We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated Like Royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Riverside Inn to your Saves list
The Riverside Inn
One Fountain Avenue, Cambridge Springs, PA 16403   |  
Hotel amenities
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Treated Like Royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I totally enjoyed my recent stay at the Riverside Inn. Needing some rest and a change of scenery, I booked the Riverside for just one night. Immediately I was welcomed by the friendly staff (Chris) and went upstairs to my small but comfortable room with antique furniture. A waitress soon appeared bringing a bottle of wine my husband had delivered (to help me relax!). Everything about my stay was pleasant; the attractive grounds, sitting on the large covered porch as well as the delicious meals. The Riverside really is a step back in time and I loved the absolute quiet in the room with no TV or phone. I didn't even have cell phone coverage except in the parking lot. I definitely plan on staying again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Owner at The Riverside Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are very happy that you were able to relax and enjoy your time with us. Thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    9
    5
    9
See reviews for
17
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UNIONTOWN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Inn is a beautifully restored 1800's structure with memorabilia tastefully displayed as a reminder of the time when the area thrived with springs and spas. perhaps to take us back in years the guest rooms have no phones or TVs. i pads and cell phones are not banned for those who can't get fully into the spirt of it all. The upscale dining rooms, pubs,banquet rooms and ballrooms provide reality checks. The food variety and quality are excellent. We enjoyed viewing the grounds from rockers on the porch before a entertaining evening at their dinner theater.

Room Tip: Every room decor is different. Prices vary probably in proportion with tastes and size. If it is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Owner at The Riverside Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and the garden areas! We look forward to sending you back in time again next year for another relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I spent the night at Riverside Inn on Nov. 24th with tickets to the diner theater. After checking in we spent time at the Christmas Craft Fair which seems to be lacking some of the usual vendors, and had very few Christmas items. Seating for the play was at 5:30pm, and the meal served around six. The servers in the theater work hard and are very attentive. The meal served would have rivaled a garbage plate at a cheap dinner. I sent mine back. After diner the play started. What play! It was montage of Christmas Carols lyrics flashed on a screen with the patrons expected to sing. I'm sure Mitch Miller and the bouncing ball was rolling over in his grave. The writer should be writing obituaries for the local paper. After hearing three or four songs, I along with about a dozen other people left the theater. Once in the lobby the subject of conversation was how disappointing the diner and theater was. Oh to have the Halliday's back in control! The Riverside Inn has become tradition with us and many others who have come back to the Inn over many years. My wife and I were married at the Inn, and will never go back to the theater again. I observed the performers were having a difficult time with the play, and they are they very talented. We hope things will change for the better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on Nov 2 for one night. We were impressed with the hotels hospitality and caring. Food was delicious. Got to see the medieval dinner theatre which was great also. Lots of laughs. I would recommend this to anyone that is looking for a place to relax and get away. The rooms felt like we were staying at grandma's house. At dinner time we could smell the food. What a great stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Went to see the Medieval Feast dinner theatre. All I can say is that no matter how many times I see it, each time is better than the last. We always have the BEST TIME! We always try to bring newbies.
When you come up to the Inn you have to stop to just drink in the view.... the hotel, the grounds, the imagined history. Walk up the steps & walk into history. How could you not LOVE it! While we have not spent a night there, we want to. I would challenge anyone who writes a review that was less than glowing. Food: Excellent. Entertainment: Excellent. Atmosphere: Excellent. Ambience: Excellent
Kudos to the owners! And to the star of the Medieval Feast, Queenie....Bravo! And not to slight the cast...a HUGE thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great place for a wedding but not a good place to stay. There isn’t an elevator so you are on your own to carry your bags up a couple of flights. Rooms are out of date and I mean worn down furniture and shaky beds. We rented a “double” room and received a room with a twin and a single. Both beds shacked and were not very comfortable at all. They don’t have the amenities of a normal hotel, elevator, room phones, room service, TV, updated bedroom and bathrooms but there prices are about the same as a hotel with those kinds of amenities so beware. The bathroom was just out of date; warn out, no soap or shampoo and I did not feel comfortable bathing there.

We were there for a wedding and I can’t recommend this place enough for a wedding. They have a couple of gardens which are in tip top shape for your wedding vows. The ball room and bar is beautiful with more then enough staff to wait on your guests. The bartenders were very slow and you waited 20 minutes in line for a drink but that would be my only complaint with there catering. The ball room is connected to a very large veranda lined with rocking chairs and some very interesting antiques. Makes for a great place to drink and talk for a wedding. So again, a great place for a wedding but not so good for renting a room.

Room Tip: STay at the Quality Inn down the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, MA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Have stayed many years for a week in June; Nelson Eddy's birthday (June 29th) week. The ambience is completely relaxing, and the only problem: a balky lavatory stopper which was repaired IMMEDIATELY!
If you appreciate art, there are many of William Vrsack's works gracing the comfortable lobby. My favorite is the Amish Family, Sillouhetted in the snow. A masterpiece. Thanks Bill The service at meals was nonparellel. Attentive and courteous young ladies all. A special thanks to Rachel. Only one meal found the steak a bit undercooked. We were bit disappointed by not having dessert at several meals. These were the only items for management to consider for attention! We were planning on Bermuda in 2013, but have reconsidered and will return to Riverside. Wedonot need endless excitement and activity to enjoy ourselves. the atmosphere at the inn is a tonic for the heart and soul!
We sleep like babies (NO,not fussing and crying!) in the tomb-like quiet of our room, without blaring noises emanating from a neighbor.

Room Tip: Have read from other reviews that noise emanates from the bar, so choose a room at eithernd of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Inn

Address: One Fountain Avenue, Cambridge Springs, PA 16403
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Cambridge Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambridge Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest attractions of the Riverside today is its charm of yesterday. Open from April through December yearly, this Cambridge Springs dinner theatre, restaurant, and hostelry is situated beautifully on the banks of French Creek and has been in continuous operation since 1885. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Cambridge Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.