We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, friends & family gathering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lourdas Greek Taverna

Lourdas Greek Taverna
50 N Bryn Mawr Ave, Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
+1 610-520-0288
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 64 Restaurants in Bryn Mawr
Price range: $31 - $40
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
ny
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great meal, friends & family gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

In town for college reunion, picked Lourdas for dinner and had a fab time! Service was welcoming and professional, food was yummy. Took some home for next night's dinner. Recommend for couples and large groups too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    6
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
538 reviews 538 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
“Thank Goodness for Second Chances”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Two years ago I wrote a review for Lourdas and gave them only two stars. I thought the service was bad and some of the dishes were greasy. But I believe when a restaurant corrects their mistakes I have the obligation to re review that restaurant and give them a thumbs up.
Maybe they paid attention to the complaints because the food has gotten a lot better and the service has improved.
I am in love with their Greek Salad and hummus and pop into this place a lot for lunch. I even sometimes even get this salad to go and have it for dinner. It's delicious as is their hummus!
They are now open for lunch. They are still a cash only place and a BYOB, but are very popular with the locals. It's often full at night so make a reservation!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have one request for restaurants when I travel up to PA to visit my parents, that we make a visit to Lourdas for dinner. I've never had a bad experience there. The tables are close so you'll get to know your neighbor but the food is delicious and the atmosphere is lovely. Can't wait for my next trip north to eat there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently good authentic Greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I can't remember how long we have been coming to Lourdas, but it has been a very long time (i.e. 10-15 years). We have NEVER had a bad meal here, and we have often had great meals. Lourdas is BYOB without a corkage fee, so it is wine friendly. You need to be prepared here--it is CASH ONLY, no credit cards. There are two banks nearby in case you forget your cash, but if you read this review, you won't forget, will you? It is usually a good idea to call ahead for reservations, especially on a weekend night. The restaurant is small (15-20 tables) and the tables are pretty close together. The tile floor and wall photos transport you to an outdoor cafe on the Mediterranean. If the restaurant is crowded, as it always seems to be on a weekend night, it will be noisy--there is no carpet on the floor or wall treatments to absorb sound. Apps average around $10; entrees around $20 with some higher. Lourdas serves a wonderful appetizer called Imam, warm baby eggplant with onions, roasted garlic and olive oil. I have never had anything like this anywhere, and it really is a signature dish. My dining partner loves the pikalia (a medley of cold Greek appetizers). She got the seafood stew; I got the lamb shank. These entrees have consistently been excellent over the years. We have had many of the other entrees and we can vouch that they are good, as well. We did not order dessert this time (no room for it), but the baklava is yummy and authentic. If you like Greek food, you will not be disappointed in this restaurant! My only hesitation in publishing this review is that I won't be able to get a reservation because you got there ahead of me.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, PA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great choice for a hot summer night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I ate at Lourdas this evening. We live nearby and have been meaning to try it. The food was fresh and delicious. We had an appetizer of different Greek dips with warm pita. I had a Greek salad and my husband had a roast chicken dish that he enjoyed. The service was professional and we felt as though we were on vacation in our own neighborhood. We'll return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lourdas Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Lourdas Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lourdas Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.