We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Italian Dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Taste of Italy

A Taste of Italy
6007 Columbia Blvd, Bloomsburg, PA 17815-8800
+1 570-784-8484
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 82 Restaurants in Bloomsburg
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
harrisburg pa
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fine Italian Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

When we first pulled up, it was oh no...the restaurant is in a small strip of shops and is not much to look at from the outside. However, we were glad we dined early at 5 because it was filled by the time we left. They do not yet have a liqour license, so that was a disappointment. Somehow I missed that on the other posts. It is pending so call ahead to find out. We had a very attentive waitress. There were the traditional meals--veal and eggplant but a few novel items too. Portions were huge, so unfortunately we did not have room for dessert. Nice warm fresh bread with a spicy tasty olive oil to dunk while we waited for our salads. You could come in jeans or dress up for a special romantic date.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“J & T”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is always a great place to dine! The wait staff is always friendly and helpful especially if you have questions about the specials.There is enough variety on the menu to choose from. The food always arrives at your table hot and delicious!!! The gelato(pistachio my favorite) is just like we ate in Italy GREAT! You would never go wrong recommending Taste of Italy to anyone. It could be a little noisey in the big dinning room but that just comes with the size. It is very friendly and not stuffy!!!! You could get dressed up or down and enjoy a wonderful food experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always A Good Choice!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I usually come here for special dinners... aka just the two of us. We decided to go here for our family New Year's dinner, us and three kids. As usual, the food was fantastic!!! The restaurant was very busy and we were allotted two hours for our table. Service was a little slower than normal but on New Year's Eve that was expected. Our server, however, was very,very nice and apologetic for her service.
Despite the business of the restaurant our food came out quickly and hot. The chicken scarpiello never disappoints!!!! My sixteen year old nephew said it was the best meal he's ever eaten! As always, the bread was warm and our water glasses were always full. Their tiramisu is fantastic, it's light and tastes amazing.
While they don't have a kid specific menu, they will make almost any meal half the size for kids....although to the dismay of my son, no half order on steak! But he loved his chicken parmesan...which he had never tried before!
There is no waiting area so on a busy night, the entrance dining area can get very crowded with people waiting for tables. On a normal night I have not found this to be a problem.
We have never had a bad meal here and definitely plan on going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere... Great service... Outstanding food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in off dinner to meet an old friend. Service was quick...but not rushed. Atmosphere is casual...but comfortable. Our waitress was very friendly...very efficient...and very informative about the specials...which for me would have been impossible to remember. Food came out quickly...bread was fantastic....and the food was delicious. A great time visiting...in a relaxed atmosphere....with an incredible meal. Would give a 6 if possible.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The food last night was great! We had the Cajun tuna app and clams casino to start and for our main course spaghetti with meat sauce and chicken Marsala. Everything was top notch! Tuna was perfect. The atmosphere is just ok the large dining room was extremely loud. We moved to the entrance dining room which was much quieter. Service was great, even though they were busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Italy also viewed

 

Been to A Taste of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Taste of Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.