We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful Staff - extremely disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Corporate Drive, Canonsburg, PA 15317   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Canonsburg
Belle Mead
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unhelpful Staff - extremely disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I booked a room for 2 nights for my daughter who is 18 through expedia. No indication on expedia says the hotel requires 21 as the minimum age to check in. She arrived late (past midnight) after a concert to check in and was told she could not. Granted I understand the policy but the could have been more helpful - they could have let her call us and I could fax any documentation they need. This morning I called the hotel and the staff (both front-desk and so-called manager were both very stand-offish). The manager insisted that the said policy is for the hotel guest's safety - what kind of safety is it to turn away an 18-year-old girl the middle of the night without at least trying to help??? And the manager gave this comment about not using online sites to book - excuse me - at this day and age?? I have been using travel portals for I don't remember how many years! I would NEVER touch another Hilton brand hotel if this is the kind of customer service I am getting from their staff. They deserve a rating of 0!

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    81
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
54
13
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed overnight Feb 15-16 for conference. Was welcomed per my HiltonHonors status and was also accommodated nicely by hotel staff during conference. Room was clean and quiet - if it hadn't thundered I would not have known it had rained.

Yes I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Was very satisfied with this hotel near our office. Rooms were very clean, staff friendly, and everything was new. Beds were great.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel just passing through Pennsylvania. Very nice hotel and super nice staff. There is a restaurant attached that is pricey but good.
We slept very well on the comfortable bed and didn't have any noise issues. The only reason this place doesn't get a '5' rating is the price. I think everything was really overpriced.

Room Tip: The Chinese restaurant next to the hotel was very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were directed to the Hilton Garden Inn by a helpful PA tourism representative at their Welcome Centre traveling north on I-79. It was late in the day and we were weary from traveling, so we just wanted a hotel close to the highway south of Pittsburgh. He smiled and handed us a Discount Card for the Hilton Garden Inn for $89 and said this was a very nice place and they had a good restaurant attached to the hotel. He called ahead to make sure they still had rooms and they did so we set out in the dark to find the hotel. When we arrived we were quickly registered and we were in our room (which was very nice and spacious and clean). We went down to the restaurant (Jacksons Grill) and had one of the best meals we've had while traveling - just superb! The next morning we had breakfast in the hotel dining room and it too was excellent. They have a breakfast buffet for $9.95 each with a huge selection of cold items and as well you can order a custom hot breakfast such as omelets, French toast, pancakes - the best breakfast arrangement we've seen traveling as well. Great job Hilton !!

Room Tip: Rooms on the side and back of hotel offer a nice view of the city below as you are up on a hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. I was there for almost a week on business. Nice breakfast spread, although a little pricey if you just want a quick bite. Had good experience at the attached restaurant. Good food, drink and company.

Friendly staff, good location. I would definitely recommend if you need to be in the vicinity.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here 1-1-2012. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Asked for a late check-out and was told "no problem,what time would you like" not the usual hoops to jump through. Rooms were well appointed (fridge,microwave,coffee maker etc..) Housekeeping staff very pleasant. Breakfast was very good and reasonbly priced.($9.95 buffet and made to order items).Wait staff very friendly and attentive. Overall a very nice place to spend a day or two.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe

Address: 1000 Corporate Drive, Canonsburg, PA 15317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Canonsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Canonsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe. Where fine accommodations, excellence in food and comfortable surroundings are not the exception but the standard. Point south to the premier meeting location that offers functionality and fun. Someplace that provides the excellence of the Hilton HHonors Program. The Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe offers the comforts of home with the following features and amenities:Hotel Features~175 Guest Rooms with 42 Suites and 2 Jacuzzi Rooms~Great American Grill serving Breakfast~18,000 Square Feet of Meeting and Event Facilities~Complimentary 24 hour Business Center~Golf Packages Available~Complete Conference Services Staff and Audio/Visual Team~24-Hour Pavilion Pantry Convenience Mart~Complimentary Guest Parking~Complimentary Usage of our Fitness Center~Indoor Swimming Pool and Whirlpool ~Evening Room Service~Jackson Restaurant Guest Room Amenities~Microwave, Refrigerator and Coffee Maker~Two Dual-Line Speakerphones with Voice Mail and Data Ports~Large Work Desk with Convenient Desk-Level Outlets, Adjustable Lighting and Ergonomic Chair~Hair Dryer, Full-Sized Irons and Ironing Boards~Free High Speed Internet AccessJacksons Restaurant-Rotisserie-Bar~200 Seat Upscale Dining with a Warm Casual Atmosphere~Serving a Wide Variety of American Cuisine with an International Flair~Natural Slate, Wood, Stone and Metal Décor Featuring a Fireplace ~Display Kitchen with a Wood Burning Grill, Brick Oven and Rotisserie~Private Dining Room for up to 20 People~18 Seat Bar with Additional Table Seating~Outdoor Patio for Seasonal Dining~Serving Lunch and Dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe Hotel Canonsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Canonsburg
Hilton Canonsburg
Canonsburg Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Southpointe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.