania. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful and efficient.
My room was very modern, very clean, and well kept. Easy and safe free parking in a covered garage behind the lobby.
I would stay here again if I am ever in this region.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Robert N,
Thank you for the wonderful compliments to our facility & our staff! We take a lot of pride in our brand new property & it is always rewarding to know that our guests are noticing our efforts.
Our staff truly is remarkable...they are the reason that valued guests like you will return to our property & remain loyal to our brand.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay & we hope to see you again soon!
All the Best,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E, Norriton, Pa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Facility is brand new, very clean, and very friendly. Entire staff is extremely courteous, helpful & pleasant. We were only passing through & stayed just one night, but will definitely stay longer the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Walter B,
We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The staff here really is tremendous and we appreciate the kudos! Everyone employed here does take a lot of pride in this brand new facility so it's always nice to hear it when our guests have a positive experience!

Thank you so much for choosing the Best Western Pioneer Plaza. We certainly do hope that you come back & visit again. Hopefully next time, you really can stay longer with us in Carbondale!

All the Best,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza

Address: 25 S Main Street, Carbondale, PA 18407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Carbondale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza conveniently located just off the Casey Highway in the heart of downtown Carbondale. Placed in the pristine northern end of the Lackawanna Valley in the Pocono Mountains, and the southern tip of the historic and beautiful Endless Mountains, this hotel in Carbondale is close to a variety of exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.